We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lobster and Songs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Spaniard's Room
Reviewed 19 July 2014

On the first night of our stay we enjoyed a delicious lobster dinner at a very reasonable price. After amazingly light French toast with blueberries for breakfast the next morning Greg gave us a map showing the highlights of the Baccelieu trail that he suggested we should see. We had an excellent self guided tour, too bad the tourist board doesn't promote this area as much as some of the others. It's definitely worth doing the drive around the trail.The second evening, Greg entertained us by singing some traditional Newfoundland songs as he accompanied himself on the guitar.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lois0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

We recently stayed with Greg, Lorraine and Lola. We were warmly welcomed, treated to an excellent lobster meal and a delicious breakfast. Our room was clean and comfortable. The weather was poor so we didn't have a chance to explore the area. This charming couple offer a truly comfortable respite. Thank you both for a short but memorable visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Greg and Lorraine were wonderful hosts. As a last minute reservation this was an excellent choice. We had a nice room with a bath down the hall just for us. When we called we asked about local restaurants and Greg offered to cook us a lobster dinner. We had great veggies and potatoes bread and a dessert and a tray of Lobsters, we did not go away hungry, for a very reasonable price. The breakfast was 'the best' Lorraine and Greg prepared it together. Greg filled us in on what to add to our itinerary, which we were very happy with his suggestions. Especially Twillingate where we saw Icebergs, a great lighthouse tour and Minke whales.

Room Tip: Only four rooms I believe one had a bath in it but not sure. Very quiet area, but nice view and some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

recently stayed at the b&b while visiting the area for couple of days. it is a great place to stay with wonderful hosts. they even prepared vegetarian dinner which was fantastic. will definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanotechusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We have just spent five nights at The Spaniard's Room. Greg and Lorraine are wonderful hosts - we can only reiterate what others have commented: they are very attentive to guests' needs and are very knowledgeable of the surrounding areas; the accommodation was very clean and comfortable; the rooms were tastefully decorated in the heritage style; the meals were scrumptious. We felt so much at "home" during our stay. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Kaye S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We (2 couples, family) arrived on Aug. 21 for a 3 day stay. As soon as we met Lorraine, and a couple of hours later, Greg, we felt we were "at home." They and their home are perfect examples of why we are B&B people. As others have said here, the friendly hospitality, great food, good beds, knowledge of local lore and locale are just a few of the things that make it a treat to stay at Spaniard's. Over a glass or 2 of wine in the evenings it becomes pretty obvious that Greg and Lorraine love what they're doing...and they're pretty enthusiastic about what they can do to make it even better. If you're going to be in this part of the world, make sure to spend a night or 2 here. You'll be glad you did.

Room Tip: We had separate rooms but a shared bathroom in "the loft." OK with us because we're fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stopeleader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Greg and Lorraine were great hosts. They are very attentive to their guests' needs and are very knowledgeable of the surrounding areas and quick to offer tips to travellers. Spaniard's Room is a very clean and comfortable establishment in a heritage home and we'd stay there again the next time we're in the area. We had French toast and blueberry muffins for breakfast, very very tasty!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spaniard's Bay
3.3 mi away
The Bayside Bed and Breakfast
12.9 mi away
George House Heritage Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Stonewall Inn B&B
Stonewall Inn B&B
#2 of 2 in Spaniard's Bay
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Rose Manor Inn
Rose Manor Inn
#2 of 4 in Harbour Grace
169 reviews
6.8 mi away
Rothesay House Heritage Inn Bed & Breakfast
9.5 mi away
Baccalieu Trail B&B
Baccalieu Trail B&B
#1 of 3 in Carbonear
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spaniard's Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spaniard's Room

Address: 185 Conception Bay Highway, Spaniard's Bay, Newfoundland and Labrador A0A 3X0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Spaniard's Bay
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Spaniard's Bay
Price Range: £78 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Spaniard's Room 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your The Spaniard's Room reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing