We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience in this old but delightful hotel.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nethybridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nethybridge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nethy Bridge
GreenLeadersBronze level
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience in this old but delightful hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Great welcome at his hotel . The children and their dog were made most welcome and the adults appreciated the service and relaxed atmosphere. The staff being long term and local were there because they enjoyed their work and their relationship with the Manager appeared to be one of mutual respect..

We most certainly will return.

Room Tip: Excellent view from rooms at the front of the hotel. Room 24 was excellent for a family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dancer111141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EwanMilne, General Manager at Nethybridge Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent experience with us in Nethybridge.
It is always nice to have such a positive review of not only your overall experience of the hotel but of the service you had received from our team. All of the staff are notified of any feedback we receive as this enables us to see how well we are performing and where we can improve.

I will look forward to having you with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    185
    85
    55
    48
See reviews for
107
209
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Just spent three days at Nethybridge on a golfing break. Three nights dinner bed and breakfast at a fabulous price. Food was excellent and staff very friendly. Yes there are some rooms which could do to be redecorated but I've stayed in other plush hotels and not enjoyed my stay so much!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise H, Director of Sales at Nethybridge Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Ian, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your golfing break with us. Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review, it is very much appreciated and we hope to see you again soon. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for two nights whilst attending a wedding nearby. I knew in advance that this was an old hotel but I didn't expect it to be stuck in the past! The reception areas are very tired and the bar is not somewhere you would want to spend time. Reception staff and bar staff left a lot to be desired, except I must say one young girl who was running about like a headless chicken doing her best. The breakfast was fine, but again the furniture and decor was quite awful. When the arm of one of the dining room chairs came off, the waiter just said "oh yes that happens all the time!". The bedroom was ok but the bathroom was hideous, with carpet flooring and the tiniest sink ever seen. Actually to get to the sink you had to walk sideways along the bath!!! But if I was to be disappointed by one thing more than anything else, it was the dust. The hotel is not clean enough and someone should be taking a proper look at the cleaning regime, the lift would be a good place to start! All in all a really disappointing stay and I certainly would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lassiesonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise H, Director of Sales at Nethybridge Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for posting your review and I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. We are are beginning a period of bedroom and bathroom refurbishment, with some completed already, however this is no excuse for poor cleanliness and broken furniture that should either be repaired or thrown-out. Please accept my apologies for this and I can assure you it will be looked into. I do hope you will give the hotel another try in the future and you will see the positivety in the changes that we are currently putting in place. Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nethy Bridge hotels

Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

For the amount of money we paid for this accomadation we were not expecting a great deal, but the room was fabulous. It was spacious with a fourposter bed and a wonderful view of the garden. The meals were good the service very good and the staff very friendly and helpful. Even our old dog was made very welcome.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marlene_e_copeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise H, Director of Sales at Nethybridge Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your very postive review and I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and the room. The front-facing views of the gardens at this time of year really are lovely! We look forward to welcoming you, and your old dog, back very soon. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayne Island, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Like its sister hotel in Perth (The Salutation), the Nethybridge is rather dilapidated and run down. It doesn't appear to have had any badly needed updating done and would benefit from a face lift.

Our room was small and spartan and a long hike up three flights. (There was a lift but it was not one I'd have taken a ride in.)

The bar staff were friendly and efficient but the food was pretty mundane, as was the buffet breakfast. And the breakfast staff were neither friendly nor efficient.

This hotel was a big disappointment. Everyone loves atmosphere and history, and most people are willing to put up with some inconvenience to have the opportunity to soak up that history. But there is no excuse for letting a hotel get this run down.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadie820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise H, Director of Sales at Nethybridge Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for posting your review and I am genuinely sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel.

First off all I would like to say that the Nethybridge Hotel and the Salutation Hotel have between them had a six fgure sum spent on them in the last 12months and the vast majority of TripAdvisor reviews of the Salutation Hotel, Perth, tell a different story to yours. Far from being dilapidated and run down unfortunately with old buildings such as these and to our frustration, rennovations and repairs are never often seen by our guests and have to focus on 'boring' things such as roofs, new boilers, windows etc that tend to take up huge amounts of our budget. Face-lifts do come with a high price tag and have to begin with the basisc. We have cosmetically though started on the bedrooms now and these will be much more visable to the public.

The lift is inspected and maintained on a regular basis and I have to say that it is the most consistent performing lift in our group, despite being the oldest, and would put some modern engineering to shame!

I am sorry you did not find the hotel up to the standard you were looking for but please do visit us again in the future when I am confident you will see a lot of positive changes that have taken place.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed 2 nights, Dinner, Bed and Breakfast. The hotel is set in an ideal position to explore the Cairngorms and excellent value for for money. However, this hotels greatest asset is the staff who made us feel very welcome.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank MLW119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise H, Director of Sales at Nethybridge Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your recent kind review and especially for highlighting the staff at the hotel. We are glad you had a great stay and were made to feel welcome. Our Team do try hard and it is nice when that is recognised and appreciated. Many thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

After reading some negative reviews for this hotel, we were not sure what to expect on our arrival.
The welcome we received was fantastic and very genuine.The hotel ouzes charm and whilst some of the communual areas could do with some updating,the rooms are clean and spacious. The buffet breakfast was plentifull with good quality ingredients. The staff at this hotel are fantastic, nothing is too much trouble and are extremely pet friendly.
How anyone can give negative feedback about this hotel amazes me,
Cant wait to return,,, That you all very much.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank steve112dpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise H, Director of Sales at Nethybridge Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the hotel. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we do try hard, within the certain restrictions that we have, to ensure that all guests leave with a smile on their face and happy memories. We cannot wait to welcome you back in the near future. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nethy Bridge
2.6 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
3.8 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
6.0 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nethybridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nethybridge Hotel

Property: Nethybridge Hotel
Address: Main Street, Nethy Bridge PH25 3DP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Nethy Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nethy Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Nethybridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well known to generations of travellers, this Victorian hotel of magnificent character is situated amidst the splendour of the Cairngorm Mountains and the lushly wooded Strathspey. A mere ten minutes drive from the A9, close to the Highland capital, Inverness, it provides an excellent base from which to explore the Highlands of Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Nethybridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nethybridge Hotel Nethy Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing