We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Auberge de la Vieille Tour
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Le Gosier
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
331 reviews
305 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 492 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 10 May 2009

Stayed here for one night after a week of sailing around the islands of Guadeloupe and Dominica. The reception staff were welcoming, spoke excellent English and kindly let us check in at 9.00 am in the morning.
After a week in a small cabin on a catamaran the bed at this hotel was wonderful. Very comfortable with nice linens. The room had a lovely view of the sea and a very pleasant balcony on which to enjoy a sundowner. The room was equipped with minibar, tv (CNN the only English speaking channel), safe and a bathroom with plenty of nice toiletries. The room was a little dated but very comfortable and very clean.
The beach area is very pretty and well served with sun loungers and parasols and the gardens very well kept. There is also a swimming pool, but with such a lovely warm sea we did not use it.
The only thing that we feel let the hotel down a little was the service at breakfast and lunch. The cold buffet was good with all the usual yogurts, cereals, pastries and fruit, but the service at the egg station was inconsistent. The chef was absent for long periods of time. When she returned there were no plates and so she had to return once again to the kitchen for replenishment. She then started to cook an omelet for my husband and then once again disappeared. Rather than eat an overcooked omelet he served it himself from the pan. During this time a line had formed of guests waiting for their eggs to be cooked. Also, our dirty plates were not taken away and coffee took ages to be refilled. I should just add that the restaurant was busy and there did not seem to be enough waiting staff. Also, we were in the Caribbean on holiday so what was the hurry to eat breakfast.
Lunch was either a full three course Table d' hote, typically French affair or a snack. We opted for a snack ( a tuna burger, I think), which was very substantial, but also expensive. None of the waiting staff appeared to speak English, so a little knowledge of French goes a long way, even if the local accent is difficult to understand. We were certainly not hurried, in fact it was sometimes a little hard to attract the waitresses when trying to make an order.
There is a very expensive and I am sure very good restaurant in the hotel for dinner but we opted to walk out of the hotel and eat at a little sea front restaurant close by where we enjoyed a very nice meal.
All in all we enjoyed our short stay here and would definitely return if we needed to stay near Pont-a-Pitre again.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heb999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    181
    99
    67
    23
See reviews for
54
195
43
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2008

I spent 3 days at La Vielle Tour in October and was really pleased. The hotel is really clean, service is good, the gardens well kept, rooms are very comfortable. I was on North aisle with a spectacular view of the bay form the room balcony.
The restaurants are a bit overpriced, but the food particularly the seafood) is excellent. Their cocktails list (mostly rum based) is worth trying as well!

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank charlie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2008

The fact that the Sofitel hotel is by far the best hotel on Guadeloupe doesn't mean that this Sofitel is a very good or very luxurious hotel - it's a good hotel which needs some improvements. The rooms for example are spacious and clean, but the furniture is close to the need of refurbishment. The bath room was clean but some edges need a renovation, too.

We got the farhest room at the end of the hotel's ground, this wing was built in another, more charming style than the older concrete wing in the near of the main building (see pictures).

The staff is friendly and obliging, I can't confirm that there is rude staff as mentioned in some reviews below. Far from it! Everybody tried to help us even if they didn't understand our poor French. Please remember that you are on a FRENCH (!) island and not everybody speaks English or German there. The staff at the front desk speaks French, English and German, the hotel manager is an astonishing multilingual talent, I heard him speaking English, French, Dutch, Italian and German fluently.

Some reviewers wrote that they didn't eat in the hotel's restaurant due to the high prices, in my opinion they denied themselves the pleasure of some really fantastic food. The price is 38 Euro for a two-course menu and 48 Euro for a three-course menu, this isn't really expensive. Furthermore the food was of a very high standard and absolutely worth the money! French and international cuisine with a Creole touch at it's best. Try at least once to eat there, you won't regret it.

The beach is indeed tiny, but cleaned every morning and thus a quiet and relaxing place for some hours of sunbathing. Luckily Guadeloupe offers a lot of huge and lonely beaches which await beeing explored. In my opinion Guadeloupe has some of the most beautiful beaches of the Caribbean Sea with white sands and palmtrees - just what you would expect on a postcard. Try visiting the beaches in the eastern and northern parts of Grande-Terre, they are fantastic. But be carful with your belongings when you're going for a swim in the sea.

The resume is that we had a great time at the Sofitel. We made a deal at Expedia and payed 116 Euro for a seafront double room with breakfast buffet, for what we got this was a steal even at the low season. The breakfast buffet was rich and covered a wide range of continental, british and international food.

I would rate this hotel a four star hotel, with some minor problems like the room's furniture showing traces of usage or the small beach. As we are frequent caribbean travelers we will stay at the Sofitel again if we're going to visit Guadeloupe in the next years.

  • Liked — The fantastic food at the restaurant, the friendly staff.
  • Disliked — The worn-out furniture.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lagopus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2008

OK, I admit, it IS the best hotel in Gwadloup, BUT that doesn't mean it's the best hotel I've ever stayed at...The problem with Gwadloup is that tourism isn't really well developed, thus there are no major luxury hotel chains on the island (except for maybe the ridiculously expensive Club Med)...

The Sofitel should not be a 4 star Sofitel, but rather a boutique hotel or something like that. Still, it IS a good hotel, with rather spacious rooms, good breakfast and a nice small beach. I missed a drinks service at the beach, but to be fair, Vielletour is more of a business hotel (preferred supplier for Air France and business men visiting from the Metropole) AND we were there in low season!

The restaurant of the hotel exceeds expectations! It is really a feast to dine there, as the plates are an excellent balance of taste and colour!

For holiday people: we stayed at the Vieille Tour for the first week and in Basse Terre for the second week. Vieille Tour is great for resting (really comfortable beds and great views!!!), but for a true Caribbean spirit, you really need to visit the other side of the island.

For DIVERS: stay somewhere around Plage de Malendure (Bouillante) and dive with CIP, they are the best!!!

Guadeloupe (Gwadloup) is certainly worth visiting!

  • Liked — The views and the restaurant
  • Disliked — The location
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ArtikalGial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2006

Avoid this hotel.

1. Very rude personal;
2. Many stairs, you keep going up and down...;
3. Rooms with good size but need some refurnishment;
4. The beach is to avoid (the smallest hotel beach I have ever seen);
5. They charge you for sending a fax to another Sofitel hotel!!!(It happened to me);
etc. etc.

The island itself isnt very nice compared to other islands in the caribbean.

Best of all: A day catamaran sailing cruise to Les Saintes. Don t miss it

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Amoreiras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Le Gosier hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2005

At the Pointe de Pitre airport, after making an easy money exchange, a nice cab driver was waiting to accomodate me. The hotel was not far. I was greeted at the Sofitel with a refreshing cloth and a rum punch (you may request it without alcohol). The view was awesome. The grounds were lush with enchanting iguanas during the day, and the musical cricket sounds at night. The beach was so nice, I couldn't get enough of it. Sometimes I enjoyed a lounge chair near the short cliffs, just for some privacy. The breakfast was wonderful with lots of choices. But be careful, the birds like the breakfast bar too. Other than that, and a daily brief thunderstorm, it was a terrific vacation experience. The staff was friendly, and eager to try to understand our poor French. We did not eat in the restaurant due to the expense. The restaurant atmosphere was not exciting or inviting when I peeked in. The lobby and lounge have a beautiful view day and night! I had a great photo of the cliff from the lounge chair but it was too big to send.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank boseelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 14 February 2005

We stayed one week at the Auberge de la Vieille Tour in November 2000 through Air Canada Vacations. At the airport, we were kept waiting over 30 minutes for the prepaid shuttle. Apparently, we were waiting for more guests that never showed up.

At the hotel, the clerk welcomed us with a cold face cloth which we really appreciated. It was very hot and humid even in the lobby. Then, we were told that we'd have to wait for a room. It was frustrating that the clerk didn't know when the room would be ready. In the meantime, the hotel offered a locked storage room near the main desk for everybody's luggage.

There are lots of small hills on the property. The rooms are a good up and down hill walk from everything else on the property, so bring your running shoes.

The hotel has transportation by van from the main lobby to the hotel rooms. Unfortunately, we could not find a non-smoking room. Our search was exhausting! The cleaning staff and driver of the hotel van were unfriendly and uncooperative. Hotel staff informed us that "it is a non-smoking room if you don't smoke in it", so we took the ashtray out of the room and opened the sliding door for a couple of hours. Also, we noticed a lot of smoking in the lobby, especially by airline staff staying at the hotel.

The outdoor breakfast buffet was very good and had a lot of selections, i.e. crepes, omelettes, fruits, croissants, breads, juices, etc. Coffee with hot milk was really good. However, by the second day, we found that our table was still not receiving prompt coffee service. We thought that this was due to our speaking English. To remedy this, after I caught the server's attention, I shrugged my shoulders and raised my palms in the air a couple of times to make her laugh, (universal language) and from then on she started serving us coffee at breakfast promptly.

The manager's welcome cocktail involved a personal introduction, handshake with the manager, and a selection of hors d'oeuvres and wine.

The hotel beach area was cleaned every morning. A strange loud noise coming from the beach woke us up one night. We never figured out what caused the noise.

The hotel restaurant was very expensive, including drinks and desserts. Also, we couldn't find anyone from the staff who could speak English. Most of the guests were from France. If you can speak French, then it's a good place to stay.

Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Gosier
0.3 mi away
La Creole Beach Hotel
La Creole Beach Hotel
#1 of 23 in Le Gosier
1,281 reviews
6.7 mi away
La Toubana Hotel & Spa
La Toubana Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Sainte-Anne
912 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Fleur d'Epee
Hotel Fleur d'Epee
#2 of 23 in Le Gosier
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Le Relais du Moulin
Le Relais du Moulin
#3 of 9 in Sainte-Anne
106 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hotel Amaudo
Hotel Amaudo
#1 of 8 in Saint Francois
480 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mahogany Hotel Residence and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de la Vieille Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de la Vieille Tour

Property: Auberge de la Vieille Tour
Address: Section Montauban, Le Gosier 97190 guadeloupe, Guadeloupe (Formerly MGallery Auberge de la Vielle Tour)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Guadeloupe > Grande-Terre Island > Le Gosier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Le Gosier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge de la Vieille Tour 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L auberge de la vieille tour, facing the turquoise sea with a view panoramique, an exceptionnal elegant building of colonial architecture and style, a reminder of the charms of another timeA perfect scenery for your next business trip or an exotic and authentic vacation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Auberge de la Vieille Tour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgallery Auberge De La Vielle Tour Hotel Gosier
Auberge De La Vieille Tour Guadeloupe/Le Gosier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing