We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dildo Sure Is Heaven On Earth!”
Review of Inn By The Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn By The Bay
Ranked #2 of 3 Dildo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Overall our experience at Inn By The Bay was fantastic. We spent two amazing days and nights and it certainly exceeded our expectations! As Soon as we arrived we were greeted by Tammy at the door,she was bubbly,professional and instantly made us feel good about the place. She took us to our room .Thank you Inn By The Bay for serving my favorite tea (Tetley) with the most delicious and complimentary breakfast I've ever had at a B & B, for your excellent staff Tammy,Sandra & Tina and the wonderful service they gave (always with a smile), for the real bed linens and the cozy warm blanket on the bed, for a dining experience engineered by Chef Chris that you would only expect in a 5 star .
Our second day brought new experiences, from enjoying the Minkie Whales from the dining room to the salt air breeze blowing in the windows, the fishers going out to sea in their boats,to the leisure stroll to the Dildo Dory Grill to taste the local fish cakes, pea soup and did I mention the onion rings!!!, then off to the local craft store. Thank you Inn By The Bay

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigertomGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

We travel extensively in Newfoundland frequently visiting the province for both business and pleasure. It has always been difficult, almost impossible, to find a nice place to stay and dine outside of St. John's. There's Trinity of course but very little in-between. Until now. You have got to put Dildo on your list of stop-overs and book a room at Inn By The Bay. The drive to Dildo is glorious and fingers were crossed that the Inn we came upon was the Inn we booked and it was. So beautiful facing the magnificent ocean and dramatic shore. It's incredibly comforting to be greeted by a professional and well-trained staff. From the moment we checked in until we checked out our needs were met by this dynamic staff. Reading the comments from people disappointed with their stays and the response of management speaks to their professionalism. Given the beautiful interiors and menu this Inn is a deal. I mean '5 star' - Our room was appointed with high-end furnishings, flat screen TV and the linens were gorgeous. They obviously cost a fortune. The only decision we really had to make regarding our stay was if we were going to stay for dinner, or not. When we saw the dining room we were so excited that we had chosen the dinner option. In September there are not many choices really unless you want to eat at the gas station half an hour away - I am not kidding. The house wines are fantastic. House wines can often be cheap and undesirable. The house red was a McManis Cabernet, California. Unbelievable. Served in high end stemware. You won't see this anywhere else on the Rock outside of St. J's. The meal options were gourmet, yet simple. My pan fried cod was fresh (everywhere else it's generally frozen) out of the sea that day. The lamb shank my husband had was outstanding. The appetizers were equally top drawer. The desserts; homemade and delicious. Hats off to the chef. It is evident that the staff are professionally trained as service was superb, tables beautifully set and attention paid to every detail. There are only about (7) tables in the dining room so highly recommend you reserve dinner when you book your stay as both sittings were full the night we visited. It's Inns like this that make visits to NL interior appealing and desirable. This is a rare find. We highly recommend this Inn. It's a great place to celebrate a special occasion.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We feel compelled to comment on the dining experience we had last evening! While we actually stayed at George House (long time favorite!), we were interested in trying the sea level dining room's new menu under current chef Christopher Gillard.

We had wonderful table service by Tammy and we found her to be very pleasant and easy to talk to. We chose from the prix fixe menu; very reasonably priced for what you received, both in the quality of the food and the ample portions. The fresh pasta with rabbit ragout was excellent - deep and rich in flavor, while the arugula salad with smoked salmon and fried brie was a very nice combination of flavors and textures.

We both chose the lamb shank which was melt-in-your-mouth and so tender it could have been taken off the bone with a spoon. This was accompanied by a mound of truffle mash, a Yorkshire pudding, side vegs and a beautiful thick jus. We were also interested in the other main dishes on the menu because they also sounded enticing, but were totally pleased that we made this choice.

Desserts were simple and very well prepared: warm chocolate cake served in a martini glass topped with oozy cherry compote; and traditional Newfoundland steamed blueberry pudding served in a pool of brown sugar sauce, topped with a generous garnish of stewed blueberries and whipped cream.

We thoroughly enjoyed every single mouthful and we also got the added bonus of being able to speak at length with the chef after the meal. Even though he and Tammy had to have been pooped and ready to call it a night by then, they didn't make us feel rushed at all.

It was just a wonderful experience and we definitely plan to do it again next summer. We will be recommending this to everyone we know who may be heading in that direction for the next two weeks!!

Thanks so much again, Chris and Tammy! That rocked!

Paul and Glenda

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank GMT109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy B, Manager at Inn By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

We are very happy you enjoyed your fine dining experience with us. We take great pride in our inn, food and service. It was our pleasure to serve you and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here and the service was good BUT we were sent a email saying our total bill was 220.00 BUT when we checked out our bill was 315.00
We asked why the difference in price and they charged us tax on our room then extra tax on our meal that was suppose to be included in our room.
Our room stank of paint fumes, we had no remote cause we were told it went missing and the Wifi only worked if you sat on the toilet.

I think it is a real scam how they charge a 100 extra. When we called to ask to have this explained all the lady said was I'm sorry

I think it is poor customer service. We have stayed in many places all over the world and NEVER had to pay extra 100 after the price we got in our email confirmation.
We will NOT be back and we have told several people our story and everyone agrees it is wrong how we were treated . I could have stayed at many other places and been cheaper and received more.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Marco1831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy B, Manager at Inn By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

We are so glad you found the service good at the Inn. We are under new ownership and 4 weeks before your arrival in an effort to better enhance our guests stay all rooms were updated with new mattresses, bedding, linens, furniture, non allergenic carpets and freshly painted. We upgraded our wifi at the Inn to high speed and have found service good in all rooms including the Sea Level Dining Room and Ocean View Patio. It seems a previous guest had inadvertently packed the remote in their luggage which has since been returned. We have reviewed your confirmation #11277 which clearly states your room reservation for 2 at $189.00 plus taxes for a total of $219.24. Your reservation also clearly states that you will receive a tasty hot breakfast for 2 in our ocean side dining room where whales frequently drop by to bid good morning. Prepared by our award winning chef his table d'hote menu serves up dishes inspired by the rugged and wonderful nature of our land. Simple but incredible, our fresh cod is plucked daily from icy cold waters of the North Atlantic and delicately prepared to capture the glory of all it's natural deliciousness. Organic, free range and locally raised, lamb and chicken freely roam the meadows and hillsides of our rugged shores. Sea spray and salt air enhance their unique flavors. Our chefs d'hote 3 course package is $57.00 per person. There is a package offered at $253.00 which includes a room with partial ocean view and dinner for 2. This is advertised on our website. At the time you made your room reservation you were advised of the special package that included dining which you declined. Two days after your reservation you called back asking to change your reservation to the special dining and room package. Mary who took your reservation made note of this for you. We have gone over your billing. Room was 189.00 and was reduced because of your dining package by $50.00 to $139.00
Table d'hote 3 courses for two, $57.00 x 2 $114.00 for a combined package of $253.00 your wine and soda was an extra $12.75 for a sub total of $265.75 along with your $10.00 gratuity plus taxes
$315.47.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We had a mixed experience at this Inn. To start with, the room we stayed in (Warren) was very comfortable, although there was nowhere to hang clothes, and we were welcomed by friendly, efficient staff. (Maybe the new owners should invest some money in furniture and not just new paintings and 'arty bits' as they had done by the time we arrived for our second visit.) The Inn is not far from the Trans Canada highway and overlooks a bay and is in a quiet convenient location with private parking.
On each of our stays here (one night at each end of our holiday - it is fairly convenient for St Johns Airport and a useful stop if you do not want to be in the city) a cooked breakfast was served but it was a single dish and took a long time to be served on each occasion with nothing but coffee in the meantime while you sit at your table. (It took half an hour on each of the mornings that we were there.)
The evening meal was excellent but we thought that wine at about $9 a glass was very expensive (about twice the cost of the wine anywhere else that we stayed on our three week trip). It was unfortunate that on the second occasion we were mis-informed on the phone as to the cost of the evening meal. We had rung the night before we arrived to enquire about the menu and price after receiving an email from them encouraging us to book for the evening meal - but which contained no menu or price details. On questioning the bill we were clearly not believed on relating what we had been told; we refused to pay. We had a very long wait at our table whilst the woman we had spoken to on the phone was summoned so they could hear her side of the story (she was not in the building at this time) and eventually our bill was altered. However, this unfortunate experience marred what was a special evening for us - it was our 20th wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy B, Manager at Inn By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

We would like to thank you for complimenting our comfortable rooms, friendly staff, convenient location overlooking the bay with ample parking, quiet location as an alternative to the city and convenient to St, John's Airport. As new owners we are proud to have upgraded all rooms with new furniture, mattresses, bedding, linens, non allergenic carpets and freshly painted. In an effort to showcase local artists we have purchased a number of paintings and assessories for the Inn. Even though you complimented the meal and the service you went on to say that a dispute over the cost ruined your anniversary. Your bill from your earlier stay was reviewed and the difference from the cost of your first stay and your second stay three weeks later was $10.00 per person. Our award winning chef who sets the menu and pricing for the Table d'hote 3 course menu had made this change in the interm from $47.00 to $57.00 per person. We were not made aware of your complaint until we read it on trip advisor. We found out that your server had felt responsible for your dissatisfaction and had paid the $20.00 from her own funds. On the question of the price of wines at the Inn. Care has been taken to pair quality wines ( not boxed ) with the chefs menu selections hence the $10.00 per glass of wine charge. Most guests enjoy a leisurely breakfast in the Sea Level Dining Room while watching for whales. Had you advised us you were in a rush the chef would have brought you your hot breakfast sooner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

It was a wonderful stay and the service was great. I can"t wait to return. The breakfasts are delicious. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I would recommend it to anyone visiting Dildo in the future. You have a view of the ocean from the dining room.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jewely08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy B, Manager at Inn By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at Inn By The Bay and the staff are looking forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Nicht den Rowe-Room nehmen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Superhirn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dildo
0 mi away
George House Heritage Bed and Breakfast
15.1 mi away
The Bayside Bed and Breakfast
4.7 mi away
The Doctor's House Inn & Spa
The Doctor's House Inn & Spa
#1 of 1 in Greens Harbour
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn By The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn By The Bay

Address: 78 Front Road | Box 33, Dildo, Newfoundland and Labrador A0B 1P0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Dildo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dildo
Price Range: £78 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Inn By The Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the Inn on the oceanfront in Dildo, Trinity Bay a relaxing 50 minute drive from St. John's on the Baccalieu Trail Route 80. Inviting guest rooms, wonderful oceanfront dining all with service to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Inn By The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Bay Hotel Dildo
Inn By The Bay Dildo, Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing