We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does the job”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
National Hotel Dingwall
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dingwall
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed for 2 nights end of May while working in Dingwall. Pleasant hotel with friendly staff handy for the centre of town.

Don't expect the ritz or a palace, the hotel is average but given the footfall (coach trips) it serves a purpose.

Room was compact with a double bed, TV, dresser / table. Wardrobe and small bathroom. Comfortable for 1 but not s lot of room if staying as a couple (room may have been double for single occupancy).

Evening meal served in the bar was good quality and quantity, however bar lacked atmosphere. Breakfast was mix of self serve cereal and cooked - tasty if not a little oily for my taste.

One criticism was they stopped serving evening meal at 8:45pm, not to late but after working till then was miffed could not eat in hotel, resulting in a visit to local chippy - not recommended.

Dingwall is an old market town but sadly lacking in investment, resulting in no social atmosphere of a night and probably same during the day.

Overall, an average hotel that allowed me to put my head down for the night, that has friendly staff, but don't go looking to stay for more than a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Couttsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

Due to unforseen circumstances late one Sunday afternoon we had to catch the train home from Dingwall. As we had a three hour wait for the train we called into the National, a short walk from the station, seeking a cup of tea and somewhere civilised to wait. We could not have been made more welcome. The receptionist was very friendly and ensured we were well looked after. Highland service at its best!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank GroatieBuckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The National is lets face it, cheap n cheerful. I knew before I went and got what I expected. Checking in after office hours is a lottery but I got to my room about 10pm and it was fine. Decent sleep, ok shower, nice breakfast and out at 8am. Does what it says on the tin. Wouldn't take the Mrs there though!

Room Tip: Roll the dice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanielF696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013 via mobile

The staff were helpful and friendly during my stay here. The rooms were clean and couldnt be faulted. The food was very good and was reasonably priced. The hotel had sufficient parking and a central location.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank p_rez86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Just went in here for a meal as we wanted to stay in the town centre, walking in from the local campsite. We were the only diners on a Friday night in a large dining room, but there was more life in the adjacent bar. Plenty of late Victorian atmosphere (and furnishings, I suspect!) and a good example of a scottish mid range hotel. I believe relatively new owners are trying to get this place upmarket a bit without alienating existing trade - best of luck to them as Dingwall deserves a good central hostelry.

Cannot fault the meal itself - local produce, with a good helping of smoked salmon starter, and the chicken stuffed with haggis was excellent. All washed down with a good bottle of mid priced wine. With not many other meals going out, service was quick, though not always very efficient from the willing but inexperienced waitress with a limited command of English, but the genial manager kept an eye on her. Overall, very good value for an excellent meal.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

This hotel was not welcoming. Had to press button few times and waited ages to be shown room. Room had not TV and toilet would not flush until you pumped it good few times. Had to pay another £5 to get a room that had aTV and a toilet that worked. There were hoovers left all through the passages but no hoovering seemed to be done as the stairs were no cleaner after the hoovers were removed. Not a very clean feel throughout the hotel although the room was clean enough and the bed was comfy. The only saving grace was the breakfast which was excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Stayed here recently while working in boots replacing their boilers. Staff were very friendly and welcoming, management were very helpful. The breakfast was really good and the chef was happy to oblige with any request. I will certainly stay here again when in the area, and I am already planning a weekend break here for me and my wife. Thanks
Ben.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Beni-g84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dingwall
2.5 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
153 reviews
1 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
782 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#7 of 7 in Strathpeffer
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Bay Highland Hotel
Bay Highland Hotel
#1 of 7 in Strathpeffer
809 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
420 reviews
6.7 mi away
Achilty Hotel
Achilty Hotel
#2 of 2 in Contin
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National Hotel Dingwall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Hotel Dingwall

Address: High Street, Dingwall IV15 9HA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Dingwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dingwall
Price Range: £73 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — National Hotel Dingwall 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your National Hotel Dingwall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dingwall National Hotel
National Hotel Dingwall Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing