We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough”
Review of Lion Motel

Lion Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lion Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Long Sault
Reviewed 5 August 2014

While this hotel is nothing special, the room was clean and it's in a quiet location. The walls are thin though and we could hear the people in the next room talking at night. There is a small playground on site for kids which is nice and outdoor tables to sit at. The room was small, but the beds were clean and comfortable. There was a fridge, tv, and microwave. Breakfast was free and included coffee, tea, cheap store-bought muffins, and cornflakes; not wonderful but better than nothing. The staff was friendly and helpful. Free wifi. Our room was $85 for a double bed and a single bed. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

Rooms were clean, cheap and a basic breakfast was included. Very friendly and helpful hosts. Close to the parkway but in hindsight Cornwall may have been a better bet but it was nice being close to the river and away from the city.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandi654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Pleasant and courteous service, but on check-in in person found the price to be $20 more than advertised here. Stale tobacco smell in room, and very perfumy towels, be warned if you have allergies. However it's a great location, waking up to the view of the river is great. East-facing windows in the rooms. No pool, beach nearby; no restaurant, many choices nearby including three within walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NBOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I was looking for lodging near Upper Canada Village for the annual Cryslers Farm re-enactment and was not happy with the expensive rates quoted for the chain hotels in Cornwall. I found out once I got to the area, that there are a number of mom and pop type motels in the area. (Does Canada have a website listing these?) I was pleased with this motel, room was not large, but had fridge and microwave, large bathroom. Very clean. Across from the Long Sault Parkway entrance and a nice beach minutes away. 10 min. from Upper Canada Village and 10 min. from Cornwall. I prefer to stay in these smaller motels as the owners are more likely to enforce quiet and we certainly had no problems here. Not many places to eat or shop close by, but 10 min.. from restaurants, grocery and a Walmart.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrmisrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

It was so lovely and relaxing to be so near the shore of the St. Lawrence in a nice motel. This motel is across the road from a nice restaurant, just down from a museum of the lost villages, close enough to Cornwall if you want something from a city, and far enough out of the city to be quiet and cozy. Thank you to the great hosts for welcoming us a day early.

Room Tip: The next time we go I would take the room on the south side of the motel, to have a wonderful view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Irene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gicomel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank vic3pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Sault
6.0 mi away
Super 8 Cornwall ON
Super 8 Cornwall ON
#6 of 12 in Cornwall
185 reviews
7.7 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 7 in Massena
61 reviews
6.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 12 in Cornwall
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Best Western Parkway Inn & Conference Centre
7.1 mi away
Ramada Cornwall
Ramada Cornwall
#2 of 12 in Cornwall
401 reviews
16.2 mi away
McIntosh Country Inn & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion Motel

Address: 15965 County Rd. 2, Long Sault, Ontario K0C 1P0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Long Sault
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Long Sault
Price Range: £53 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lion Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Lion Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion Motel Long Sault, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing