We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is a gem!”
Review of Kiltearn House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kiltearn House
Ranked #1 of 2 Evanton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We stayed here in November 2012 for a meeting in Invergordon. It's a beatiful situation, right by the shore of the loch.The house is a former manse (Victorian) and the rooms are well - proportioned, spotless & extremely comfortable. It was lovely & warm, the towels fluffy, bedlinen crisp and breakfast superb. Best of all the hosts make people feel welcome. My husband asked me not to write a review as he didn't want the place spoiled by hordes of folk! But they deserve top billing and we hope to be back in the not too distant future. Many thanks to you both.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Delia2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Kiltearn House. Our room was lovely with a fabulous view. Breakfast was delicious (it was wonderful to be able to select from an extensive breakfast menu the previous evening). Kiltearn House is in a wonderful setting, just off the beaten track, but near enough to other local facilities.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stayed at the Kiltearn House for 2 nights whilst my partner ran the Loch Ness marathon. Ed and Nel were fantastic hosts and made us both feel very welcome. It is obvious that they both put a lot of hard work and effort into the Kiltearn House, the rooms are spotlessly clean, the food is excellent (we had dinner and breakfast) and their attention to detail made our stay most enjoyable. We will definitely be recommending the Kiltearn House to family and friends as a great base to explore the surrounding area.

Thank you Ed and Nel, we hope to stay with you again in the not so distant future!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nursey14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Stayed 5 nights on a salmon fishing trip. The house is extremely comfortable and Ed and Nel were great hosts and could not do enough. Ed was kind enough to dry our waders and boots each evening. The food was superb and the cooked breakfast has to be recommended. The black pudding was the best I have ever had. I also recommend a dram of the Dalmore which Ed serves as it is a local distillery.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We spent three nights here this past month. By far, it was our favourite place during our 11-day trip to Scotland. Kiltearn House is a gorgeous, spacious guest house situated directly on the Cromarty Firth. The grounds are nice, the view is beautiful. It is handy to the highway if you are using it as a base.
The breakfasts are very good. Both hot and cold choices are varied and plentiful. The service is outstanding!!! We had dinner there one night as well and it was very, very good.
The common room is warm and welcoming and is a nice place to meet other guests.
The room was large, bright and very clean and so nicely updated. It was the nicest room we had during our entire trip.
We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CANsam2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012 via mobile

I arrived at night but could vaguely make out that I was near the Cromarty Firth. When I woke up, I was astonished at the view as the B & B is located right on the edge. Amazing views.
I spent three nights here as I was working in the area. I travel a lot for work and have stayed in all sorts of establishments, and I can safely say that this would be one of the only ones I would like to return to outside of work. The owners are lovely people. They are really friendly, always remembering my name and included a couple of nice touches such as fresh flowers in the rooms and a 'help yourself' bar fridge working on an honesty policy.
There is also a nice walk/run route around the beach and through evanton. Ask Ed for directions. Apparently the record for a run round it is 15 minutes!
Thanks very much to Ed and his wife for making my stay so enjoyable and comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonSays86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Delicious home cooked food, truly exceptional! Comfy bed. Kind and friendly couple. Right by the water. Private and quiet. Huge, yummy portions for dinner so bring a big appetite! We did a great walk in the afternoon.

Room Tip: Took the Super king, which is very nice and big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeanutMalteaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evanton
6.0 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
390 reviews
10.9 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
811 reviews
5.2 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#5 of 36 in Inverness
658 reviews
14.3 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
14.6 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tain
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiltearn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiltearn House

Address: Kiltearn, Evanton IV16 9UY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Evanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Evanton
Price Range: £83 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kiltearn House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning luxury accommodation in Kiltearn, Evanton. Close to Dingwall, Alness and Invergordon Kiltearn Country House is a Gold 4 Star Country House offering hotel luxury with the personal touch. Built in 1894 this imposing Victorian Country House is set in a beautiful location directly on the Cromarty Firth foreshore with magnificent views over the sea. Situated as it is , Kiltearn Country House provides an ideal travelling base and easy travelling distance for exploring the northern area of Scotland as well as across to the West Coast and the Islands. All the bedrooms have been recently refurbished and beautifully appointed in both modern and traditional styles. All bedrooms and public areas have free WiFi. Whilst you relax in one of the comfortable chairs in the guest lounge sample a local malt or enjoy a glass of wine by the log burner.The whole house has a lovely tranquil ambiance and is an ideal escape from everyday hustle and bustle. Many of Scotland's finest golf courses, salmon rivers and distilleries are close by with Tain, Dornoch and Inverness also within easy reach. Kiltearn Country House is one of the finest Country Houses in the Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and LateRooms so you can book your Kiltearn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiltearn House Evanton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing