We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Tea at the Kingswood”
Review of Kingswood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kingswood Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burntisland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2012

If you go to the Kingswood Hotel before 5.45 you can have High Tea. The food is always very good, nothing fancy, but very enjoyable. Dinner is served later, from around 6.00, the tables are nicely set with cloths and flowers. Good for an inexpensive meal out, it is one of our favourite local eating places. Good Food, Good Service. We have also been there for two of our neices weddings, and the meal was fabulous.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scotland2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2012

We spent the weekend at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We arrived on a bitterly cold evening and the first thing we encountered as we entered the hotel was a roaring log fire which immediately lifted the spirits. The hotel was warm, comfortable, and clean, the breakfast was hearty, and the staff were helpful, attentive, and friendly. I'd recommend the Kingswood Hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skylon51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

stayed here as we held our wedding reception there in the evening could not fault the staff very helpfull. The room was a bit on the small side but it was clean and the four post bed was extremely comfy. Breakfast was good as was the high tea we had all in all good value.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carol s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We took 2 old aunts for a three day break in Fife. The Kingswood staff especially the proprieters could not have been more welcoming and obliging. The rooms were exceptionally clean and comfortable. The evening dinner menu was varied and superbly cooked. The views across the Forth from the balcony changed with the tides and the weather giving different aspects from hour to hour.The Kingswood is ideally situated as a base to explore the Fife area. A thoroughly enjoyable 3 days enhanced by our stay at the Kingswood
The Wagstaffs

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martin154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

I stayed here for two nights in August whilst on business in the area. The hotel had been found by my corporate travel agent as or usual hotel was fully booked with the Edinburgh festival being on. I had a double room for single occupancy at £75 per night B&B which was reasonable comparable with other hotels in the area were charging as festival rates.

The double room was large and clean with nice views across the Firth of Forth, There is a railway line between the hotel and the river and even though the trains seem to run quite frequently they don’t disturb your sleep. The bath room was OK and water was hot and plentiful.

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. We arrived at nearly 9 o’clock at night and even though the restaurant was supposed to shut at 8:45pm the manager arranged for the Chef to stay on late to provide dinner. The food in the restaurant was good at both breakfast and dinner, well cooked and decent size portions.

As this is an older property you have to accept that there are a few minor niggles compared with new build corporate hotel such as squeaky floor boards and no wi-fi but this is compensated for by the individuality of the hotel and I would happily stay here again the next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Western_Miller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

The decor in the bedroom was dated with dark peachy walls and faded silk roses in a jardinere and bowl.I had to sleep on top of the duvet because I could feel the springs through the mattress. The bedding was old green sheets and pillow cases that were faded.Definitely would not sleep there again.Could do with the Hotel Inspector paying a visit! Really needs fresh clean white sheets for a starter.

Room Tip: Check the bed springs and sheets first
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annemrigby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

A very pleasant hotel the restaurant was excellant and the staff very friendly well situated to explore Fife even better we got a free upgrade on our room and had a lovely sea view
with balcony

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kelburne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burntisland
0.4 mi away
Bay Hotel
Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinghorn
201 reviews
3.9 mi away
Aberdour Hotel & Restaurant
11.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
12.8 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
583 reviews
23.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St Andrews
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingswood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingswood Hotel

Address: Kinghorn Road, Burntisland KY3 9LL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Burntisland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burntisland
Price Range: £79 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingswood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Kingswood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingswood Hotel Burntisland, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing