We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Hotel, Appalling Stay”
Review of Nethybridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nethybridge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nethy Bridge
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Grand Hotel, Appalling Stay”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We were won over with the look of the place from the outside - grand hotel in a small Scottish village - we thought we'd found a great hotel at a bargain price.
The problem is once you go inside this place you realise it's not been looked after for many many years.

Room issues:
- Hallway light did not work (had to find bedroom in the dark)
- No lock on the inside of door of room (just had to hope they didn't accidentally walk in on us!)
- All the carpets in room and hallways were really past it - looked like they hadn't been cleaned in years.
- The TV was at least 25 years old, a big style TV that only got snow filled pictures.
- Room was freezing, just had one electric heater in the corner of the room, no central heating or aircon.

We also paid £21.99 each for a three course meal at the very grand restaurant. This was a huge mistake! The grand restaurant also doubles up as a side entrance to the pub, so we got to sit and watch as people wandered through the restaurant going to/from the pub.
The food was also terrible, I ordered the roast lamb, however what arrived was a few slices of meat covered thick in a brown sauce. The desert of apple pie was clearly shop bought and all the starters seemed to be deep fried.

We then went down for breakfast at 8am the next day, on a Sunday, where breakfast is only served between 8am - 9.30am and had to wait as the food was not yet ready for 15 mins. We were told that we had already been allocated a table (everyone must sit at the same table always!) so we could not choose one by the window even though the hallway was near empty.

Overall a really disappointing stay. The staff were friendly, but you got a sense they were not aware of how bad the place was, and they were not being told to carry out the basic check you would expect in a hotel (lights work, carpets are clean etc.)

Room Tip: Make sure it's not near the pub - this has music until late and will stop you sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luke123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona S, Public Relations Manager at Nethybridge Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for posting a review and we are very disappointed that you did not have an enjoyable stay. We are unsure why the hallway light was off but, as is sometimes the case, a guest or child has most likely accidentally switched it off. We do carry out regular checks but we also have to rely on guests informing us when things like this happen. Whilst we are aware that some bedrooms and corridors are in need of upgrading (as we are doing at the moment) I can assure you that we do take cleanliness very seriously and all areas of the hotel are cleaned daily. All bedroom doors have locks that can be locked from both the outside and inside and we are expecting a delivery of new flat screen TV's in the very near future. I am sorry you did not enjoy dinner with us and unfortunately it is very difficult to stop people going to the bar via the hotel dining room but this does not normally cause our guests any problems. I am pleased you noted our friendly staff and, as such, we only wish you had mentioned your concerns and problems during your stay as we would have done our utmost to fix them. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    203
    101
    59
    50
See reviews for
114
242
29
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grangemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed a couple of nights in the Nethybridge Hotel for £25/night including a full Scottish breakfast.
The building is impressive from the outside and clean and tidy on the inside, albeit a little dated (full of character you might say). Staff were friendly and helpful as were the locals in the bar, great atmosphere and great bar food.

20 minutes to Cairngorm/Aviemore and 45 minutes to The Lecht for snowboarding or mountain biking. Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona S, Public Relations Manager at Nethybridge Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you Colin for your delightful review and we are so pleased to chose us as your base for your snowboarding trip and took advantage of our great £25pppn B&B Feb/Mar offer. We are pleased to note you enjoyed the bar food and atmosphere and we look forward to your return visit. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Just spent 2days B&B followed by 4day DBB whisky warmer at the Nethybridge hotel. It was excellent. This hotel has real fires, clean and warm rooms, good food, friendly staff, and an excellent host. I would stay again anytime. This hotel has character which makes for a good stay and tends to be missing in some new hotels.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. If you want a view get one over looking the garden. But why spend too long in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GGHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona S, Public Relations Manager at Nethybridge Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to send in such a complimentary review about your recent long stay with us. I was so pleased you enjoyed the food and your room and chose to highlight the character of the hotel (and the host!). We are so proud of the building as it is due to this that you get such lovely features like the real fires – ideal in the winter months!

Thank you for choosing use for your winter break and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

As soon as my group of five friends arrived through the revolving door into the main restaurant, the hotel manager ushered us back out the same door we had just came through. Without asking us what we were in for, he explained that the set menu in the restaurant was out of our price range at £22. He then helpfully pointed us back outside to the bar.
In the bar we were greeted by a lady behind the bar who - tragically - was unable to smile. After taking drinks orders, which we had to collect from the bar ourselves, she took our food order. Feeling like chastised children, we made our mumbled orders and tried to relax in the overly-warm and otherwise empty bar.
The food arrived promptly and without a smile.
Myself and the rest of the group all agreed that the food itself was good value and tasty. The menu was somewhat limited, general pub grub, but fair sized portions.
We chatted to a young chap behind the bar who told us how terrible he was at his job and how he didn't know how to work the till. He was nice, though he did swear a lot.
Thanks to a miracle of modern science, Mrs Permanent Scowl was cured of her affliction and did seem to cheer a bit about halfway through the meal. She got warmer as the food got colder and she collected the plates away with a blink-and-you'd-miss-it smile.
After the mains, some of us had desserts. A request to substitute ice-cream for custard was met by a blank, "no", from our newly cured waitress. I had a coffee which was made fresh by a machine and brought over to my table also by a machine. That last part is pure conjecture, but I can't blame a robot for not smiling.
The decor in the hotel was somewhat outdated, not so much in a charming way, but in a "that wallpaper was fine for 1976, a classic never dies."
Since we had the sheer brass neck to request for the bill to be split into 4 and the aformentioned young chap behind the bar had no idea how to use the till, we waited for some time while he hand-wrote us a receipt which we neither wanted nor asked for. He did have very nice handwriting though. We were then asked to individually go up to the bar, rhyme off what we had just consumed and pay. Due to a genuine error on my part, my friend ended up getting a free sticky toffee pudding, so the already very affordable meal, became even better value.

All in all, I would highly recommend this place to anyone within a fifty mile radius. The service was awful, the staff were rude, the food was tasty and cheap and the decor outdated.

Hilarious.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona S, Public Relations Manager at Nethybridge Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Upon speaking to the Manager and staff on duty, it is my understanding you did advise the manager that you and your group were looking for something to eat and were offered the choice of a Restaurant meal at £21.95 or a Bar meal ranging from £5.50 per person and you elected to take a bar meal. Yes the menu in the Bar is more limited than in the Restaurant but we are proud to offer traditional ‘pub grub’ and I am glad you found it tasty and good value.

Regarding your bill, unfortunately our till is unable to split bills after all the meals and drinks have been put through the system but it could have been done had this been requested at the onset. The barman was able to do this though manually for your party and of course, in order to do this, he needed to know what members of your group were paying for what and a receipt is standard practice with all goods and services that are purchased.

I do sincerely apologise though if you felt the staff were rude and the service awful. This will be investigated more fully to see what happened on the day as your account is very unusual - the two employees you mentioned are normally very highly praised.

I am pleased though that you found the food tasty and would still highly recommend us.

With kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Took a weekend break at the Nethy Bridge and loved it. Staff were excellent the hotel was lovely and warm and we had a terrific room. The food was good and wholesome. I would recommend this hotel too anyone looking for a pleasant stay in the central highlands as it punches well above its weight.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona S, Public Relations Manager at Nethybridge Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you so much for such a superb review Janet.

I am so pleased to hear your praise for the Nethybridge Hotel, the staff, your room, and the food - all the factors we recognise that should be great in order to make our guests breaks enjoyable.

We hope to see you again soon and thank you for the recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

A building full of character, but with horrendously draughty old sash windows. It was exceedingly good value for money, and was full of families at the week-end using the local skiing facilities. The buffet breakfasts provided plenty and varied food - "full Scottish" and "continental". The bar meal "soup & sandwich" was great, but their fish & chips a bit tasteless. I enjoyed my 3 nights there, and would go again.

Room Tip: I could not get the antique lift to function, so if you have a lot of heavy luggage, try to avoid th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona S, Public Relations Manager at Nethybridge Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Many thanks for taking a few minutes to post some nice words about your recent stay. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your breakfasts and bar meal. Apologies if you found the windows draughty and we would appreciate it if you could contact us directly and let us know what room you stayed in so we can take a look.

The atmosphere in the hotel is great at the moment as ski-season is in full swing! We welcome all guests though, regardless of the reason for their stay, and we are glad you chose us and hopefully we will see you again soon.

Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Lots of people on here have been very critical (and rude) about the Nethybridge Hotel. I've been coming here for years and find it always invites me back.
It is terrific value for money, clean, warm and comfortable.
The down sides are that it is a bit dated and could do with a facelift, but this is an old traditional Scottish hotel, what do you expect?
The waiting staff could do with some patience and training (and of course, the Manager is unique), but there is always a roaring fire, decent food, clean rooms and they do their very best to keep you entertained.
Try it!
Wifi can only be accessed from the reception or lounge area. Can't get it in bedrooms etc. Needs sorted!

Room Tip: Have been in several different rooms over the years and they are all much alike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennaEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona S, Public Relations Manager at Nethybridge Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
What a lovely review. Thank you for taking the time to write this and for posting your positive experiences.

We are so pleased to hear you have been coming to the Hotel for many years and yes, we do try and keep our guests well-fed and entertained in good clean surroundings.

As you rightly point out some renovations are required, and whilst we have improved many rooms and public areas over the past few years, there is still much to do in this lovely old building. We can only do this though as budgets permit and therefore unfortunately certain other improvements will have to wait just a wee bit longer such as Wifi in the bedrooms.

Be assured though, we are constantly working to improve the hotel and look after it.

Thank you again though for your lovely post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nethy Bridge
4.4 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
670 reviews
6.0 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
251 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,285 reviews
2.8 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
532 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nethybridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nethybridge Hotel

Property: Nethybridge Hotel
Address: Main Street, Nethy Bridge PH25 3DP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Nethy Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nethy Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Nethybridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nethybridge Hotel hotel is a splendid Victorian building nestled in the Cairngorm Mountains. All rooms have en suite bathrooms, hairdryer, television, telephone and tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel benefits from a lift to all floors. WiFi is free in all Public Areas as well as in Superior Room and all rooms when booking direct with the hotel. Guests arriving by car can take advantage of the free onsite car park. The beautiful gardens are the ideal place to relax in. The games room is available whatever the weather. The Abernethy Restaurant specialises in Scottish dishes using fresh produce. There is a selection of fine wines available to accompany each meal. The bar and lounge has a bar snack menu and a selection of Scottish whiskies. The nearby River Spey is filled with salmon making it a perfect location for angling enthusiasts. The Cairngorn Mountains are often snow covered making skiing possible. The Strathspey Steam Railway is also worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nethybridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nethybridge Hotel Nethy Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing