We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family with young children”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Manor House Monkton Combe Bath
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family with young children”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We are really happy that we have choosen to stay at Manor House. It is very stylish ancient B/B with very friendly hosts - Norman and Beth, who shared with us their sincere love towards their home and Monkton Combe community. Strongly recommended for foreign people interested in English history and traditions. We have spent delicious moments while enjoying chimneys of the house. Sergey

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sergeysiberia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    14
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
41
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
95 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I stayed here as part of my working in Bath and this place was a special option through work. The place is fantastic, set in the most beautiful of villages and in summer would i imagine be just about perfect. If driving though do check you don't miss the entrance and i did and ended up trying to go up a dead end !

The hotel is lovely, really old word England, with plenty of nooks and crannies and rooms set back in adjoining houses all along a small road ... really lovely. The staff were all very friendly, the room great and the food as well, both evening meal and breakfast.

Really no complaints at all on this one and would recommend to anyone to take in a stay in here if you can. Only 30 min from Bath it would be an ideal place to stop out of the hustle and bustle that Bath can be in summer.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zenman1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

What a beautiful location... We booked very last minute and Beth & Norman were truly magnificent from the moment we made an enquiry. The dogs were made very welcome the room was excellent. Coffee on arrival, open fire the works! We ate at the Wheelwright Arms, we recommend you visit too. Beth offered our dog Ice Reiki as he's had some problems and he seems very chilled out this evening. We loved our very brief stay and we will certainly be back. Wonderful location/ breakfast etc... Thank you x

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruthieg20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a two night stay at this wonderful Manor House and just had to share this experience. The owners Beth and Norman were so welcoming, the food was excellent and our room was exactly what we expected for a Manor House. We visited the festive sites of Bath Christmas Market as well as the Splendor of Christmas Carols at Bath Abbey (even sneaked in a tour round the historic Roman Baths!). Worn out by the hussle and bussle by the end of the day, we were so glad to return (10min drive) to the retreat of this beautiful, tasteful Manor House. All in all a perfect blend of culture and retreat and I for one will most definately be back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

My husband & I spent the weekend at this beautiful Manor House just outside of Bath. The owners Beth & Norman couldn't have been nicer. They welcomed us with a lovely pot of tea & mince pies, yum. Breakfast was superb, our room was lovely & hospitality fantastic. Will definately be returning. Oh, and as a bonus, there is a lovely pub just a few minutes walk away where you can have a lovely evening meal. All in all, highly recommend this lovely place.
MERRY CHRISTMAS

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris226London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We've just stayed for 3 nights at the Manor House to celebrate my 50th birthday and we can't praise it enough. The house itself was steeped in history and has been maintained to keep it's character giving it a uniqueness that may not be appreciated by everyone, but we loved it.

Norman and Beth were pefect hosts, welcoming us into their home and advising us on how to get around, recommending places to eat and visit bearing in mind the Xmas market was on, as well as the rugby so Bath itself was extremely busy. They also helped my partner's daughter, who lives in New Jersey USA, to arrange a surprise meal for us at a nearby reastaurant.

Every day we were greeted with a log fire, freshly made bread and a wonderful cooked breakfast....the poached eggs were perfect everytime.

We will most definitely be visiting again, it was a perfect choice which we intend to explore some more

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

What a shame to read bad reviews. Have just returned from a weekend with girlfriends at the Manor House. OK, it's not a 'posh hotel', but it doesn't purport to be that. It is a lovely quirky guesthouse, with character and great hosts. Have to say they may need to buy a woodburner, as the chiminea in the tudor fireplace smoked us out every night (!), but you couldn't hope for friendlier owners, offering tea and a mince pie on arrival and bringing wine glasses and bottle opener for us to enjoy our own wine in the sitting room. I wouldn't expect the use of a sitting room at a B&B, so the fact that there wasn't much seating wasn't an issue. Breakfast was lovely - slice your own organic bread, and nice choice of cooked breakfast. I don't think you need a menu - I prefer the personal touch of someone asking what I would like thank you. I think it is a state of mind - go prepared to have fun and you will find Beth and Norman are good for a laugh. Go for a corporate style hotel and you might be disappointed.

Room Tip: Tudor wing very good value for group of friends - £190 per night for five people was very reasonable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monkton Combe
0.0 mi away
Combe Grove Hotel
Combe Grove Hotel
#26 of 34 in Bath
112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wheelwrights Arms
Wheelwrights Arms
#1 of 1 in Monkton Combe
301 reviews
0.0 mi away
The House near Bath
The House near Bath
#1 of 1 in Woolverton
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
0.0 mi away
Waterhouse
Waterhouse
#1 of 2 in Monkton Combe
557 reviews
0.0 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#1 of 5 in Norton St Philip
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House Monkton Combe Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Monkton Combe Bath

Property: The Manor House Monkton Combe Bath
Address: Monkton Combe, Bath BA2 7HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Monkton Combe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Monkton Combe
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restful, rambling Medieval Manor in country village 2.25miles/ 8 minutes drive from centre of Bath. Dating from 1262 with Tudor inglenook fire spacious ensuite bedrooms with TV, video, DVD, WIFI. Fantastic candlelit restaurant with excellent local reputation for fine food in 16th and 19th century dining rooms on Fridays, Saturdays. Bring Your Own Wine - No Corkage Charge! Rural walks along brook to local pubs, canal boat/bike hire 5 minutes wander. Parking, gardens. Heaven! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Manor House Monkton Combe Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor House Monkton Combe Bath Hotel Monkton Combe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing