We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Breakfast...WAY overpriced!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel Spring

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Motel Spring
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chateau Richer
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Good Breakfast...WAY overpriced!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Spent one night at Motel Spring in June. Chose it because we were only spending one night and wanted a reasonably priced room. When we arrived we were asked if we wanted to upgrade to a room with a bathtub for an extra $10 - making the price $100 with taxes. The upgraded room was barely big enough for two people and we were welcomed with a paper bathmat! Room was clean, good location and a good breakfast was included. Staff were very friendly as well, however, it was way overpriced for what you oet.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brillacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H_Demers, Manager at Motel Spring, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hello,
I am surprised of your comments because if you were looking for a reasonably priced room, you must of did your homework before reserving at our motel. We know for a fact that we offer very good prices for what we offer compared to other places in the area, that is probably one of the reasons why you chose us.
You forgot to mention that our government imposes a total of 18 % taxes.In reality your room cost 85.00 (+ txes) for a 15 X 12 feet plus the bathroom size of 6x6 feet with a queen size bed,full private bathroom,TV with cable , free Wi-Fi, free parking and free hot breakfast (bacon & eggs,toast & coffee) for two people.
I personately think that you were a bit harsh considering that you mentioned that it was a clean room, good location and good breakfast with friendly staff.One of the reason why our 3 rd generation business is still operating today is that we love what we do also the well beeing of our clients is very important to us.So sorry to see that we did not mesure uo to all of your expectations but fortunately we are told everyday how wuch of a good job we do and told we make a difference in somebody's trip.
The Demers Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    30
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
15
32
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed at the Motel Spring for 3 nights in late June with my mother. It was close to the shrine of St Anne de Beaupre and Quebec City which was what we were looking for. The motel was pretty basic but clean. No amenities such as a coffee maker or hair dryer and the bathroom was small. But the service was amazing. The lady who checked us in (I didn't get her name sadly) was so amazing. She had us booked on a tour of Quebec City for the next day (including hotel pick up) just after we checked in. And gave us advice on where to go to get chocolate nearby (so yummy). Breakfast was also great. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarLa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macomb
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed at this motel as a family of four. The positive of this motel was that they spoke English (since it is located it Quebec, this is helpful), it came with a breakfast, the rooms were clean and they had WIFI. This place needs a lot of updating and the beds were very hard! It is also pricey for the class of motel it is. Breakfast was served at the restaurant but nothing to write home about. The owners of the motel were very helpful with directions to nearby attractions.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

This little motel is a gem. We went for one night and ended up staying for 3. The rooms do remind me of the ones from my childhood, but I kind of like that. The room was small, but well kept. Everything was clean and neat and well cleaned each day. The breakfast was fantastic and Monique was so pleasant and helpful asking us each morning if she could help us with directions or places to go. I will definitely stay here again.

Having said all of that, you do not want to stay here without a car. It really is a 20 minute drive into Quebec. However, it is close to St. Anne du Beupret church and the most beautiful thing I have seen in my life St. Anne's canyon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goinsomewhere2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Welcomed by a woman who was only too pleased to speak English - if we preferred. Well maintained '50's era motel that was clean and comfortable and included breakfast at the restaurant on the property. During breakfast the next day we learned that the motel had been purchased in 1953 and renovated at least twice since by the parents of the middle-aged woman who was serving customers/guests. Now the granddaughter, son and daughter-in-law all work together at making it work for you. Though the motel faces the highway, noise was not a problem. Breakfast was good diner-style food.

Room Tip: For $10 more per night you will have more space and be more comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeannieandJono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Considering the price, Motel Spring was one of our best options we could choose. The stuff were so cool, the rooms were clean and in good conditions and also the location is just fine. The morning after, we were full of energy to hang around the Quebec city and its landscapes.

Try it out and be sure you will love it :)

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Hassan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

We happened to stop at Motel Spring on a trip to Bergeronnes. It was rainy and cold and the thought of setting up tent wasn't appealing. The staff was polite and welcoming. The room was clean and the bedding fresh. Yes, it's a bit of a step back in time, but certainly a warm and comfortable place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chateau Richer
4.0 mi away
Quality Suites Mont Sainte Anne
Quality Suites Mont Sainte Anne
#2 of 7 in Sainte Anne de Beaupre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
12.6 mi away
Auberge du Littoral
Auberge du Littoral
#26 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
8.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Boischatel
Econo Lodge Boischatel
#1 of 1 in Boischatel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
N Hotel Quebec
N Hotel Quebec
#25 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
21.1 mi away
Hotel Sepia
Hotel Sepia
#30 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
3.9 mi away
Motel des Berges
Motel des Berges
#1 of 7 in Sainte Anne de Beaupre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Spring

Property: Motel Spring
Address: 8520 Boulevard Ste Anne, Chateau Richer, Quebec G0A 1N0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Chateau Richer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chateau Richer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel Spring 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated by the same family since 3 generations. Guided Quebec City tour available from our motel. Bus tour for whale watching also. Free parking. Full breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Motel Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Spring Chateau Richer, Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing