We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location on the Moray Firth” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Storehouse

The Storehouse
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Evanton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$13
Cuisines: Cafe, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, View, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Scottish restaurant serving fantastic breakfasts, snacks, lunches, cakes, teas and coffees in a relaxed atmosphere on the edge of The Cromarty Firth.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location on the Moray Firth”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Lovely location just off the A9 heading towards Dingwall. Set on the shores of the Moray Firth, a stunning location. As the name suggests, a converted old Storehouse but retaining lots of old character. The restaurant has fantastic views. The food was delicious, tasty and plenty of it. The numerous staff ensured it would never be hard to get attention and they were helpful and friendly. There is also a delicatessen with lots of unusual foods, wine and cheeses. To appreciate full this location, just sit outside on the picnic benches. Will definitely go back when we are in the area again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LochNessBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    143
    29
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding - an example to so many!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

I've stopped and eaten at the Storehouse more times than I can count- Every time- great food, amazing staff and the best value.

The Storehouse sets the standard others (some of them) aspire to and never achieve.

Don't worry about the queues, they vanish very fast-

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Davidpsion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

On the occasional sunday we have visited foulis and each time we have had a 5min wait but.... its worth it! The roast is mouth watering and the plate is loaded that after finishing I then have to wonder wether I will fit in my car to get home.. staff are friendly and if you do have to wait for somthing to come out of the kitchen then its never been too long... each visit I have had a fantastic experiance would recomend

Helpful?
Thank cameron1791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“beautiful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a lovely setting right on the north shore of the Cromarty Firth. Unfortunately the access onto the A9 is a little tricky as it is a very busy road. The car park is adequate but it can be quite muddy underfoot when wet. Perhaps this is something that could be improved. We stopped for coffee and cake on a Sunday afternoon which we thoroughly enjoyed. The restaurant was very busy when we arrived (which is great) but the self service is really quite slow. I think they could do with looking at a more efficient method of serving. The staff are very pleasant and attentive and tables are cleared very quickly. There is also a small deli/kitchen/gift shop attached to the restaurant and another small gift shop in the grounds.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jomo6058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

You won't be disappointed - no matter what time of the day you visit you always get a nice welcome. The food is first class and the sweets to die for!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sanfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Storehouse also viewed

Dingwall, Ross and Cromarty
Dingwall, Ross and Cromarty
 
Evanton, Ross and Cromarty
Strathpeffer, Ross and Cromarty
 

Been to The Storehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing