We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'We're shut'...except to staff it would seem”
Review of Nethybridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nethybridge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nethy Bridge
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“'We're shut'...except to staff it would seem”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My partner and I decided to stop into the Nethybridge Hotel for a game of pool and a drink after a long day. We drove by and saw a few groups of people sat in the bar so went and parked the car. This was roughly about 10:45pm and we entered through the back door of the hotel.

After a quick trip to the bathroom we went through to the bar to get a couple of drinks. No sign of anybody serving behind the bar. I told my partner to go back through to the room where the pool tables were, and set up and I would wait at the bar for drinks. The bar area was mostly filled with loud men and women swearing and staggering about, not giving any thought to others.

After about 10 minutes a woman and man appeared through said back door, i'm assuming she was the duty manager, and said to my partner 'we're actually shut but you can have that one game then you need to go' then came back through to the bar and said to me 'We're shut!' Not the most polite way to say no to potential paying customers. Not that it bothered the woman, she didn't care by that point because it became apparent that it was time for her to pour her own drink and sit down with her half a dozen or so colleagues that were gathered in the bar also having drinks after we had been told no.

Clearly one rule for staff and another for paying customers.

I know we were late in arriving, but if you drive by a hotel and see people sat in the bar you assume they're open. And if they're not open you would expect somebody to be in the bar/lounge area to inform you of this politely.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Semawe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise H, Director of Sales at Nethybridge Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for posting about your experience at the Public Bar. Any customer should be able to receive an alcoholic drink up to 11pm. The individual concerned has now been spoken to. There is no excuse for bad practice and I, and the Manager, can only apologise for the terribly poor service you received on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    198
    99
    57
    50
See reviews for
112
236
29
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We didn't stay at the hotel - we only had a drink at the pub. Our friends and I agreed that this was the worst pub we've encountered in the UK. Despite being in a hotel that looks impressive from the outside, it smelt of urine and the tables in the bar and restaurant next door looked rather dirty. We had originally planned to eat there but were out off by the dirt, smell and also the barman whose appearance and manor were rather off putting.

We ended up eating at the Mountview hotel which is about 100m up the hill. They were pricier but were in another world there in terms of service and cleanliness. I suspect the food was way better too given the previous reviews of this place. It's a shame as this place could easily attract more trade if it was more professional and cleaner.

Judging by the amount of coach parks out the back this place relies a lot on cheap coach tours - it reminds me of that TV documentary "The Grovesnor" set in Torquay, except this place looks a lot worse.

Room Tip: Avoid the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patrick0_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise H, Director of Sales at Nethybridge Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
I am sorry to read your review/first impression report on the Public Bar at the hotel. I am surprised about the smell as the toilets are not too near the bar(s) and we have not had this problem before. We have asked maintenance to have a look for any leaks. We are aware that some refurbishment needs to take place and steps are/have being taken to improve this since your review. I do hope you will stop in again in the future. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nethy Bridge hotels

Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on the second night of our tour of Scotland. Received a very warm welcome from all the staff and the front of the building is very imposing and impressive. Rooms are a bit tired and functional and wifi only worked downstairs in the lobby / lounge area. The evening meal was ok, breakfast average.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise H, Director of Sales at Nethybridge Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay with us. Feedback is very important to us and we take all your points on board, good and not so good. I hope you had a nice tour of Scotland and you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Hotel built in 1899, you can feel that there is a lot of history, this is the only good thing about this hotel.

negative points : food absolutely horrible, I never ate such bad food for a very expensive price, the restaurant wall was dirty. We had 2 cup of coffee in the salon, we paid 25€ !!!

This is the kind of hotel when you checked out you really feel being ripped off.

Room Tip: rooms are really old
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthonydean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise H, Director of Sales at Nethybridge Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for posting your recent review but I must say we are all a bit confused by the high costs you are quoting. A tea/coffee in the hotel costs only £2 or 2.4 Euros and our Bar and Restaurant food is very competitively priced. If you were incorrectly charged 25 Euros for 2 coffees, could you please send us your details with a copy of your receipt and we will of course refund you? With kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We really loved this hotel, one of the best we stayed at on our road trip. Huge rooms, rambling corridors, old-fashioned decor, lashings of personality and charm. Everyone was friendly and helpful, and the beds were lovely. A treat for us that we had a separate room for the twin beds and loads of space.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dorothy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise H, Director of Sales at Nethybridge Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Dorothy, thank you for taking the time to post some very kind words about your recent stay. You sound well-travelled and therefore we are very pleased to have rated so highly on your trip. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope we can welcome you back again soon. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The first impression of this hotel is an old, possibly run-down building but inside it was far from this. Our room was modern and clean and the bathroom looked new. The restaurant was good and service good and fast. The large lounge where coffee was served after dinner was comfortable. All staff were friendly and helpful. The price on our 4-day break was extremely good value. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise H, Director of Sales at Nethybridge Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for posting such a lovely review of your stay and I am so pleased you noted, and were able to enjoy, one of our many recently refurbished bedrooms and bathrooms. We do state that we are spending money on refurbishments but sometimes this is not believed until a fellow guests notes this - so thank you. We cannot wait to welcome you back again in the near future. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Went to this hotel for a meal as the Boat Hotel was fully booked.
Very tired looking hotel. Waiter needs to visit a dentist ...not a good look for front of house staff
Asked for water for the table and received a pint glass full of water!! not the waitress's fault obv. no training. Food was reasonably priced and edible . Was not asked if we wanted a sweet/coffee/or another wine .

Room Tip: Only ate here one night so cannot comment on rooms but would not reccomend
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise H, Director of Sales at Nethybridge Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for posting a review and I am sorry to hear you did not receive an acceptable level of service on your visit. I can assure you we review all comments to see where we can improve however I cannot condone unnecessary personal comments being made about our employees. I do hope you will try us again in the future when I am sure you will experience the level of service and kind hospitality our hotel strives for. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nethy Bridge
4.4 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
663 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,270 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
242 reviews
2.8 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
521 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ben Mhor Hotel
Ben Mhor Hotel
#8 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nethybridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nethybridge Hotel

Property: Nethybridge Hotel
Address: Main Street, Nethy Bridge PH25 3DP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Nethy Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nethy Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Nethybridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nethybridge Hotel hotel is a splendid Victorian building nestled in the Cairngorm Mountains. All rooms have en suite bathrooms, hairdryer, television, telephone and tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel benefits from a lift to all floors. WiFi is free in all Public Areas as well as in Superior Room and all rooms when booking direct with the hotel. Guests arriving by car can take advantage of the free onsite car park. The beautiful gardens are the ideal place to relax in. The games room is available whatever the weather. The Abernethy Restaurant specialises in Scottish dishes using fresh produce. There is a selection of fine wines available to accompany each meal. The bar and lounge has a bar snack menu and a selection of Scottish whiskies. The nearby River Spey is filled with salmon making it a perfect location for angling enthusiasts. The Cairngorn Mountains are often snow covered making skiing possible. The Strathspey Steam Railway is also worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Nethybridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nethybridge Hotel Nethy Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing