We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning view with good food”
Review of Old Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lundin Links
Certificate of Excellence
doncaster
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Stunning view with good food”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We called for an evening meal on passing with friends whilst staying in the area, we sat in the conservatory overlooking the Firth of Forth, so stunning views. The staff we were served by were a real credit to the hotel, very friendly and polite. I asked for a starter of scallops to be made for my main course, no problem at all, and they were very tasty, served with a purée, crispy pancetta and black pudding mmmm lovely. Hubby had fish and chips, he struggled to finish his food...a real whale on his plate, our friends had duck which he enjoyed and fish pie. The setting is beautiful, food lovely and we would not hesitate to recommend having food here.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank wilma t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProprietorOldManor, Owner at Old Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Hello Wilma, thank you for popping in! Likewise I'm delighted you enjoyed your meal here, and I hope you will consider returning again when in the area. Kind regards, Alistair Saddler.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    145
    50
    23
    9
See reviews for
111
266
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I held my wedding here at the Old Manor Hotel on 14th June 2014.
The service here was first class. The staff were excellent at all times.
The whole team went to extremes to give us the best wedding ever and it really was top notch.
Thank you to the Old Manor for there service, support and hospitality.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room, but all rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProprietorOldManor, Owner at Old Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Hello Maggie, thank you so much for your lovely comments. I am delighted everyone had a great time, and on behalf of all the team here, I'd like to wish you both all the best for the future. Kind regards, Alistair Saddler.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levenmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2014

From the moment we visited the hotel to enquire about having our small, family wedding there Morag made us feel relaxed and confident that they could meet our needs. Every effort was made prior to our big day to make sure everything was as we wanted.

We could not fault the service from the whole team on the day. Morag and Del had everything running like clockwork and the staff that served the food and drinks throughout the day were attentive and very professional. All our guests have commented on what a personal and relaxed day it was and most of that is down to the atmosphere created by the staff (and the beautiful decor and views).

We were able to have a lot of choices within our menu and everyone commented on how excellent the food and wine was. So much so, we bought vouchers for the restaurant as thank you gifts.

Our room had a beautiful four-poster bed, en suite and balcony area where we ate our delicious breakfast in the sun, overlooking the golf course next morning.

Overall a great experience and something we would highly recommend for a wedding, short break, relaxing drink or bite to eat.

Room Tip: Room 4 has a four-poster bed and has a large balcony which overlooks the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProprietorOldManor, Owner at Old Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Lindsey, thank you so much for your comments. It was a great pleasure to host your special day, and to know that you and your guests had such an enjoyable time. All the best to you both, and Morag and I hope you will visit again soon. Kind regards, Alistair Saddler.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Our second stay here in two years. It was only a couple of nights to allow us to wander nostalgically around St Andrews.

A very positive alteration in our absence; a new reception desk nearer the main entrance, which is a great improvement.

Nothing else seems to have changed, so it’s still got that nice calming atmosphere without the hustle and bustle generally associated with larger hotels.

Most will already know the catalogue of great food, view over the golf course to the sea from the conservatory dining room, how well appointed the room was and how pristine the white towels and bedding were.

I haven’t given my 'excellent' rating to all categories this time as we felt there were several issues of a house-keeping nature that I will put in writing to the hotel as they are not really serious enough for writing about here, and would stress that these minor things did not spoil our stay in any way, shape or form.

Anyway the owners must have got it right in the main as we noticed the other large hotel in the town has closed. Suffice it to say we will be back again.

Room Tip: I always request a room away from function rooms, kitchens, dining rooms and main roads.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbob194822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProprietorOldManor, Owner at Old Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Jim, thank you for your kind, constructive comments following your stay - you'll have already received my response to your letter, and I hope that at the time of your next stay, the wee niggles will have been smoothly ironed out. Thank you again, such feedback is much appreiated by me, as you know. Regards, Alistair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed in The Old Manor for a night. We had a spacious room with sitting area and balcony overlooking the golf course and Firth of Forth. We had glorious weather and made good use of the balcony and thoroughly enjoyed the fabulous views. The food was terrific and good value. Staff were very welcoming. Liz was also very informative and a great help with some of our family history research in the local area.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProprietorOldManor, Owner at Old Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Irene, thank you for your lovely review! Liz does indeed know her stuff regarding the local history, and she is currently preparing a folder regarding the hotel and its past for guests to read if interested. Thanks again, AW Saddler.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Scotland is suffering a pretty bad tourist season it seems and many lovely properties are closed. Those who have survived must have something right. This is one of them. Privately owned and carefully manicured and managed it is clean, caring and comfortable.

The very pleasant rooms, some with sea views, some baths and showers and some showers only, are well sized and welcoming. The hotel restaurant has nothing to be ashamed of and the food excellent, the mussels I had for a first course were surprisingly good and in a delicious sauce which I found myself greedily dipping my bread into when the mussels were finished.

The hotel has, of course, a homely bar and a nice selection of malts.

Ground floor, sea facing rooms with balconies are to be preferred.

Room Tip: Sea, actually links, facing rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baradon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProprietorOldManor, Owner at Old Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Hello Baradon, thank you so much for your lovely comments. All the team are working hard to ensure that the Old Manor continues to flourish, and I am pleased they made your stay so enjoyable on this occasion. I hope we can welcome you back at some stage in the not too distant future. Yours, Alistair Saddler.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stopped in here for on Saturday, 28th June for lunch which was served in the conservatory/dining room. Lunch was £9.95 for 2 courses or £12.95 for three. Food was very well cooked and good sized portions..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corryfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lundin Links
5.5 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
9.0 mi away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
9.6 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St Andrews
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,203 reviews
7.1 mi away
Balbirnie House
Balbirnie House
#1 of 1 in Markinch
839 reviews
10.3 mi away
Craigsanquhar House Hotel
Craigsanquhar House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Craigsanquhar
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Manor Hotel

Property: Old Manor Hotel
Address: 55 Leven Road, Lundin Links KY8 6AJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Lundin Links
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lundin Links
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the stunning coastline of the East Neuk of Fife, with magnicicent panoramic views over Largo Bay and Lundin Golf Links, and a backdrop of Largo Law and Fife's rolling green hills, The Old Manor offers a picture perfect venue for your trip to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Manor Lundin Links
Old Manor Hotel Lundin Links, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing