We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“turkey and tinsel”
Review of Nethybridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nethybridge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nethy Bridge
GreenLeadersBronze level
Selkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“turkey and tinsel”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

This is our 4th time at nethybridge 4days db/b plus entertainment as well our room was neat and tidy clean towels everyday heating on all day and night had to turn radiators off at night the staff are very friendly and helpful breakfast was what ever you ordered you ate meals in the evening was very good too. sean the barman was friendly and very chatty will be back here we love the old style and decor much nicier than your premier lodges

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 007kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    196
    98
    57
    49
See reviews for
110
234
28
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

I planned to stay in this hotel prior to a friends wedding in Aviemore. My partner and I arrived with apprehension, having glimpsed the tired facade of this hotel. We had booked through Booking.com and had ben led to belive that the hotel was 3*, this was a very energetic stretch of the imagination.
Once we had checked in to the reception (littered with helpful handmade signs, in an array of microsoft fonts and colour a la someone who has newly discovered fonts and colours, all cheerfully dog-eared and stained), we headed for our room. The bed just about fitted in, with its sad, threadbare tartan bed spread, but it was touching 3 walls, and required gymnastics to reach the bathroom.
There were chips out of the bath, and a ring left by a previous bather, not even the handy bowl-side telephone or built in speakers, could improve on the disaster of a window-less bathroom.
The table lamp, that greedily occupied the whole table was stained beyond comprehension, people had been smoking recently in the room, given away by the tell-tale ou du cancer and fag butts in the gutters outside the single glazed window.
I couldn't stay. Was it the crumblin water damaged ceiling? the peeling wallpaper? scuffed walls and inumerous stains? We will never know.
When I approached reception and its professional signage for the second tie within 5 minutes, the rude lady behind the desk did not even bat an eye as I handed back my key and simply stated that I wouldn't stay. She did tell me that all the rooms are the same, I'm not sure what she hoped to achieve by this comment.
Simply put this hotel was mis-sold. Like asking for a sirloin and getting doner meat.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank L0lli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nethy Bridge hotels

Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Yes, Okay, the hotel is a little tired and it's been a long time since I saw a lift with the gates that you have to close manually but it hits the mark in terms of it's target market. I was in a party of 8 blokes staying 2 nights for a golf break. Other guests appeared to include coach trippers and a car club so apart from my group there was no one visibly under pensionable age.
Twin rooms were a good size and beds very comfortable. Bathroom, with shower over bath, was spacious and clean.
The food was of a reasonably good standard for the price and the numbers of people the hotel had to cater for. There were some serious "eaters" in my group and they didn't complain! We weren't there for the cuisine to be honest. Drinks were reasonably priced as well.
So it's not the most luxurious place you will ever stay in but it does the job and the staff were friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SonoftheDesert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
327 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I stayed one night with group of 66 from Indonesia. We received warm welcome and very helpful reception. A good place to experience "Scot" style village accommodation. Personally I love the silent in the evening...so quite.... and its amazing for me who came from a big noisy city : )

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregorius S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed at Nethy Bridge during the Abernethy Highland games weekend of 12 August.
Stayed in Room 223 facing the beautiful gardens at the front.
Room was warm,clean with fresh laundry as and when required.Excellent breakfast and 3 course meal with tea and coffee every evening.This cost us the grand sum of £129 per adult and £62 per child for three nights.Excellent value as far as I am concerned.
To the reviewers who are giving poor reviews I would say what on earth are you looking for giving the money you are paying.Go elsewhere in Scotland and you will pay three times this much and not have half the time you will have at the Nethy Bridge.
We have stayed here at various seasons during the years and have never been disappointed and I can assure you we are very, very fussy.
If you want to be well looked after and have a relaxing hoilday in beautiful surroundings then come here.If not then go elsewhere and leave it to the people who enjoy it and come back time and time again!
Also dogs are welcome at the hotel.we have a dog and take her with us.Dogs are not allowed in any of the public rooms and this is adhered to.I dont really understand if people have dog allergies then the would come to a hotel where dogs are welcome!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kittenface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carnoustie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

the room was what we booked .everything was as stated the food was very good. it is also a good location for days out in the area .

Room Tip: upgrade to club rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edzell
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Tired, rundown and so needing upgrading. Paid for dinner, bed and breakfast, the dinner was okay if you like 70's style food (prawn cocktail, black forest gateau and the like), breakfast fine, coffee awful. The bed was dreadful, complained, changed rooms, the next one was slightly better. When we arrived there was no water as the main was burst, when I asked if any provision had been made for the rooms I was told there was water for sale in the bar, can't say this ticked my customer service button. Overall the staff were pleasant and friendly, the hotle was reasonably clean but there gets to a stage that fabrics are so old they smell. My daughter was perplexed by the curved screen TV as she had never seen one before, nearly antique. Fire alarm sounded twice on our second night with no apology. Very dog friendly which is great if you are not allergic to animal hair which my family are, so no ticks for that either. I was also disappointed on observing how International customers were treated. There was a lack of explaination of how things worked, not everyone speaks perfect English and a little bit of extra time may have to be spent with these guests to assist them. I work in the Tourist industry and was generally horrified that this was the image of Scotland. The Hotel is busy, so why no investment? Tips - Do visit Nethy Bridge as it is beautiful and the locals lovely.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nethy Bridge
4.4 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
648 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,253 reviews
2.6 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
6.0 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
235 reviews
2.8 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nethybridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nethybridge Hotel

Property: Nethybridge Hotel
Address: Main Street, Nethy Bridge PH25 3DP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Nethy Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nethy Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Nethybridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nethybridge Hotel hotel is a splendid Victorian building nestled in the Cairngorm Mountains. All rooms have en suite bathrooms, hairdryer, television, telephone and tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel benefits from a lift to all floors. WiFi is free in all Public Areas as well as in Superior Room and all rooms when booking direct with the hotel. Guests arriving by car can take advantage of the free onsite car park. The beautiful gardens are the ideal place to relax in. The games room is available whatever the weather. The Abernethy Restaurant specialises in Scottish dishes using fresh produce. There is a selection of fine wines available to accompany each meal. The bar and lounge has a bar snack menu and a selection of Scottish whiskies. The nearby River Spey is filled with salmon making it a perfect location for angling enthusiasts. The Cairngorn Mountains are often snow covered making skiing possible. The Strathspey Steam Railway is also worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Nethybridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nethybridge Hotel Nethy Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing