We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Castle Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tulloch Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dingwall
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Castle Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed t this lovely old castle hotel for one night in May, the staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The room was lovely and full of character with a lovely view of sheep on the hill from the bathroom. Dinner and breakfast in the restaurant were also very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    193
    106
    79
    68
See reviews for
119
360
13
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
alliston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I think this is one of those "you hate it" or "you love it" places.
Luckily we fell into the latter category.
The staff was excellent all round.
The food was very good as was the location.
Staying in a haunted castle was a hoot, getting to poke around the quirky old place.
Ignore the peeling wall paper and enjoy

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alliston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

My family and I recently had a meal at the castle, portions were small, salmon made me I'll for 2 days, when trying to order a drink for my 2 year old, I was told there was no small bottles or cartons or even a straw she could drink though, only a glass! My partner had to go home to fetch her a carton of juice! One of the meals was forgotten about and the girl serving us wasn't very helpful. There was a drunk abusive man in the bar who was swearing in front of my child, no staff asked the man to leave. Overall very disappointing!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dingwall hotels

Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

yes the building needs a lot of TLC, but so would you if you were between 500 and 700 years old . however you soon forget the peeling wallpaper, the water damage, and somewhat dated and tired interior , when you meet the staff. Laura and Nicola are without a doubt the friendliest and most welcoming staff i have come across in my travels. Every time they go past you they are checking everything is ok , and if we need anything. Graeme on the bar was a good lad too.

The building needs a lot of care and attention though , but working with buildings of a similar age i do appreciate the cost of such repairs and such, but it will be years , and probably millions before the building can be all that it could be.

Only major complaint was half an hour wait for breakfast, and half an hour wait for a latte

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whytewitch59632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
584 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We were warmly welcomed by a friendly receptionist and shown to room 11. Nice view but on the top floor. The room was very comfortable and well equipped. Breakfast was good, sausages could have been better, but other items were fine. A very old building, and querky in places, full of history and a ghost!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TullochManager, General Manager at Tulloch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your thoughts on the hotel, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We will review our sausages with our supplier - thank you once again.
With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Arrived late afternoon on spec. Happy to be told they could squeeze us in. Room 6 is at the back of the Castle up several flights and along corridors. Heating was on full blast and can't be adjusted. Shower room is grubby and the shower is useless. Evening meal was excellent. Serving staff and chef very good. Breakfast was like something out of Fawlty Towers. Stop playing the inane music on the cheap cassette player. Scotland has more to offer than that.

Room Tip: Don't get room 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jac448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TullochManager, General Manager at Tulloch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed the majority of your stay. Our restaurant has now been returned to its usual location after some refurbishment, so things have become more "normal" with regards to location and service.
Thanks you once again
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Fantastic room with huge four poster bed and large balcony overlooking the surrounding area,
Had the full Scottish breakfast which was awful, very cheap sausages and bacon and disgusting black pudding.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dingwall
5.8 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
23.9 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
13.8 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
20.4 mi away
Newton Hotel
Newton Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulloch Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulloch Castle Hotel

Property: Tulloch Castle Hotel
Address: Tulloch Castle Drive, Dingwall IV15 9ND, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Dingwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dingwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tulloch Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an imposing position, with Highland views spread out like an open atlas, Tulloch Castle is on the edge of the bustling market town of Dingwall, just 15 miles north of Inverness. Swift new roads make Tulloch Castle the perfect base to explore the enchanting Black Isle to the east and the stunning contrasts of the unforgettable deep glens and rugged coastlines of the unforgettable deep glens and rugged coastlines of the West Highlands; all just a daytrip away. Whether you want to enjoy a fine meal in our restaurant, rest for a few nights in one of the castle bedchambers, or just taste local ale in the Green Lady Lounge, you will find Tulloch Castle an unforgettable place to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Tulloch Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulloch Castle Dingwall
Hotel Tulloch Castle
Tulloch Castle Hotel Dingwall, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing