We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hospitality”
Review of Kiltearn House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kiltearn House
Ranked #1 of 2 Evanton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect hospitality”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Ed and Nel were perfect hosts during our stay in June 2012. We loved the house, its situation, our room and the wonderful evening meal Nel prepared for us after our long journey. We will be very lucky indeed if the standard of friendly and efficient hospitality we received at Kiltearn House is matched during the rest of our stay in Scotland.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    6
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
88
21
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Our stay at Kiltearn House in April was really wonderful.
The King room we had was very tastefully decorated and spotlesslessly clean and the views over the Cromarty Firth were unsurpassed.The tranquility of the area made for two great nights sleep.The house itself is a beautiful old church manse with many interesting features and the comfortable lounge was a very pleasant place to relax in

The food ( all locally sourced )was of a very high standard with huge portions expertly prepared by Nel. Both Ed and Nel ( the owners ) were great hosts -very welcoming, helpful and efficient and we came away with batteries fully recharged .

This is a gem of a place and highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandK926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrytown
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2012

My partner and I stayed here in April for two nights and we had a fantastic time. The accommodation iteself was immaculate and welcoming, and the setting was truly tranquil. We would highly recommend this for a relaxing break, and it is not far from Inverness whatsoever.

Thank you for a lovely stay, Judith and Dave

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

My partner and I decided to book a cheeky night away and Kiltearn House had came highly recommended by our brother and is partner..so we decided to to give a go and we were most definitely NOT disappointed! We had the loveliest of welcomes from Ed who showed us around the b&b and showed us to our room which was just stunning with lovely views over the Cromarty Firth. The room had a lovely selection of hot drinks ie various teas, coffee, horlicks and hot chocolate as well as lovely biscuits. A very helpful information folder for the surrounding area. Visitors are provided with a list of varied foods as part of the cooked breakfast ranging from fried egg to haggis, tea, coffee, toast as well as a well presented selection of continental breakfast selection.

There was a well stocked "honesty bar" (drinks fridge) which was on the upper level just outside our room, where visitors can pick a drink and write down what they have drank and be charged on checking out for items consumed.

Ed had been trying to contact us through email to see if we were planning on having an evening meal there (as they like to know in advance as everything is prepared freshly and Nel and Ed like to know if you have any dislikes), but unfortunately we had not checked our emails before we left, so Ed kindly directed us to the local Bar in Evanton called the Balconie Inn and the staff were very accommodating and the food was lovely and all cooked fresh to order. We had a lovely walk back to the B&B taking in the scenery as we went. Walking down the quiet road back to Kiltearn House, we walked along the beach at the bottom of the road, which took took us along the front of the B&B.

We had a lovely sleep in one of the most comfortable beds we have slept in.

The breakfast was absolutely stunning as it is all cooked to order.

After breakfast we had a lovely chat with Nel and Ed and we will most definitely be back and would highly recommend staying here to anyone looking for a 4-5 star B&B

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LandD17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2012

This was our first visit to Kiltearn House, and from the moment we arrived we were made to feel so welcome by Ed and Nel White. The house is beautifully appointed and as this was a special occassion for us we chose the Superking bedroom. The room was a revelation, being decorated to a high and tasteful standard. The bed was superbly comfortable, and the little touches like fresh flowers in the room just makes the difference. We had an evening meal on both nights of our stay, and Nel produced the most superb, mouthwatering food cooked to the highest standard.Breakfasts were just as impressive, but don't forget to try the haggis!
By the time our all to short stay came to an end, we felt we had become almost part of their family. A wonderful place to stay with impressive views as well. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fboltonking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

My girlfriend booked a two night stay here for something different and we were really impressed . The two owners are great and were really attentive... The food is really great quality and you can come and go as you please. If you are in two minds with this place, trust me you wont be let down.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmill832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

My partner and I enjoyed a lovely 2-night break using a Groupon voucher. We were delighted with our well-appointed room. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom, although small, contained all the necessaries. The shower was excellent. We appreciated the in-room information which helped us to plan some activities in the area.

Soon after settling in our room we were able to enjoy tea, coffee and cakes in the lounge, where there was a warm fire and squashy sofas. It was a nice way to unwind after a few hours' drive. That evening we ate at a pub in Evanton. Kiltearn House is located in a rural area and it was blissfully quiet at night. We both had a wonderfully restful sleep.

The next day we had a huge and tasty breakfast, cooked by Nel and served by Ed. It kept us going all day! And what a day - we did lots of exploring: a hike to the Black Rock Gorge, a walk on the beach at Shandwick, and a visit to the Pictish Stone at the Church in Nigg. We saw wildlife (seals and buzzards) too. This was a part of Scotland I have not visited before and I enjoyed the leisurely pace. On our return to our room we found that it had not just been cleaned and tidied, but the Easter Bunny had also visited and left each of us a chocolate treat! That evening we enjoyed a lovely meal at Kiltearn House. We were the only guests dining in at the time, and it felt very special. Twilight descended as we ate in the conservatory. Our menu was restaurant-grade, and my partner was thrilled with the wine choice.

After breakfast the second morning, we had a long and engaging chat with Nel. We were very sorry to be leaving once we were feeling so "at home", but all good things must come to an end.

Ed and Nel are a lovely couple and Kiltearn House is a testament to their attention to detail. It is spotlessly clean, comfortable, and retains it's charming character. The grounds and views are truly beautiful. It's the perfect venue for a quiet getaway.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2011JR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evanton
5.9 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
361 reviews
5.3 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
720 reviews
11.0 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
138 reviews
12.7 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#18 of 34 in Inverness
1,814 reviews
12.9 mi away
Priory Hotel
Priory Hotel
#1 of 4 in Beauly
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiltearn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiltearn House

Property: Kiltearn House
Address: Kiltearn, Evanton IV16 9UY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Evanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Evanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kiltearn House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning luxury accommodation in Kiltearn, Evanton. Close to Dingwall, Alness and Invergordon Kiltearn Country House is a Gold 4 Star Country House offering hotel luxury with the personal touch. Built in 1894 this imposing Victorian Country House is set in a beautiful location directly on the Cromarty Firth foreshore with magnificent views over the sea. Situated as it is , Kiltearn Country House provides an ideal travelling base and easy travelling distance for exploring the northern area of Scotland as well as across to the West Coast and the Islands. All the bedrooms have been recently refurbished and beautifully appointed in both modern and traditional styles. All bedrooms and public areas have free WiFi. Whilst you relax in one of the comfortable chairs in the guest lounge sample a local malt or enjoy a glass of wine by the log burner.The whole house has a lovely tranquil ambiance and is an ideal escape from everyday hustle and bustle. Many of Scotland's finest golf courses, salmon rivers and distilleries are close by with Tain, Dornoch and Inverness also within easy reach. Kiltearn Country House is one of the finest Country Houses in the Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Kiltearn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiltearn House Evanton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing