We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful in time of need”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
National Hotel Dingwall
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dingwall
Caithness
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very helpful in time of need”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Due to unforseen circumstances late one Sunday afternoon we had to catch the train home from Dingwall. As we had a three hour wait for the train we called into the National, a short walk from the station, seeking a cup of tea and somewhere civilised to wait. We could not have been made more welcome. The receptionist was very friendly and ensured we were well looked after. Highland service at its best!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GroatieBuckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    45
    34
    16
    23
See reviews for
20
29
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

The National is lets face it, cheap n cheerful. I knew before I went and got what I expected. Checking in after office hours is a lottery but I got to my room about 10pm and it was fine. Decent sleep, ok shower, nice breakfast and out at 8am. Does what it says on the tin. Wouldn't take the Mrs there though!

Room Tip: Roll the dice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielF696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013 via mobile

The staff were helpful and friendly during my stay here. The rooms were clean and couldnt be faulted. The food was very good and was reasonably priced. The hotel had sufficient parking and a central location.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank p_rez86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadcaster
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

Just went in here for a meal as we wanted to stay in the town centre, walking in from the local campsite. We were the only diners on a Friday night in a large dining room, but there was more life in the adjacent bar. Plenty of late Victorian atmosphere (and furnishings, I suspect!) and a good example of a scottish mid range hotel. I believe relatively new owners are trying to get this place upmarket a bit without alienating existing trade - best of luck to them as Dingwall deserves a good central hostelry.

Cannot fault the meal itself - local produce, with a good helping of smoked salmon starter, and the chicken stuffed with haggis was excellent. All washed down with a good bottle of mid priced wine. With not many other meals going out, service was quick, though not always very efficient from the willing but inexperienced waitress with a limited command of English, but the genial manager kept an eye on her. Overall, very good value for an excellent meal.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forres, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

This hotel was not welcoming. Had to press button few times and waited ages to be shown room. Room had not TV and toilet would not flush until you pumped it good few times. Had to pay another £5 to get a room that had aTV and a toilet that worked. There were hoovers left all through the passages but no hoovering seemed to be done as the stairs were no cleaner after the hoovers were removed. Not a very clean feel throughout the hotel although the room was clean enough and the bed was comfy. The only saving grace was the breakfast which was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dingwall hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

Stayed here recently while working in boots replacing their boilers. Staff were very friendly and welcoming, management were very helpful. The breakfast was really good and the chef was happy to oblige with any request. I will certainly stay here again when in the area, and I am already planning a weekend break here for me and my wife. Thanks
Ben.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beni-g84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

I had a very good nights stay in this hotel,I'd booked a single room at very short notice but got a large twin bedded with a bath for the same price.The room was at the rear of the building so it was a nice quiet one. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, {Hi Esther} it was clean and comfortable,the food was spot on, and there was plenty of easy car parking.The interior of the place could have done with a lick of paint here and there but that didn't bother me one bit. Obligato Andrea, I'm looking forward to my next stay. Chas

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chas4611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dingwall
2.5 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#4 of 7 in Strathpeffer
3.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Bay Highland Hotel
Bay Highland Hotel
#1 of 7 in Strathpeffer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
3.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
5.7 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National Hotel Dingwall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Hotel Dingwall

Property: National Hotel Dingwall
Address: High Street, Dingwall IV15 9HA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Dingwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dingwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — National Hotel Dingwall 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your National Hotel Dingwall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dingwall National Hotel
National Hotel Dingwall Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing