We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Secret That Must Be Shared”
Review of Knockbain House

Knockbain House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dingwall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Knockbain House
Ranked #11 of 16 Dingwall B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I had the privilege of staying with the hosts David and Denise for a weekend!

This house is set back in the beautiful hills of Dingwall, with the foot hills of the Scottish Highlands literally at the breakfast table.........

An absolute must for those who cherish impeccable rooms with beautiful taste and surroundings.

A B&B with loads of the personal touch.

One feels rather privileged to have been there guests

Room Tip: All rooms are super!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael-H0lmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here at the end of June and the weather was glorious. This meant that we could sit outside on the little terrace and admire the beautiful garden. The beds were so comfortable and as other travellers have said, everything was spotless. We were very loth to leave next morning. I would recommend Knockbain House very highly indeed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Doreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Im a bit of a fuss pot when it comes to staying away from home. Very rarely does something meet my expectations, but our stay at Knockbain House met and exceeded them. From the start there was the beautiful approach up the drive way, then a warm welcome from David. Our twin room was a delight, warm clean and beautifully furnished and decorated. There was so much to look at:-
The gardens, artwork, books, interesting furnishings and objects. Breakfast was a treat too, maybe just one slight niggle that if there is more than yourselves staying depending on timing you may have to share a table. Which maybe does not suit everyone. I would definitely recommend Knockbain House.
Thank you David and Denise

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debbie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Travelling around the country you get a feel for the good places to stay. Usually the better establishments have a feature that makes them stand out; like good food, warm hospitality, big TV, excellent activities or just a comfy bed in a blissfully quiet room. It is however unique to find proprietors who excel in all areas of the art of Bed and Breakfast Accommodation and David & Denise Lockett have quite possibly achieved this.
On approaching the house you may note that as drive up the gravel path the borders on either side are filled with lovely flowers and interesting shrubs; as is the feature planting in front of the house. A thinking person might realise that the garden is there for not just the owners benefit ... but also for you to enjoy. As are the many books and items of interest inside the house, especially in the separate spacious lounge. It is a continuing theme throughout your stay that the little extra things are what make your stay more than just adequate. Like the Ginseng Shampoo in the power shower or the Lady Grey Tea in the room. Or maybe the laminated map with the best local circuit walks highlighted and described. I personally appreciated the genuinely high speed free internet which would put many a city hotel's paid-for offering to shame.
Breakfast is what it should be in the morning - a treat! Excellent quality fruit salad, sausage bacon and egg followed by plunged freshly ground coffee presented in a stainless steel cafetière. There is much more I could say about Knockbain but the most important thing I leave till last and that is ... thank you to both of you for your superb B&B.

Room Tip: Both rooms are great - the double is en-suite; the twin has a super shower room across the hall (wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ronzolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was our second stay at Knockbain House and loved it just as much as the first! We stayed in the twin-bedded room which has its own private bathroom opposite. (must mention the Ginseng bodywash by the way! Lovely). Thoughtful touches everywhere (eg china teapot for a brew), extremely comfortable beds and crisp linens, flat screen tv, EXCELLENT broadband, a very comfortable sitting room with interesting books, art works, a laminated map/card showing various jogging/walking routes on the doorstep. Breakfast is excellent - fresh eggs and well cured bacon cooked perfectly, plus a very attractive-looking fresh fruit salad and cereals etc. A real treat. We felt very at home here and would like to encourage anyone looking for accommodation in Dingwall to stay here, it is a find.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delia2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

You rise up from the valley floor to a location with handsome gardens and commanding views across the river. A very comfortable bedroom, a delightful sitting room, attentive hosts and a good breakfast. All in one of the loveliest parts of Scotland. What more could anyone want ? You've no excuse. Enjoy it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Our friends from Newcastle visit us in October every year and it is my job to find a nice place for the 4 of us to stay for 3 nights, our friends like to see different parts of Scotland and since they had not been to this area I decided to check out Knockbain House and I am so glad I did, we all loved it. The house itself is beautiful and the hosts David and Denise are a delightful couple and made us most welcome. The rooms are beautiful and as there are just 2 double and 1 single bedroom we had the place to ourselves and the guests are also encouraged to use the large sitting room with fantastic views over the gardens and beyond. David is very knowledgeable about the area and can offer information on places of interest to visit. Denise made us a lovely dinner on the first night of our stay by prior arrangement which was a treat after driving all day. We enloyed our visit immensely and would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank molliescotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dingwall hotels
1 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
782 reviews
3 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
153 reviews
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
Dingwall Guest House
#12 of 16 in Dingwall
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
National Hotel Dingwall
National Hotel Dingwall
#3 of 3 in Dingwall
171 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bikers B&B at The Whitehouse
2.3 mi away
Highland Farm Cottages
Highland Farm Cottages
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockbain House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockbain House

Address: Knockbain Farm | near Inverness, Dingwall IV15 9TJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Dingwall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Dingwall
Price Range: £70 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knockbain House is only a mile from the town of Dingwall but situated in the middle of our 300 hectare working farm. Recently rebuilt to a very high standard by owners David & Denise Lockett, with two lovely guest bedrooms plus a single room available for an extra family member. Both principal rooms have superb garden views with distant outlooks to the Cromarty Firth and Black Isle. We are only 20 minutes drive from Inverness, the capital of the Highlands and one hour's drive from Ullapool. We welcome guests who are looking for quiet relaxation in comfortable surroundings. Enjoy our extensive path network which give direct access to long and short distance footpaths and cycleways. Come to Knockbain House and let us make your visit memorable and special. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Knockbain House Dingwall, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing