We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable but probably not to everyone's taste”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dingwall
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Memorable but probably not to everyone's taste”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel could be described as a decaying fawlty towers meets the Adams Family home but if you are prepared to overlook the peeling wallpaper, mismatched furniture and mouldy coving it also has unique charm and character. We loved the historical features especially in the public areas, although our room was a little gloomy because of the dark green walls and dim lighting. The windows are also single glazed sashes which would be draughty in extreme cold weather. It needs some TLC to prevent it from crumbling into complete disrepair but it is a gem, if you don't mind threadbare carpets and a bit of antique dust.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie186230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    198
    110
    81
    68
See reviews for
125
381
14
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Yes, I am a cynical American who expects top notch service. Honestly, this hotel didn't meet my expectations, it exceeded them. The only complaint I have? We only stayed one night. The breakfast was out of this world and so was our waitress. John, had to repair a door on another part of the hotel. It was after 10 but he went out of his way to ask if it would disturb us after 10:30 in the morning. Craig at reception and Arlene couldn't have made us feel more welcome. We thought this would be our one and only time to Dingwall, we are planning to come back next year. We entered as customers but felt we left as friends. Great job! Nicest people we have met so far in this beautiful country. To be honest, for me to say that is a huge compliment because as beautiful as Scotland is, her people make this one of the best countries in the world.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Great weekend, great food, excellent service and lovely staff. This is a very old building dating back to the mid 12th century, there is no lift and no place to put one. My case was carried to my room, no problem. The staff could not have done more to make my stay enjoyable.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank amandas294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
321 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

And they very rarely disappoint, the fact that it is a real castle converted into a hotel makes it very unique but one has to make allowances , no there is no life, yes some part of the building are cold.
I had dinner in the Green Lady bar and very nice it was too, the prawn cocktail was very fresh and plentiful with large prawns . I had the house burger and the service was was fast and efficient. It is after all bar food, I am absolutely positive Gordon Ramsay was on that night in the kitchen, well done the staff.
My breakfast in the morning was every bit as good.
My room was nice and warm and cosy, but there was a buzzing from (I think) a central heating boiler, I asked about it at reception and they gave me another room promptly, handled well.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jimbo367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dingwall, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

After a previous disastrous meal here, I vowed never to return but I was persuaded by a visiting relative to have dinner with the family in this restaurant. It proved to be a bigger disaster than the previous occasion. Fawlty Towers couldn't match the shambles that the staff provided as service! It was so bad that the only way we could stay was by treating it as a laugh, an expensive laugh.
The prawn cocktails were served on hot plates, so hot in fact that the rocket salad was cooked. The Marie Rose sauce was thin, watery, acidic slop and the tiny 'prawns' were tough, tasteless bullets. The haggis and black pudding, although tasty, was piled on the plate with a brown covering of sauce. It looked as attractive as something left behind by a dog. The fish and chips saga is too painful to go into but involved four of our party being told that they would have to order different mains as there was no fish left. After reordering they were told a while later that the fish had been 'found' and would they like to order it again. This all took some time. On the positive side the members of our party who ordered steak said it was excellent and cooked to their wishes. Mind you, one of the steak diners had to wait sometime for his meal as the staff said his original meal had had an 'accident'! By the time it came to sweets few of us had the enthusiasm or will to order after being told that the meagre sweet menu was reduced due to shortages in the galley.
An expensive comedy of errors and after this we certainly wont be returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roderick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TullochManager, General Manager at Tulloch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments, which I an extremely distressed to read. It is never our intention for guests to leave unhappy. I will not make any excuses for your meal experience. We were unaware of your feelings on the day and I would be happy to discuss the details with you direct. Please so not hesitate to give me a call.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dingwall hotels

Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We booked for Christmas lunch....never again.
The service was slow to non existent.
The food was good apart from the missing cheese board and the starter that arrived as everyone else had completed theirs.
As we had our coffee chairs were being stacked up at the other end of the room...we were only there for 2.5 hours in total. This could have been reduced if the service had been quicker.
We have had a lot of lovely meals both in the Bar and the Restaurant in the past and have attended a few Weddings so we have been left completely disappointed.
No one asked us how things were and it took us 10 minutes after our meal to locate a member of staff to pay our bill.
It has issues of damp that were clearly seen by all.
The staff did not seem to happy to be at work.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JIll A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We staid at the Tulloch for a night and we regretted not to stay longer! We also had dinner and I had the best risotto ever, and the cheese board was nice. The breakfast too was delicious, we felt really welcomed not rush even if "breakfast time" was passed for a few minutes. We are planning to go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TullochManager, General Manager at Tulloch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward hopefully seeing you again sometime in the future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dingwall
3.5 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
5.8 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
13.8 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
11.2 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
19.4 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulloch Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulloch Castle Hotel

Property: Tulloch Castle Hotel
Address: Tulloch Castle Drive, Dingwall IV15 9ND, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Dingwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dingwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tulloch Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an imposing position, with Highland views spread out like an open atlas, Tulloch Castle is on the edge of the bustling market town of Dingwall, just 15 miles north of Inverness. Swift new roads make Tulloch Castle the perfect base to explore the enchanting Black Isle to the east and the stunning contrasts of the unforgettable deep glens and rugged coastlines of the unforgettable deep glens and rugged coastlines of the West Highlands; all just a daytrip away. Whether you want to enjoy a fine meal in our restaurant, rest for a few nights in one of the castle bedchambers, or just taste local ale in the Green Lady Lounge, you will find Tulloch Castle an unforgettable place to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tulloch Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulloch Castle Dingwall
Hotel Tulloch Castle
Tulloch Castle Hotel Dingwall, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing