We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food appalling”
Review of Nethybridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nethybridge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nethy Bridge
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Food appalling”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We decided to eat at the Nethy Bridge hotel as we are staying nearby and couldn't believe just how bad the food was. The mains (especially the Turkey 'roast') were worse than school dinner quality. The turkey was served sliced on a bed of tar-like gravy and the accompanying vegetables tasted like they had been served several hours ago and been shrivelled on a hot plate. It's a shame because the building and location are beautiful, it's just in need of some serious TLC

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WithoutWings11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    191
    93
    57
    48
See reviews for
110
227
27
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Myself and work colleague booked this hotel as it was near to where we were working. On our arrival at reception after a busy day working a man who appeared to be the manager began insulting us and thought this was a great joke and we would find this funny. We did not and basically though he was very unprofessional.

Once we managed to eventually get checked in and made our way to our rooms our hearts sank at the shabby state of this hotel. The corridor smelled like dampness or something and the walls were cracked with wallpaper pealing etc.

Although my bed was clean enough the room was run down and I have not seen a bathroom in a hotel in such need of upgrading. My colleagues room was in a even worse state than mine and frankly tuned my stomach.

TV's are as old as the mountains surrounding the hotel and shower in the rooms I seen did not work very well.

Sound proofing was terrible as I could here the person next door snoring very loudly all night long keeping me awake.

I had booked this hotel for 3 nights but after the first night we checked out and went to another hotel which met our standards.

My advice if you have any standards don't waste your money on this hotel as its the worst I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graeme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nethy Bridge hotels

Blackburn, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We have just returned after a weeks holiday at my our favourite hotel.This was our 18th visit we cannot understand the adverse comments as we have always found the hotel first class.The staff are so helpful the food is excellent the rooms comfortable. As a family we love Nethy Bridge and so do our friends we have taken with us.The hotel does need a little tlc but it must never lose its character. The clan Forsyth will be there again in November 20 of us hoping to renew old friendships with people we have met over the last 17years.The Forsyths

Room Tip: Try to book a room at the front of the hotel as views are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Booked 2 nights here online as part of our tour of Scotland, as we entered the ghost town where it's situated, my wife and I looked at each in disbelief, so we checked in hoping it would surprise us, it certainly did surprise us, the accommodation is run down and desperately needs a cleaning, our room (room 105) was horrific, the sash window was broken and wouldn't lock, peeling wallpaper, a tv from the 1980s I could go on.
We was only there an hour before changing our booking to 1 night, glad to escape this place

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ednacreach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

We booked a one night B&B here which was expensive, but little else was available for a family room at short notice in August. The room was lovely with a nice view over the gardens - a great family room for kids and parents. Food was good, including a bar supper which was served quite quickly. The hotel was full and we noticed the service slow up for others as the restaurant filed up and evidence of understaffing (stressed staff) became apparent. A few niggles and a lack of basic maintenance let down this hotel and why on earth do hotels carpet bathrooms?..very faint but unpleasant odour which could easily be solved by tiling the floor. Overall we would not pay the price we paid to stay again, but it would be ok with a deal. The Landmark Adventure Park is not far and a great day out with kids.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank wuzil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We booked trusting Tripadvisor's rate. However, this is pretty overrated. The premises have caracter and no much else. No good value for money. Awful restaurant. Also the location is pretty uninteresting.

Room Tip: Go to Aviemore instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank merphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed for 5 nights recently, during the heat wave. The value of obtaining 5 days dinner, bed & breakfast for £236 was remarkably good. The cleanliness was perfect, so was the breakfast with its "help yourself to as much as you like" for the many things on offer. The staff were most helpful & quick to respond to requests, such as asking that our curtains be drawn across so that there was less of a greenhouse effect later on. Coaches stop here - I can see why! - with the inevitable large numbers which at times cause a bit of queueing for food & for after-dinner coffee, but I would stay here again like a shot!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 370Robert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nethy Bridge
2.6 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
4.4 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
2.8 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
6.0 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nethybridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nethybridge Hotel

Property: Nethybridge Hotel
Address: Main Street, Nethy Bridge PH25 3DP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Nethy Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nethy Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Nethybridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nethybridge Hotel hotel is a splendid Victorian building nestled in the Cairngorm Mountains. All rooms have en suite bathrooms, hairdryer, television, telephone and tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel benefits from a lift to all floors. WiFi is free in all Public Areas as well as in Superior Room and all rooms when booking direct with the hotel. Guests arriving by car can take advantage of the free onsite car park. The beautiful gardens are the ideal place to relax in. The games room is available whatever the weather. The Abernethy Restaurant specialises in Scottish dishes using fresh produce. There is a selection of fine wines available to accompany each meal. The bar and lounge has a bar snack menu and a selection of Scottish whiskies. The nearby River Spey is filled with salmon making it a perfect location for angling enthusiasts. The Cairngorn Mountains are often snow covered making skiing possible. The Strathspey Steam Railway is also worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nethybridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nethybridge Hotel Nethy Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing