We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Old" or "Vielle" certainly charaterises the property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auberge de la Vieille Tour
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Le Gosier
Reviewed 14 May 2013

So much untapped potential!

Lovely view, nice, well kept grounds with rare wild life. In general personel were very pleasent and helpful and gave us a warm welcome. But the place is let down by shabby, ageing constructions, poor facilities and equipment. Our room had a very comfortable bed, but deco was awful, excerbated by deplorable bathroom. The general disposition of the hotel is very challenging for the unfit being on a steep hillside with a multitude of steps to get from A to B. Breakfast is good and made even better if you manage to wrest away a table from Air France flight crews who had a tendancy to hog the terrace while we were there. The diner menu is very restrained offering very little choice. There is no way that the price ($240) for a night can be justified, nor the 4 star rating. A real shame as Guadeloupe merits much better than this.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dave Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (476)
There are newer reviews for Auberge de la Vieille Tour
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 476 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2012

We stopped in Guadeloupe for the night enroute to our final destination in St. Lucia. Searching around on TripAdvisor we struggled to find anywhere decent to stay that would let us book a single night - thankyou to the Auberge for looking after us!

We arrived at night after our flight was delayed by a couple of hours and this meant that the kitchen's had closed and we were unable to get a bite to eat, although there was a bar of chocolate in the mini bar - but you know how expensive mini bats are!

The room was very pleasant, if dated in style, with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was ok, but the shower was one of those ones that floods the floor.

Breakfast was a small, but very nice buffet... And I'm afraid that's all I can tell you as we left early on a tour of the island (well we were only there for the day and wanted to get a look around some of the sights!).

The hotel set us up with a great driver for the day, Allain. He took us around the north of Basse Terre and introduced us to some great little villages and beautiful spots in the National Park.

Auberge is definitely worth a short stay, but we decided that if we were to return to Guadeloupe we'd rather find a self catering villa and get a hire car.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

This is clearly the best hotel in Gosier. Rooms were spotlessly clearn, staff was very helpful. Small, but pleasant beach. Breakfast was good, though service was at times extremely slow. Located on a hill - not good for someone with limited mobility. Fairly easy walk to good restaurants in Gosier. Hotel restaurant was overpriced in the evening for the quality of the food.

Room Tip: If money is no object choose luxury suite No. 38,
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silver2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Agree with the previous reviewer, this cant be a 4 star property! First arriving to the lobby and restaurant area it could look nice but reaching your (superiour sea view) room can be a huge dissappointment. Amenities are all there but it all looks extremely worn out. Supposedly a glamorous Sofitel, but the glamour must have been from the 70ies!
We liked 2 things - the little secluded private beach with white sand, but only if You dont look behind your back, where there are rusty abandoned beach restaurant, ugly looking pool area, very worn out sunbeds and a small bar that looks also deserted and dusty.
The second good thing is the terrace overlooking the ocean and colourful flowers.
But the service was very poor and not helpful, maybe because of their almost total lack of english language skill, the food area service was unbelievably slow and unprofessional which is unfortunately not reflected in their very high prices!
In total - the place is really overrated and overpriced, showing only run down yesterday's glory. One doesnt want to stay somewhere that looks rusty & deserted on otherwise such a gorgeous island, especially paying almost a 300eur per night!
PS If you need to choose between Basse Terre and Grande Terre, then dont pick Le Gosier and Grande Terre, there is so much more beauty in the lush Basse Terre.

Room Tip: take a room in the blocks that are nearer to the main house. The further it goes from there, the wor...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KikiTallinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We were really disappointed, this hotel should not be four stars. The room was ok but the bathroom had mould. The pool area had tape holding up broken glass panels. The beach bar was closed and covered in dust and rust. The breakfast had ants on the bread and flies on the fruit!! I think this hotel survives only because many rooms are block booked by Air France staff, who arrive late and leave early so don't really care. Do not stay here... go to La Toubana up in St Anne for the same price and a 100% better hotel.

Room Tip: don't stay here
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Solihull, United Kingdom
1
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Excellent hotel with friendly and helpful staff that make you feel welcome. Food is excellent particularly the breakfast buffet and the room was very comfortable. The hotel arranged to collect me from the ferry and organised my transport to the airport the following day and also made sure that the taxi prices were fixed.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Look no further - stay here for the most memorable, delightful, exquisite experience ever. We were upgraded to one of the 2nd floor rooms facing the ocean. The room was so breathtaking that we chose to order room service and eat outside on the terrace's private table for two. We had brunch the next morning on the restaurant's veranda with a view from a storybook. The people were extremely helpful and friendly and did speak enough English to communicate with minimal effort (which is not always easy in this French colony). Guadeloupe is one of the prettiest Islands we've ever seen........and this is the best hotel in Guadeloupe. Charming!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ReneandTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Gosier
0.3 mi away
La Creole Beach Hotel & Spa
6.7 mi away
La Toubana Hotel & Spa
La Toubana Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Sainte-Anne
934 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Fleur d'Epee
Hotel Fleur d'Epee
#2 of 23 in Le Gosier
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Le Relais du Moulin
Le Relais du Moulin
#3 of 9 in Sainte-Anne
118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mahogany Hotel Residence and Spa
12.2 mi away
Hotel Amaudo
Hotel Amaudo
#1 of 8 in Saint Francois
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de la Vieille Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de la Vieille Tour

Address: Section Montauban, Le Gosier 97190 guadeloupe, Guadeloupe (Formerly MGallery Auberge de la Vielle Tour)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Guadeloupe > Grande-Terre Island > Le Gosier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Le Gosier
Price Range: £149 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge de la Vieille Tour 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L auberge de la vieille tour, facing the turquoise sea with a view panoramique, an exceptionnal elegant building of colonial architecture and style, a reminder of the charms of another timeA perfect scenery for your next business trip or an exotic and authentic vacation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Auberge de la Vieille Tour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgallery Auberge De La Vielle Tour Hotel Gosier
Auberge De La Vieille Tour Guadeloupe/Le Gosier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing