We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden treasure”
Review of Waterhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waterhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

So, we emailed and researched some country B&Bs near Bath but some were run inefficiently, and some didn't even reply to our request for info. The staff at Waterhouse did. Incredible! How can such a place exist without a higher profile and without it being booked out months or years in advance? Expectations: old farmhouse B&B, with all the associated lack of mod cons. Reality: 4 star boutique renovated with a few rooms and a small dining room which seats about a dozen people, but which creates food equal to some of the best in the Bath area. The rooms are bright and airy, even when they had to add extra beds for us. We ended up with 2 bedrooms. The advice of the staff regarding local out-of-the-way old pubs, local walks and attractions and the view and 2 minute walk over to the village were very helpful and enhanced our enjoyment immensely. I don't expect Waterhouse to stay so quiet for long, because when word gets out, it's going to be more difficult to get a booking here.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank EJand3kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    127
    15
    10
    9
See reviews for
65
283
11
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The establishment was beautiful. The owners Amy and Simon are at the front desk bright and friendly to greet you. Amy was great when she helped check us in in the middle of the night, as was Steve, another staff member. The room was stunning and one of the most romantic rooms I've stayed out. It felt cozy and not a generic hotel room. Everything about this place was magical. We would defintely recommend this to anyone who comes to Bath!

Room Tip: The deluxe "Bridal Veil" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyMei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Went to the Waterhouse for a 2 night stay for the Christmas market in bath , we arrived late and was made very welcome supplied with fresh milk for our hot drinks ,the rooms are very nicely done breakfast was nice they had a choice of cereal and a full English . We will be visiting again as the surroundings where very tranquil away from it all and very relaxing

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shazzypay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night here while we attended a gig in Bath. The location is amazing, the room was wonderful and the staff were so friendly!
The grounds are lovely too, I could happily stare out of the window at the view for hours.
The breakfast in the morning was so good, set us up perfectly for the day.
Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Fantastic location with friendly staff. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this wonderful hotel. The rooms were beautifully decorated and the staff and owner were very caring and ensures our stay was brilliant. This was a surprise birthday treat and it was made special and rememorable with a stay at this fantastic hotel. Tom and Grace

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gracehicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Ridge, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Thanks to the e mail from the staff we were able to find this treasure of a place. When we arrived after a lengthy trip we were served with complimentary coffee and pastries. The accommodation and decor was in keeping with the whole atmosphere of quality and peace. Nice people and recommended. Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Albert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

The rooms were very basic with no cooling facility during hot weather.The basic things like glasses for drinking water and tissues were missing and had to be specially asked for.The decor was average and in my opinion hotel does not deserve its 4 star rating.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krishan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W, General Manager at Waterhouse, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for the review of Waterhouse.
Its a shame we didnt meet your expectations on this occasion.
We do however take all reviews very seriously, and if there is something we can do to prevent similar reviews we will act on it immediately. We would have been grateful if you could have taken time to speak to management at reception before you checked out to avoid such a review even making it to tripadvisor.
It may be useful to know that three weeks ago we were given our re-newed 4 star rating without any concerns from AA.
We meet all requirements and we have been given a list of things that will assist us in achieving 5 stars.

Thank you for choosing Waterhouse

regards

Stephen Woods
General Manager
Waterhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monkton Combe
2.6 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
3.3 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
2.6 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
3.8 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Combe Grove Hotel
Combe Grove Hotel
#27 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhouse

Property: Waterhouse
Address: Water House Waterhouse Lane, Monkton Combe, Bath BA2 7JB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Monkton Combe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Monkton Combe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Waterhouse 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterhouse is a beautiful Georgian Country house, set in 3 acres of park land with lawns sloping down to its own stretch of river for which we have fishing rights, nestling in stunning countryside with panoramic views. The house has been restored to retain many of its original features and we offer 9 contemporary bedrooms and 4 deluxe rooms to our guests. We are proud to announce that Waterhouse has been awarded an AA 4 Star Rating for its facilities. We now offer room service/light evening meals from 6pm to 9pm. Breakfast is served weekdays from 7:30am to 10am and weekends from 8am to 10am. Come and enjoy our peaceful beautiful valley with bicycle hire on site or a quick 10 min car ride into the bustling city of Bath..we offer you the best of both worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waterhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterhouse Monkton Combe, Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing