We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended”
Review of Nethybridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nethybridge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nethy Bridge
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. In it's favour, the hotel had beds, hot water for a shower and provided breakfast and beer in the evening. Unfortunately the following mean that it is not recommended:
1. the shower had so little water pressure that you had to run around to get wet.
2. the staff at breakfast would have graced Fawlty Towers with distinction and given Manuel a lesson or 2 in how not to understand your customer
3. the staff in the bar were no better
4. the whole hotel has not had a re-fit since before I was born and is in need of something fast
5. the rates were what I would expect to pay after a re-fit and not before.

Unfortunately I will not be back unless the owners get some work done.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnniebalfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

498 - 504 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2011

had been to this hotel before(at least three years ago) and was at a loss to describe what a difference had happened here food was not as good and hotel in general had a poor feel to it entertainment was poor and ballroom looked like a nissan hut ceilng tiles dirty and falling off in places paintwork had seen better days and bar was poorly stocked and dull and light fitting missing will not go again

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tatterjack41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We had no booking but found a room anyway. A traditional hotel, with all the services of a hotel, at a very reasonable price, in the middle of nowhere. My son received a 50% discount, despite the fact that he shares the room with only one adult. Dinner (3 courses) was only at a supplement of 10 GBP per person. Receptionists very friendly and helpful. High quality food. Manager very pleasant. Room large and very well furnished (including a desk and a chair). Large and comfortable beds. Special feature: the ironing board for trousers. Bus tours stop here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deomon57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Please take my advice, don't ruin your trip by coming here the building is almost derelict and it smells just about everywhere. This place is a complete embarrassment and should be knocked down to make way for something better. I convinced myself of the "faded grandeur" description that this hotel might be okay... but I got that wrong! Don't make the same mistake as me. Like the hotel the battleaxe that supervises the restaurant should be avoided. The place hasn't seen a lick of paint since the 50's and even then they painted the windows shut. The place seems to rely on bus trips to survive. the best thing about the hotel is the little garden across the road from it. Everything under it's roof is tatty in the extreme. The place is reminiscent of a homeless shelter. In an emergency a night in this place would be worth £20 in my opinion - including breakfast.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulheneghan_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We booked a weekend package of a single and double room which included a free ticket for the Strathspey railway and as previously found it excellent value for money. Good sized rooms including the single, which was actually a twin room. Very friendly and helpful staff and a good choice on the set menu each evening. Although there is not much at Nethy Bridge itself this is an excellent base for exploring the area. We shall certainly visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

The hotel was very comfortable and clean. The staff were extremely helpful. We're planning booking again in the next few months.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jasonc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

I do wonder if the good reviews for this hotel on this site are genuine??
The Nethybridge hotel has food to die by - if you like your scampi dished up with potato balls from a freezer bag with red cabbage and carrots you'll be happy here! If you like furry scum round your bath you'll feel at home! Perhaps you like having your kettle on the floor to boil it because the lead's too short. The maid very kindly leaves your window wide open to allow anyone to come in through the fire escape and help themselves to your belongings - but dont worry, when you complain the manager explains that he leaves his car keys in his car and its never been stolen! If you enjoy a slice of gravy over your cold singular slice of meat - the Nethybridge oblige at every evening meal. You can't have a pot of coffee on your table at breakfast because joining the rugby scrum over the single pot on the cerial table gives you your early morning exercise and the manager explained that it had been done like that for the last twenty years without any complaints! Need i say more?

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mina2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nethy Bridge
4.4 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
688 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,335 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
921 reviews
6.0 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
265 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nethybridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nethybridge Hotel

Address: Main Street, Nethy Bridge PH25 3DP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Nethy Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nethy Bridge
Price Range: £65 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nethybridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nethybridge Hotel hotel is a splendid Victorian building nestled in the Cairngorm Mountains. All rooms have en suite bathrooms, hairdryer, television, telephone and tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel benefits from a lift to all floors. WiFi is free in all Public Areas as well as in Superior Room and all rooms when booking direct with the hotel. Guests arriving by car can take advantage of the free onsite car park. The beautiful gardens are the ideal place to relax in. The games room is available whatever the weather. The Abernethy Restaurant specialises in Scottish dishes using fresh produce. There is a selection of fine wines available to accompany each meal. The bar and lounge has a bar snack menu and a selection of Scottish whiskies. The nearby River Spey is filled with salmon making it a perfect location for angling enthusiasts. The Cairngorn Mountains are often snow covered making skiing possible. The Strathspey Steam Railway is also worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Nethybridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nethybridge Hotel Nethy Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing