We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming and great food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dingwall
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Welcoming and great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We staid at the Tulloch for a night and we regretted not to stay longer! We also had dinner and I had the best risotto ever, and the cheese board was nice. The breakfast too was delicious, we felt really welcomed not rush even if "breakfast time" was passed for a few minutes. We are planning to go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TullochManager, General Manager at Tulloch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward hopefully seeing you again sometime in the future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    198
    110
    81
    68
See reviews for
125
380
14
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

After a long day of driving from Edinburgh (we took many stops), it was so very lovely to drive into Dingwall and up the hill to this hotel! I had read previous posts/reviews on this place, so I knew in advance that there was no lift. Needless to say, we left our HEAVY luggage in the car and just brought up what we needed. There was an invitation for someone to carry the luggage up the four flights of stairs for us, but we did not need it due to my planning. The car park is literally right in front of the front door, so we felt very safe leaving our luggage in the car. Reception is just a small desk with one person working it...if others have arrived forst, you will have a little wait...not a problem because there was lots of seating both in the foyer and in the reception living room area. I had booked the hotel 7 months prior to our trip, and a month before I called to see if we could upgrade to a four poster room, and they granted it to us for just 23 pounds more. It was soooo worth it! We got the honeymoon suite with its own very large terrace (the only one in the hotel). It was super fun to explore the entire castle and my 13 year old daughter even got her own private tour from the onsite handyman...she loved it! and that says a lot (coming from a spoiled teenager..lol) The castle is rumored to be haunted, but the only sign we saw (or heard) was the large family portrait in the dining room had a girl painted in it whose eyes followed you all over the room...no matter where you stood. The onsite restaurant bar is where we chose to eat, and the food was good...not 4 star, but good and hardy. I would definitely stay here again!!! The grounds are perfect for walking around in and taking lots of photos!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the honeymoon suite (room 12 I think)...the view from the private terrace is just stunning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelinggirl1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed here for Christmas 2014, and we were really excited. Unfortunately, it wasn't quite what we expected. The front of the hotel is very poorly signposted, and there is some damp damage inside the building. The bed in our room was not very comfortable, but the room was spacious, and beautifully decorated. All meals included were surprisingly delicious, I heartily recommend dining in the restaurant. Drinks are also really we'll priced. Friendly staff, happy to help when we needed it. Wifi reception was non existent in the rooms - we finally works out it really only functions in the bar.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankNni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

This place was extremely difficult to find as it is not sign posted and has no sign or clear entry. There is no lift in the building and rooms are four floors up. There are not enough plug sockets in the room and it is very dark. The shower was broken. Breakfast was disgusting, a fellow guest explained where to sit etc ASD no staff to be seen. Eventually a waitress appeared and coffee was ordered. This tasted liked stewed nescafe and was not drunk. Their was an overwhelming smell of fish and this then transferred to the bacon which was obviously cooked in the same pan. This is an amazing building and with the right investment could be a five star amenity. As it is I would not recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebesttaxilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TullochManager, General Manager at Tulloch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments. We are disappointed you did not enjoy your stay in the Castle. We only have bedrooms on the first or second floor, perhaps we could reserve one on our first floor for you in the future.
Thank you again for your feedback
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dingwall hotels

Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

I stayed here about 2 years ago. Lovely room and good breakfast. My husband has stayed on numerous occasions in the past with work. We were really looking forward to our stay. However we arrived in October 2013. Bar food was great but very disappointed with everything else. Room was run down as was the en suite. Not enough towels in room. At breakfast we waited about 40 mins for porridge and tea/toast which was lovely but our cooked breakfast had not arrived after an hour and we had a flight to catch so had to go. We cancelled our booking for the following week as we were so disappointed with this visit. We stayed in the Drumossie in Inverness instead- perfect! You could say we were just unlucky with a few unfortunate small events adding up to something bigger. I wouldn't risk spending my own money here again but may come on a course if my company were paying.

Room Tip: I think we were in room 1-awful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMM123761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night on 30th November. Late Anniversary treat. We stayed in Room 15, 4 poster room. Stunning bedroom with lovely views. Can't rate this place highly enough. Food was fabulous and staff super friendly. Ghost tour was amazing. Beautiful building. Definitely returning soon

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RG07LOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

This was our fifth visit to this hotel, we even got married there in 2005 that's how good it was. Unfortunately having changed owners several times it has been left to slowly deteriorate and is showing signs of neglect and to be honest my wife was gutted as it was our anniversary and were expecting more. The saving grace for this hotel is the staff (Nicola & Laura) as they are always polite and helpful. All this hotel needs is some tlc and it will become the hotel of old

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TullochManager, General Manager at Tulloch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback regarding the Castle. We do have an in-house maintenance programme and try to get round as much as possible. Thank you for your kind words regarding the staff.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dingwall
3.5 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
5.8 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
13.8 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
11.2 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
19.4 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulloch Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulloch Castle Hotel

Property: Tulloch Castle Hotel
Address: Tulloch Castle Drive, Dingwall IV15 9ND, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Dingwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dingwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tulloch Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an imposing position, with Highland views spread out like an open atlas, Tulloch Castle is on the edge of the bustling market town of Dingwall, just 15 miles north of Inverness. Swift new roads make Tulloch Castle the perfect base to explore the enchanting Black Isle to the east and the stunning contrasts of the unforgettable deep glens and rugged coastlines of the unforgettable deep glens and rugged coastlines of the West Highlands; all just a daytrip away. Whether you want to enjoy a fine meal in our restaurant, rest for a few nights in one of the castle bedchambers, or just taste local ale in the Green Lady Lounge, you will find Tulloch Castle an unforgettable place to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tulloch Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulloch Castle Dingwall
Hotel Tulloch Castle
Tulloch Castle Hotel Dingwall, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing