We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
“Our second visit”
4.5 of 5 bubbles

Review of Galahill

Galahill House Location
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Galahill House Location
Lounge View from the patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
15 reviews
Galahill House Location
Lounge
View from the patio
Lounge / Diner
Garden Furniture
Sun Deck
Leisure Centre
Master Bedroom
Kingsize Bedroom
Bunk Bedroom
Fireplace
Kitchen
Twin Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Trellis with Bench
Bench View
Hogmanay Fireworks from the garden
View of the beach from the balcony
Rainbow
Pettycur Bay at low tide
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Burntisland, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kirstyste
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our second visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

This is our second visit to galahill. What an amazing place to stay. The views are just as breathtaking as I remember. Be advised....you will either lose the kids to the beach, the leisure centre or just generally around the house. Took our wee dog with us this time and he loved it. Great for walks out and about or just sit with a glass of wine with the spectacular view

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 4 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interested in this property?
Make Enquiry
KGand
Red Lodge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Little slice of heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 for a stay in August 2013

This house was absolutely perfect for us. We had 5 adults and 4 children under 7. I could have stayed in the house without seeing anything in the area and would have been happy. The views are spectacular and the house is amazingly spacious. It's amazing for families. There were toys for my kids to play with and enough dishes for all of us. The area around is beautiful and the kids had a great time playing on the beach below. It's also close enough to easily drive to local attractions. I truly hope we can go back again another time. I can't say enough good about the house. We were so sad to leave.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The views!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interested in this property?
Make Enquiry
kirstyste
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow what a view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a fantastic weekend at galahill for my mums 60th birthday. The cottage is brilliant, but the view! The view is breathtaking! Watching the sun come up over edinburgh was amazing. The quality of the furniture and beds is great. Very comfortable and homely. Only a short walk to the town and the beach. For visiters from further away, the train station is in town and goes straight to edinburgh, over the forth bridge. Would love to go back in the summer.

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 4 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interested in this property?
Make Enquiry
Sara S
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not very disabled friendly or clean!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013 for a stay in December 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We rented this property to spend time with family, one of our party has mobility difficulties and this bungalow seemed perfect from the description. On arrival at the property we found that our family member with mobility problems found accessing the bungalow very difficult due to the steps from the parking area, The bathroom also was not suitable for a person with mobility problems. We also had to give the kitchen a thorough clean before we even unpacked any of our food due to the unclean state it was in, greasy cooker hood filter food debris and mouse droppings on the work surfaces.
All in all very very disappointing.

3 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
3 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 1 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
2 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The views are spectacular
Liked least: This property was both dirty with mouse droppings in the kitchen on the work surfaces , neither was it disabled friendly as there are several steps to enter the property with no hand rail
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interested in this property?
Make Enquiry
SueB2695
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“ideally located, fantastic views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

House spacious enough for the seven of us - teens had own lounge for Xbox. Brilliant location, could walk to swimming pool, beach, local shops, cafes and takeaways, which gave our teens some freedom. Mum and I loved to sit on the balcony with morning coffee/evening wine as the views were amazing. Took two dogs and plenty of local walks from the doorstep. House well equipped, even binoculars provided. Lots of different places to sit outside on different levels so probably not great for toddlers, but if you love the sea, birdwatching, fantastic views then go to Galahill and enjoy as much as we did.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: the views from huge picture windows
Liked least: needed another key to be made available
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interested in this property?
Make Enquiry
Geegee H
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Didn't want to go home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

we booked a 4 day break fairly short notice, and when we arrived couldn't quite believe what we had..It is a beautiful house in a stunning location overlooking ( through massive picture windows) the beach and headland at Burntisland. The house is very well equipped, and is 'dog friendly' which is a must as we will not holiday without our 2 four legged friends!
It was a relaxing stay, the weather went from lovely..breakfast on the terrace.. to windy and rain..but the views were enough to keep us amused regardless!
Would we return...in a flash...
Only one small point it would have been nice to have a reduced price for under occupancy, as this lovely place actually sleeps 10!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The house and view
Liked least: no under occupancy reduction
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interested in this property?
Make Enquiry
Kathleen...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ideal Holiday Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012
2
people found this review helpful

The house is very special; the views from the picture windows are just spectacular. Its proximity to the beach, leisure centre and town amenities make for an ideal holiday home. Thank you for a lovely relaxing break.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location: the views from the windows are spectacular.The gardens are lovely. Having two sitting rooms is really ideal for a larger group which includes children.
Liked least: The kitchen is relatively small, but the rest of the rooms in the house large, so a minor point
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interested in this property?
Make Enquiry
Enter dates for more accurate prices
Any
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing