We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced b&b and rude male guest owner”

Gruinard Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burntisland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gruinard Guest House
Ranked #3 of 5 Burntisland B&B and Inns
1 review
“Overpriced b&b and rude male guest owner”
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We were placed in a lovely bedroom,then moved to a cramp box upstairs and were still charged the same price:((were told to keep the noise down when we merely chatting in our bedroom at night!we are smokers and were enjoying a romantic night away ,so we went out for a cigarette at 0.10am and were told we the doors to the back garden were getting shut and we would not be able to get back out very disappointed:(especially since other guests did not arrive back from a wedding until 2am:( Breakfast was nice!The local hotel did not provide a satisfactory dinner ,the fish was dry,the chips had a terrible after taste!And this was the only place we could find to sit down to eat in the whole of Burntisland !we will not be back,we will not recommend ,and just to point out we are not an old couple being picky,we are a young couple in our 20's!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMolly, Owner at Gruinard Guest House, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your night in Burntisland and that you were unhappy with the room you booked.
I do apologise again for you being shown into someone else"s room on your arrival. A simple mistake with both guests having the same name.
We like to try and give our guests as peaceful and relaxing a stay as possible and the guests next door to your room had been travelling since early in the day from London. They had been in bed for a few hours which was why you were asked to be a little quieter.
If would like to contact us we would be happy to discuss some recompense for your disappointing stay including the large tip left?
I hope sometime in the future you will visit Burntisland again as we have found the people and community to be friendly and accommodating in the last 23 yrs we have lived here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    1
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
29
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Gruinard is the Best B&B I've stayed in. The room was large, fully furnished and very well organised. The backyard has a great shoreline view of the firth. The best part of it were the hosts Jean and Angus. They really made me feel at home and the breakfast was brilliant, didn't even need lunch after it.. Definately worth staying here a couple of nights and relax in Burntisland which is one of the better town to stay in Fife...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pushan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMolly, Owner at Gruinard Guest House, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
What a lovely surprise thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and hope to see you again next time you visit Burntisland. Take care.
Jean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulm, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2011

My wife and I stayed here for two nights while hiking the Fife Coastal Path. The owners were very kind, and went out of their way to make us feel at home. The room was perfect, the breakfast was delicious, and the house was charming. There is a train that occasionally runs behind the property, but we hardly noticed it and it did not affect the quality of our stay. We would come back in a heartbeat and strongly recommend this guest house to anyone traveling through the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hsc3008e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lanarkshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2011

we are just back after spending two days at the Gruinard guest house for the burntisland games, and i can honestly say this was the best bed and breakfst i have stayed at, jean and gus were so very nice and welcoming, the room which we had on the ground floor was amazing and so handy for people with mobility issues, every attention to detail was covered, the breakfasts were lovely, and the bed was very comfortable, the weather could have been better for the games, but that's my only wee moan lol and quite sure if they could have managed it jean and gus would put that right as well, we will definitely be back

Room Tip: ground floor room very handy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merin05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west lothian
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

The owners Jean & Gus were fantastic hosts. We all felt right at home the minute we stepped through the door.
The room was large & had a modern en - suite. We had twin beds in our room but they were incredibliy comfortable. I loved all the little knick knacks in the corners & on the dressers. Jean had thought of evertyhing you may need she had even provided eye make up remover pads.
Loved the bottle of sherry provided as well.
The location was about 10 minutes walk from the town centre
Loved the guest house, the only thing I probably could moan about was the trains went by at 5am, but you got used to it pretty quickly

Room Tip: The upstairs bedroom has amazing views over the Firth Of Forth
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolet61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Gruinard Guest House is very clean and tidy. Only a 5 minute walk into the town centre. We would recommend this accomodation to any couple looking for a night or more away.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank briancreechan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Very warm welcome from lovely people. Beautiful, comfortable rooms, with every personal touch that you could want! Excellent breakfast with home made jams and bread.This is a wonderful place to stay, it felt as though we were staying with family! We would definately recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burntisland
0.5 mi away
Kingswood Hotel
Kingswood Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burntisland
272 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bay Hotel
Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinghorn
192 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Woodside Hotel
The Woodside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Aberdour
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Aberdour Hotel
Aberdour Hotel
#1 of 3 in Aberdour
400 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Beveridge Park Hotel
The Beveridge Park Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
259 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Dean Park Hotel
The Dean Park Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gruinard Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gruinard Guest House

Property: Gruinard Guest House
Address: 148 Kinghorn Road, Burntisland KY3 9JU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Burntisland
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Burntisland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gruinard Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Gruinard. A traditional stone built cottage which has been refurbished and modernised without losing any of its charm.Situated only 35 minutes from Edinburgh city centre and an hour from Glasgow it is an ideal base to explore central Scotland. Or alternatively you can walk and explore the beach only half a kilometre from the house.Hospitality and breakfast is our speciality. Food is sourced locally and in most cases homemade on the premises. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gruinard Guest House Burntisland, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing