We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kingswood Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Bay Hotel(Kinghorn)
US$134
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Hotel(Kirkcaldy)
US$130
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
US$133
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (309)
Filter reviews
310 results
Traveller rating
178
96
25
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
96
25
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh teasteak pielovely tableyorkshire puddingfriendly family run hotellast sundaytall treessunday lunchfour poster bedstaff were all very helpfulexcellent mealmother's dayhoneymoon suiteperfect hotelfunction roombirthday mealwedding venue
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
264 - 269 of 310 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We were introduced to this Hotel some time back and it is definitely worth a visit.

The menu is excellent with super choices provided by an excellent chef/(s). Whilst you can have old favourites such as Haddock and Steak Pie there is also a range of other dishes which change on a regular basis. The fish dishes provided are well worth trying and I have had several fish which I would not normally try and not been disappointed i.e. Nile Perch. I also had a bad experience with cous cous but I bravely ordered it with Moroccan Chicken and I must admit the Kingswood gave me a whole new perspective on how delicious cous cous could be if prepared correctly and with so much flavour.

I have been at the Kingswood for both lunch and dinner and would thoroughly recommend this hotel. The staff are so welcoming and present the food well.

I would recommend this hotel and entreat people to make the effort to go to this hotel

Room Tip: Did not stay at the hotel as only went for a meal. But would have no hesitation in staying over should the occasion arise.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jintyfraefife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingswoodBurntisland, Manager at Kingswood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Thank you for your review, we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed dining with us and your kind comments are much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

A lovely hotel facing the sea, very friendly staff, excellent food at reasonable prices with superb service in the dining room. Very comfortable room, ours had a sea view with balcony. Only half hour to Edinburgh by train which runs frequently.
We will certainly stay here again when visiting Edinburgh.

Room Tip: A balcony room overlooking the sea recommended
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ollie134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Traditional small hotel.
Stayed in a seaview room with a balcony.good sized comfortable room wallmounted tv a good size also. Bathroom with bath and overbath electric shower which was somewhat underpowered.
Decor tasteful-looks like some refurbishment done with some pre existing older furnishings eg curtains,wallpaper appeared more worn but lamps,padded headboard and curtain valances appeared newer.
Some road noise heard,train line also opposite but train noise did not disturb at all.
There are rooms overlooking rear of hotel garden which i assume would be quieter if road noise an irritant.
Decent cooked breakfast served by friendly owner and staff.
Gift shop just off the reception area was very good with a lovely selection of gifts and toys.
Small sitting area with log fire appeared very welcoming- was disappointed that the bar and this room in darkness on return from trip out at just after 10pm on the night of our stay.it was midweek and there were just a few guests staying that night so understand not economical to keep open for just 1 couple.
Overall a welcoming small hotel - good value for money.would use again if in the area .

Room Tip: If wishing quiet room request rear facing garden room. Seaview room with balcony good value for little extra paid.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EastYorkshireCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Managed to get the last ensuite room on the Saturday night for a two night stay.We did not take the evening meal option on Saturday but did on Sunday.As it was Mothering Sunday the Hotel was very busy and had served over 300 lunches and high teas by the time we went in for our evening meal.Even although the staff had a very busy day the service was friendly and very good as was the food,an excellent carvery with the roast beef just perfect as was all aspects of the meal for the price paid.Breakfast was also good with fast service.Hope to return this year and hopefully get a room with the superb views across the Forth.

Room Tip: One on first floor with views across to Edinburgh.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Arrived for first visit for quick Sunday lunch and thought it was a bit strange as there was no-one in reception to help but once in the bar/restaurant area met by very friendly staff and seated immediately. Hotel areas we saw were clean and appropriate to the type of old hotel that it is.

Both of us had three course lunch and coffee and found service fast and efficient. My prawn starter was a tad dated by standards elsewhere but nice and both mains were delicious and portions not too large which is just as well. Slightly let down by not having espresso coffee. Very reasonable price and would go again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KirkRothes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews