We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Manor House Monkton Combe Bath
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We were welcomed with tea and crumpets after being shown to our room. The location is very peacful but within easy reach of Bath town. Our hosts Beth and norman made us feel so at home and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast which was cooked to order was fantastic and we didn't want for anything. They were extremely helpful with places to visit, walks and places to eat.
We were sad to leave after our 4 days with them.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2012

A wonderful short-break in probably one of the oldest and most characterful properties near Bath. Our hosts, Beth and Norman, made us both feel very welcome - nothing was too much trouble and breakfast which was cooked to order was wonderful. Very pleasant canal walk into Bath, for which Beth provided us with a map, directions and bottles of water, although you can also hire bicycles from near by if you'd prefer. I have to say if you're looking for a five star hotel experience you're probably wasting your time but if you looking for somewhere cosy and full of character with charming hosts I don't think you could chose a better place to stay. Truly felt like a home from home, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We are really happy that we have choosen to stay at Manor House. It is very stylish ancient B/B with very friendly hosts - Norman and Beth, who shared with us their sincere love towards their home and Monkton Combe community. Strongly recommended for foreign people interested in English history and traditions. We have spent delicious moments while enjoying chimneys of the house. Sergey

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sergeysiberia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I stayed here as part of my working in Bath and this place was a special option through work. The place is fantastic, set in the most beautiful of villages and in summer would i imagine be just about perfect. If driving though do check you don't miss the entrance and i did and ended up trying to go up a dead end !

The hotel is lovely, really old word England, with plenty of nooks and crannies and rooms set back in adjoining houses all along a small road ... really lovely. The staff were all very friendly, the room great and the food as well, both evening meal and breakfast.

Really no complaints at all on this one and would recommend to anyone to take in a stay in here if you can. Only 30 min from Bath it would be an ideal place to stop out of the hustle and bustle that Bath can be in summer.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zenman1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

What a beautiful location... We booked very last minute and Beth & Norman were truly magnificent from the moment we made an enquiry. The dogs were made very welcome the room was excellent. Coffee on arrival, open fire the works! We ate at the Wheelwright Arms, we recommend you visit too. Beth offered our dog Ice Reiki as he's had some problems and he seems very chilled out this evening. We loved our very brief stay and we will certainly be back. Wonderful location/ breakfast etc... Thank you x

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ruthieg20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a two night stay at this wonderful Manor House and just had to share this experience. The owners Beth and Norman were so welcoming, the food was excellent and our room was exactly what we expected for a Manor House. We visited the festive sites of Bath Christmas Market as well as the Splendor of Christmas Carols at Bath Abbey (even sneaked in a tour round the historic Roman Baths!). Worn out by the hussle and bussle by the end of the day, we were so glad to return (10min drive) to the retreat of this beautiful, tasteful Manor House. All in all a perfect blend of culture and retreat and I for one will most definately be back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

My husband & I spent the weekend at this beautiful Manor House just outside of Bath. The owners Beth & Norman couldn't have been nicer. They welcomed us with a lovely pot of tea & mince pies, yum. Breakfast was superb, our room was lovely & hospitality fantastic. Will definately be returning. Oh, and as a bonus, there is a lovely pub just a few minutes walk away where you can have a lovely evening meal. All in all, highly recommend this lovely place.
MERRY CHRISTMAS

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris226London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monkton Combe
0 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
0 mi away
Waterhouse
Waterhouse
#1 of 3 in Monkton Combe
584 reviews
0 mi away
Wheelwrights Arms
Wheelwrights Arms
#2 of 3 in Monkton Combe
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House Monkton Combe Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Monkton Combe Bath

Address: Monkton Combe, Bath BA2 7HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Monkton Combe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Monkton Combe
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restful, rambling Medieval Manor in country village 2.25miles/ 8 minutes drive from centre of Bath. Dating from 1262 with Tudor inglenook fire spacious ensuite bedrooms with TV, video, DVD, WIFI. Fantastic candlelit restaurant with excellent local reputation for fine food in 16th and 19th century dining rooms on Fridays, Saturdays. Bring Your Own Wine - No Corkage Charge! Rural walks along brook to local pubs, canal boat/bike hire 5 minutes wander. Parking, gardens. Heaven! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Manor House Monkton Combe Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor House Monkton Combe Bath Hotel Monkton Combe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing