We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“do not stay here”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Nethybridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nethybridge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nethy Bridge
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“do not stay here”
Reviewed 12 August 2011

The bath had some kind of scum on the bottom as a result of which we did not use it. The shower was adequate but the surrounds were terrible; the paint was peeling and there was mould on the surroundings. The bedroom chair was half broken and so stained that we did not want to sit on it. The food was poor and spolied further spoiled by the rude, inappropriate comments of the head waiter(?manager) and the sloppiness of the rest of the staff. The room in which we were drank coffee was a delapidated dance room which had dirty, sticky tables and ceiling tiles that were in a state of disrepair. All this is such a pity as the location is good but really at present the establishment is not fit for purpose.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ynysmOn_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    189
    90
    56
    48
See reviews for
109
221
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. In it's favour, the hotel had beds, hot water for a shower and provided breakfast and beer in the evening. Unfortunately the following mean that it is not recommended:
1. the shower had so little water pressure that you had to run around to get wet.
2. the staff at breakfast would have graced Fawlty Towers with distinction and given Manuel a lesson or 2 in how not to understand your customer
3. the staff in the bar were no better
4. the whole hotel has not had a re-fit since before I was born and is in need of something fast
5. the rates were what I would expect to pay after a re-fit and not before.

Unfortunately I will not be back unless the owners get some work done.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnniebalfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nethy Bridge hotels

Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

had been to this hotel before(at least three years ago) and was at a loss to describe what a difference had happened here food was not as good and hotel in general had a poor feel to it entertainment was poor and ballroom looked like a nissan hut ceilng tiles dirty and falling off in places paintwork had seen better days and bar was poorly stocked and dull and light fitting missing will not go again

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tatterjack41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We had no booking but found a room anyway. A traditional hotel, with all the services of a hotel, at a very reasonable price, in the middle of nowhere. My son received a 50% discount, despite the fact that he shares the room with only one adult. Dinner (3 courses) was only at a supplement of 10 GBP per person. Receptionists very friendly and helpful. High quality food. Manager very pleasant. Room large and very well furnished (including a desk and a chair). Large and comfortable beds. Special feature: the ironing board for trousers. Bus tours stop here.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deomon57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Please take my advice, don't ruin your trip by coming here the building is almost derelict and it smells just about everywhere. This place is a complete embarrassment and should be knocked down to make way for something better. I convinced myself of the "faded grandeur" description that this hotel might be okay... but I got that wrong! Don't make the same mistake as me. Like the hotel the battleaxe that supervises the restaurant should be avoided. The place hasn't seen a lick of paint since the 50's and even then they painted the windows shut. The place seems to rely on bus trips to survive. the best thing about the hotel is the little garden across the road from it. Everything under it's roof is tatty in the extreme. The place is reminiscent of a homeless shelter. In an emergency a night in this place would be worth £20 in my opinion - including breakfast.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulheneghan_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We booked a weekend package of a single and double room which included a free ticket for the Strathspey railway and as previously found it excellent value for money. Good sized rooms including the single, which was actually a twin room. Very friendly and helpful staff and a good choice on the set menu each evening. Although there is not much at Nethy Bridge itself this is an excellent base for exploring the area. We shall certainly visit again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

The hotel was very comfortable and clean. The staff were extremely helpful. We're planning booking again in the next few months.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jasonc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nethy Bridge
2.6 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
3.8 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,214 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
626 reviews
2.8 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
478 reviews
6.0 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nethybridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nethybridge Hotel

Property: Nethybridge Hotel
Address: Main Street, Nethy Bridge PH25 3DP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Nethy Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nethy Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Nethybridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nethybridge Hotel hotel is a splendid Victorian building nestled in the Cairngorm Mountains. All rooms have en suite bathrooms, hairdryer, television, telephone and tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel benefits from a lift to all floors. WiFi is free in all Public Areas as well as in Superior Room and all rooms when booking direct with the hotel. Guests arriving by car can take advantage of the free onsite car park. The beautiful gardens are the ideal place to relax in. The games room is available whatever the weather. The Abernethy Restaurant specialises in Scottish dishes using fresh produce. There is a selection of fine wines available to accompany each meal. The bar and lounge has a bar snack menu and a selection of Scottish whiskies. The nearby River Spey is filled with salmon making it a perfect location for angling enthusiasts. The Cairngorn Mountains are often snow covered making skiing possible. The Strathspey Steam Railway is also worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nethybridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nethybridge Hotel Nethy Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing