We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Curry night for a party of 10...”
Review of Kingswood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kingswood Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burntisland
Certificate of Excellence
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Curry night for a party of 10...”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

was pretty good, and certainly the value for money was spot on. Friday night is curry night at the Kingswood. The curry itself was OK - perhaps if we'd been earlier in the evening, the food might have been more appealing. The beef curry showed signs of having been around for a while and was stringy, and not very spicy for a madras. The chicken curry was better. The Bombay Aloo was stodgy. Small naan breads and poppadoms were good. £9-13 depending on whether you have one, two, or three courses.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    89
    25
    4
    3
See reviews for
89
100
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

We came here for an evening meal. Didn't know what to expect... The guy serving was very good, well presented & doing proper waitering (had training I presume).. However, a few comments we had was when asked if starters were ok (I had the blue cheese with grapes & walnut salad), it was very good but it did not have any walnuts in it. This annoyed me as it is a key ingredient. The waiter asked if everything ok, I said it was good however lacked the walnuts. I got the impression with him walking away that it was a rhetorical question after he asked the same about the main & didn't wait around to hear my answer.
My husband said he would have preferred a larger portion. He enjoyed the salmon & said it was delicious. I had the chicken supreme it was very bland no flavour at all, the only flavour was the mash with the cheese & ham in it. - again I said it was bland when asked & no further questions were asked. I also felt that we should have had a small bowl of vegetables each. My son had the children's butchers sausages with Chips & veg. He thoroughly enjoyed this. I do think that the kids menu should maybe come with a squash (diluting juice) and maybe a small dessert as it was another £1.50 for a drink.
The waiter was friendly and efficient, also polite. But like I say he must have been on auto pilot & asking questions not expecting an answer.
The meals were well presented. The hotel was clean & welcoming. There is a nice wee gift shop. I'm not sure I would rush back, however 2 out of 3 of us enjoyed our dinner. I feel there are similar quality better value places to try.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kosconli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingswoodBurntisland, Manager at Kingswood Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for you comments however I do think you may have misread the menu.'Grape and Blue Cheese Salad with a Walnut & Mint Pesto' as you mentioned that you enjoyed the dish, your server did not appreciate your comment was a complaint as the dish served was indeed as described on the menu. Seasoning is a matter if taste, I'm sorry there was less than you would have like, it can always be added but there is little that can be done if a dish is overseasoned. We are aware that value for money is as important as quality, our childrens menu includes Butchers Sausages, we make our own chicken strips with fresh chicken etc and we feel that £3.50 offers both excellent quality and value as does our 2 course @£9.95 Menu
Your feedback is appreciated and we do hope that we may welcome you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xxxxxxxx
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We had high tea at the Kingswood on the 28th of September. I realise the hotel was busy with a wedding but I don't think that is an excuse for the poor quality of the food we were served. Mixed veg and roast potatoes (from a packet). Tartar sauce spooned onto the plate from a dish which had dried sauce caked on the sides. Cake and scone selection was very poor and served together on a dinner plate. Tea/Coffee pots water/tea marked. Very poor show for the price.

The one saving grace was the staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ms W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingswoodBurntisland, Manager at Kingswood Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
I am so sorry to hear that you were disappointed during your recent visit and take on board your comments. If you had raised your concerns at the time we would certainly have done our best to rectify things particularly with regard to our cakes as these are all home made and usualy our customers rave about them, I can only imagine you were very unlucky with the selection on that occasion. We do hope that you will visit us again,on a Sunday we offer a 'cake buffet' where guests can make their own selection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Having just returned from a lovely weekend at the hotel we just had to share what a fantastic experience it was. Rankin & Kathryn can't do enough to help and the food is amazing. Very well looked after spacious rooms. Gorgeous beach just across the road, lovely walks and very reasonable prices. well worth a visit :-)

Room Tip: It is worth paying a little more for the rooms with the balconies, great to open the curtains in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMack2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingswoodBurntisland, Manager at Kingswood Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Your comments were very kind and we were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.We are indeed fortunate in having such a beautiful location and with last weekend being so mild, the rooms with balconies would certainly benefit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The hotel was everything it claimed to be. The room(s) were excellent with a lovely view across the Forth estuary. We had dinner with friends and it was excellent both for food quality and service. While we were only there for one night. we would certainly stay there again when anywhere near.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaanSuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingswoodBurntisland, Manager at Kingswood Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for your review, delighted to hear that you enjoyed you stay and that you all enjoyed dinner. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This family owned hotel offers value for money but with excellent service,good quality food and great staff,The hotel is spotlessly clean,dinner should probably be a lot more expensive for what you get!.The staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable.Comfy beds,plenty of hot water and a delicious breakfast in the morning,what more could you want.Have stayed here before and thought it was a great Hotel,this time it may just have been even better!,I look forward to staying here again soon.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies,We chose a double adjoining family room which has great space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maddison90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingswoodBurntisland, Owner at Kingswood Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to review our hotel and for all of your kind comments.We look forward to welcoming you all on your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My apologies for the delay in providing a review. Wow do you deserve one. I think this is far and away the best place we have stayed throughout our travels both in Australia and overseas. We had been looking to stay in places with good old fashioned service etc whilst in the UK and the Kingswood was perfect. Our two bedroom room was spacious and beautifully furnished. The bathroom was spotless, well sized and well fitted out. The hotel was positioned beautifully, the gardens were lovely and our room had a view right across the Firth of Forth. Even with our room at the front near the road and our window open at night we didn't even notice traffic noise. We ate in the dining room each morning and evening and after weeks of eating out we felt like we were eating good home cooked meals each time. I love my food and these meals were up there with the best we ate. The staff were the friendliest we met in our three weeks and went out of their way to help us - particularly with having our clothes laundered over the weekend when the laundry is usually shut. We would stay at the Kingswood again in a heartbeat. Thanks for a perfect stay in Scotland. My husband and two boys all wished we had stayed for the week in Scotland and only a couple of days in London instead of the other way around!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingswoodBurntisland, Owner at Kingswood Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
We were all absolutely delighted to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your review.Perhaps we will be able to welcome you again on your next trip to Scotland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burntisland
0.4 mi away
Bay Hotel
Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinghorn
192 reviews
3.9 mi away
Aberdour Hotel
Aberdour Hotel
#1 of 3 in Aberdour
400 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Woodside Hotel
The Woodside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Aberdour
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
4.8 mi away
The Dean Park Hotel
The Dean Park Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
358 reviews
12.8 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingswood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingswood Hotel

Property: Kingswood Hotel
Address: Kinghorn Road, Burntisland KY3 9LL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Burntisland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burntisland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingswood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kingswood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingswood Hotel Burntisland, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing