We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome, average rooms / food”
Review of Nethybridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nethybridge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nethy Bridge
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed here on the second night of our tour of Scotland. Received a very warm welcome from all the staff and the front of the building is very imposing and impressive. Rooms are a bit tired and functional and wifi only worked downstairs in the lobby / lounge area. The evening meal was ok, breakfast average.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise H, Director of Sales at Nethybridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay with us. Feedback is very important to us and we take all your points on board, good and not so good. I hope you had a nice tour of Scotland and you will stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 590 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

Hotel built in 1899, you can feel that there is a lot of history, this is the only good thing about this hotel.

negative points : food absolutely horrible, I never ate such bad food for a very expensive price, the restaurant wall was dirty. We had 2 cup of coffee in the salon, we paid 25€ !!!

This is the kind of hotel when you checked out you really feel being ripped off.

Room Tip: rooms are really old
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthonydean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise H, Director of Sales at Nethybridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for posting your recent review but I must say we are all a bit confused by the high costs you are quoting. A tea/coffee in the hotel costs only £2 or 2.4 Euros and our Bar and Restaurant food is very competitively priced. If you were incorrectly charged 25 Euros for 2 coffees, could you please send us your details with a copy of your receipt and we will of course refund you? With kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We really loved this hotel, one of the best we stayed at on our road trip. Huge rooms, rambling corridors, old-fashioned decor, lashings of personality and charm. Everyone was friendly and helpful, and the beds were lovely. A treat for us that we had a separate room for the twin beds and loads of space.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dorothy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise H, Director of Sales at Nethybridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Dorothy, thank you for taking the time to post some very kind words about your recent stay. You sound well-travelled and therefore we are very pleased to have rated so highly on your trip. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope we can welcome you back again soon. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The first impression of this hotel is an old, possibly run-down building but inside it was far from this. Our room was modern and clean and the bathroom looked new. The restaurant was good and service good and fast. The large lounge where coffee was served after dinner was comfortable. All staff were friendly and helpful. The price on our 4-day break was extremely good value. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise H, Director of Sales at Nethybridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for posting such a lovely review of your stay and I am so pleased you noted, and were able to enjoy, one of our many recently refurbished bedrooms and bathrooms. We do state that we are spending money on refurbishments but sometimes this is not believed until a fellow guests notes this - so thank you. We cannot wait to welcome you back again in the near future. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Went to this hotel for a meal as the Boat Hotel was fully booked.
Very tired looking hotel. Waiter needs to visit a dentist ...not a good look for front of house staff
Asked for water for the table and received a pint glass full of water!! not the waitress's fault obv. no training. Food was reasonably priced and edible . Was not asked if we wanted a sweet/coffee/or another wine .

Room Tip: Only ate here one night so cannot comment on rooms but would not reccomend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise H, Director of Sales at Nethybridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for posting a review and I am sorry to hear you did not receive an acceptable level of service on your visit. I can assure you we review all comments to see where we can improve however I cannot condone unnecessary personal comments being made about our employees. I do hope you will try us again in the future when I am sure you will experience the level of service and kind hospitality our hotel strives for. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Staff at this hotel are wonderful ,from reception to waiters ,cleaners. etc all are very pleasant and can't do enough for you .dogs are very welcome at this hotel seems all staff are dog lovers too and make a fuss of all the dogs that come through the door .It is an old hotel but very clean ,the surrounding area is fab for walkers ,lovely scenery .

Room Tip: Ask for front facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eleanor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona S, Public Relations Manager at Nethybridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for your lovely review praising our staff. We do try an ensure that all guests are made to feel special. We do welcome dogs, and just as long as we know in advance, we will always try and accommodate our canine guests. Thank you again for taking the time to post a few lines and we hope to see you again soon. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Spent a weekend here accompanying a friend who had came to the area to snowboard, we arrived late evening had a quick shower and change then downstairs for a drink before bed,the hotel has two bars,the first I thought was more suited to families with a large room a dj playing music and one or two of the guests having a go at singing themselves,after a short while we made our way through to the smaller room which had a few of the local people drinking and one or two colourful characters! Most definitely not suited for families but still very friendly people.The room I had was en suite,very spacious and clean, breakfast in the morning was very adequate traditional English breakfast with choice of continental also,the dining room was lovely and the hotel had a lot of character, the staff were always friendly and helpful.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank scowy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona S, Public Relations Manager at Nethybridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I am pleased that you found the staff friendly, room clean and breakfast excellent. These are all important aspects of a holiday and we do try our best. Once again many thanks for your "perfect" review. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nethy Bridge
3.8 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,365 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
4.4 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
827 reviews
2.8 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
424 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nethybridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nethybridge Hotel

Address: Main Street, Nethy Bridge PH25 3DP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Nethy Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nethy Bridge
Price Range: £57 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nethybridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nethybridge Hotel hotel is a splendid Victorian building nestled in the Cairngorm Mountains. All rooms have en suite bathrooms, hairdryer, television, telephone and tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel benefits from a lift to all floors. WiFi is free in all Public Areas as well as in Superior Room and all rooms when booking direct with the hotel. Guests arriving by car can take advantage of the free onsite car park. The beautiful gardens are the ideal place to relax in. The games room is available whatever the weather. The Abernethy Restaurant specialises in Scottish dishes using fresh produce. There is a selection of fine wines available to accompany each meal. The bar and lounge has a bar snack menu and a selection of Scottish whiskies. The nearby River Spey is filled with salmon making it a perfect location for angling enthusiasts. The Cairngorn Mountains are often snow covered making skiing possible. The Strathspey Steam Railway is also worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Nethybridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nethybridge Hotel Nethy Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing