We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great weekend at Nethbridge”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nethy Bridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Abernethy Bunkhouses
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This is the fourth time we have taken the HUB network scout event back to Nethybridge and this was the busiest. With over 50 participants from across Scotland there are a range of expectations when they all arrive on the Friday evening,But when they leave on the Sunday it's safe to say that all these expectiations have been met if not exceeded. A key to that is the warm wlecome and great facilities on offer in and around Nethyhouse. The owners are very helpful and flexible in the run up to the event when the numbers and requirements of the group are changing on a daily basis and they are always willing to pop down to the centre to help us locate the controls for the TV or chalk for the pool table ;). Their local knowledge and contact list is also an great resource, whether it's a massage you're looking for or 5 kegs of beer they can put you in touch with the right person.

The centre itself offers great facilties. The rooms are spacious and functional. The showers and toilet facitiles can cope with even the messiest of groups. The bar is agreat facility with TV, darts, pool and a disco area it ticks all the boxes and you can set the prices :) A cheap night in. The catering facilties are also ideal for big groups with ample storage in the basement and food deliveries to the door. The local shop and butchers are handy for the bits and pieces you may have forgot.

The large playing fields over the bridge are great for big events and the numerous paths and wlaks in the local are can be utilised for walking/ cycling or running (we had folk doing all of these this weekend). Parking is good and it's easy to find.

There is porbably an awful lot more I could say but I ned to get back to work.

Thanks again Richard and Patricia I know we'll be back next year.

Room Tip: Ones without folk who snore will generally improve the quality of your sleep. Room 2 can be a bit no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dougie_woodrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbernethyBunkhouses, Owner at Abernethy Bunkhouses, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

Thank you very much for your super comments about our larger Abernethy Bunkhouse - Nethy House. It is always appreciated when people take the trouble to comment as it is all useful for later visitors.
It is an ageing property, and like its owners, feeling the occasional twang of old age - but it is still very popular with groups like yours for whom a hotel is not really an option!
We always look forward to your group and travel experience does go both ways. Thoughtful guests always make for better service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2012

As a picturesque and welcoming town on the edge of the Speyside whisky region, I, alongside my University's Whisky society, have been staying at the Bunkhouses anually for the last three years, as a society tradition that stretches back well beyond then.

The main bunkhouse (Nethy House) is a beautiful hostel, with photographs, certificates, letters, numerous oddities and a truly spectacular hat collection (military uniforms, postal workers etc). It is the small artefacts such as these that makes the House very inviting and warm. And then of course there are the larger comforts...

Alongside sleeping quarters that would happily accommodate a small army, Richard and his wife Patricia have decked out the kitchen with enough kit to feed the 45-strong student force, that we have taken up there in the past, with a full cooked Scottish breakfast quite easily.
The showers and other amenities are large and, while simple, suit the purpose perfectly.

And, of course, who can go amiss in a hostel that comes fitted with its own fully functioning bar, with optics, glasses and keg line (on a traditional pulling pump) which can be attached to a keg ordered from the local brewery to be delivered straight to the House.
And what would a bar be without its very own set of board games, piano, pool table and darts board?

Nethy House is THE place to stay, whether you're visiting Nethy Bridge, Speyside, or just passing through.


Nethy Station takes on a slightly different role. With more obvious Drying Rooms, and a slightly smaller operation, the Station is purpose built for Hikers, Climbers and Skiers.
It has been a while since I last stayed there (as we prefer to book the House if possible), but the facilities for eating, sleeping and socialising are all very good, with the same good quality kit filling each respective section.

While the Station lacks some of the finer entertainments that the House has, it is still a great cozy place to stay, and Richards own personal touch shines through.


Richard and Patricia, themselves are fantastic people, with a couple of quirks between them that make for excellent company. They will very happily give you your space, but will also do their best to show you round, be social, and have a good laugh.

Whatever you're doing in the area, if its Hiking, touring, or just passing through, I would very strongly reccommend stopping over with them.

Room Tip: Smaller quarters are in place, off the main dining area, to give drivers or group leaders a more pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeddicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbernethyBunkhouses, Owner at Abernethy Bunkhouses, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Thank you very much Jeddicus. It is always nice to know that people enjoy staying at the Abernethy Bunkhouses but you have been very helpful and actually taken the time to compare them which is super!
Of course, I have to point out that the Station does have the beer pump too, just in case it is necessary to stay there instead!
We really are most grateful and unfortunately though many of our hats have been stolen - you will be pleased to hear that we are replacing them as we speak!
We shall look forward to seeing you guys again this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

A building full of character is an understatement. The walls are covered in paintings, certificates and photographs which make the place seem very welcoming and homely. The facilities are good for a large group with a bar, kitchen with commercial gas cooker and large dining room. The smaller areas for leaders are nice escapes from what can turn into a hectic house with large groups, the showers are hot and the drying room is... dry.

Richard is very hospitable and added greatly to the stay when he popped into the house to say hello. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for him.

If you are tall, watch out for the ceiling in the drying room.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbernethyBunkhouses, Owner at Abernethy Bunkhouses, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2012

Thanks Michael for taking the time to write such a helpful review. We always enjoy the University of Manchester Hiking Club's visit and hope that we may welcome you all for years to come and watch you reach the great age that we are now! Cheers P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed at Nethy station for a stag party.

The venue was superb. It was tucked away in the beautiful town of Nethy Bridge. The local shop, pub (within the hotel) and Butchers were all within a minutes walk.

As we arrived, our group was very happy with our accommodation. There was a well kitted out kitchen and dinning area. Outside was a half drum BBQ and log burner, which we utilised to good effect. The bunk beds were ideal for a group of stags and the overall feel of the station was great. It was very quirky and cool. We were able to spend the first night having a BBQ and drinking from the keg of beer (cairngorm brewery) that was on tap thanks to Richard setting it up for our arrival. Later on we went across the road to the bar in Nethy Hotel and had some more drinks. There was a pool table, 2 snooker tables and we were made to feel welcome.

The second day we went to Craggon Outdoors for clay pigeon shooting and gorge walking. Again we were well looked after by the guys there and it was a great crack. The gorge walking was a lot better than we thought. It was great banter and I would highly recommend it. In the nighttime we travelled into Aviemore via Taxi. I would avoid Strachans mini bus hire thanks to a man with no personality who tried to charge us the earth. We had a good meal at the Royal Trandoori Indian restaurant before heading in a few pubs and finishing with a dance at the winking owl nightclub. It was a great weekend.

Throughout our stay at Nehty station and prior to it, the owners Richard and Patricia could not have done more to make us feel welcome. Nothing was a problem or to much hassle. As everyone knows stag party's can be a bit rowdy. As for the price at £12.50 per night a head, I think that is exceptionally priced. You have the all of the station (26 beds) as long as you pay for a minimum of 8 people.

Our thanks to Richard and Patricia and I would highly recommend them and Nethy Station if you are heading that way.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gavin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbernethyBunkhouses, Owner at Abernethy Bunkhouses, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2011

Thanks Gavin

I am always worried that our guests raise expectations for others but I am so glad that you enjoyed yourselves.

It is quirky, a bit old and jaded but you are right, it is ideal for stags, scouts and university groups who just want to chill without worrying about their effect on other guests!

So thanks for taking the time to write about us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Everything was great and the service was tailored for our group. The accomodation and rooms were great for our needs and the location was ideal for access to the Cairngorms. Pity about the weather. I'd like to thank Richard and Patricia for a great stay. Only minor detail was the drying room and showers being cool at times but all in all i'd advise anyone looking for location, great hospitality and a great spot to get away from it all, to book now !

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charliegoldwyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbernethyBunkhouses, Owner at Abernethy Bunkhouses, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2011

Many thanks Charlie for taking the time to review Nethy Station.
I must apologise for the drying room being cool at times. We shall investigate that and thanks for bringing it to our attention. We pride ourselves on our drying rooms, I think the one at Abernethy Bunkhouses - Nethy House may be the biggest there is! Therefore it is important that we get it right. Thank you. See you again another time I hope. Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We used Abernethy Station Bunkhouse as a 'Rest Stop' during our WolfTrek walking event from Forres to Cairngorm Mountain. The facilities were perfect to service our weary walkers and the location provided great access to Abernethy Forest and the Cairngorms. The friendly owners are a fountain or knowledge and made everything very easy for us!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We - 52 German students and four teachers - were hosted by Patricia and Richard Eccles in Nethy House. The trip was perfect for our school group. The itniery Richard developed for us was perfect for kids of that age group. Nethy House gave the kids plenty to do and the surrounding area offered a great variety of outdoor activities. Our hosts made the trip a real experience for the kids and the kids were able to gain a lot of insight on different topics - a very, very good school trip and an easy location to handle for teachers! We will be back - I'm sure!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeyS76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbernethyBunkhouses, Owner at Abernethy Bunkhouses, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2011

Thank you for your kind comments Steffen. It is nice to know that Richard's advice is appreciated. He has been doing this for a long time and can often plan trips in the Highlands that can save money, time and hours in a bus!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nethy Bridge
0.1 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
574 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
3.7 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
263 reviews
2.7 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
556 reviews
2.6 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abernethy Bunkhouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abernethy Bunkhouses

Address: Station Road, Nethy Bridge PH25 3DS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Nethy Bridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Nethy Bridge
Price Range: £11 - £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Abernethy Bunkhouses 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two bunkhouses in the Cairngorms National Park offering a budget alternative to renting a castle or lodge. Exclusive Use only but you will only pay for the beds that you fill (subject to a minimum!)You can book any length of time and it is perfect place for that family get-together, student trip, scout activity week, reunion weekend, stag or hen weekend. There are so many activities nearby – come and see for yourself. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abernethy Bunkhouses Nethy Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing