We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Canella Beach Hotel-Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Le Gosier
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We booked for 2 weeks in this hotel! Its not luxery, but more basic. Rooms are clean, good breakfast, beautiful Beach. Helpful staff at the reception. Best place for dinner is along The street, nearby the casino. Nice market on friday in the centre.

Nice island to visit as well. Lots to see.

Stayed: December 2013
3  Thank Julian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel Canella B, Responsable commercial at Canella Beach Hotel-Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014
Google Translation

Cher client,
Toute mon équipe se joint à moi pour vous remercier de vos commentaires élogieux, en ce qui concerne notre établissement. Votre témoignage est important pour nous et surtout pour nos clients qui sont très sensibles aux avis publiés sur ce site. Il est heureux de constater que vous semblez avoir été satisfait de votre chambre, tout comme du restaurant, de la plage et de notre personnel d'accueil.
Nous espérons avoir le plaisir de vous recevoir à nouveau dans nos murs à l'occasion d'un prochain voyage en Guadeloupe.
Bien à vous, Sylvie Mouyal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2013

We had a fantastic holiday at this hotel. We stayed in a standard non-renovated studio. Which is nothing fancy, but had everything we needed. It was clean (cleaned daily), had a good bed, a shower with hot water every day and good pressure, a seperate toilet (which we thought was a plus) and a big balcony with kitchen. Yes, the furniture is a little outdated and the room needs a little paint, but who cares? You don't have to live here, you are just here for a short time. And from what we could see of the renovated rooms, they looked really smart, so it's work in progress. The tv is small, but so is the tv in our bedroom at home. And at least it was not all French channels. We could watch CNN and Eurosport, which we found enough.

The really nice swimming pool is totally renovated, with a new jacuzzi and new sunbeds. There were always enough beds for everyone and the pool is cleaned daily.
The little beach is very attractive with again plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas and when sitting in the restaurant, you have a beautiful view of the sea.

Breakfast was excellent, with a lot of choice (cereals, milk, coffee, juices, bread (and a toaster), croissants, chocolate rolls, pastry, ham, cheese (emmental and camembert), eggs (scrambled or cook your own), bacon, sausages, local jams (passion and guave), yoghurt and fresh fruit(salad). And as long as you don't walk away from your table leaving food behind, the birds won't bother you.

Staff was very friendly, always greeting us with a smile and even arranged for us that we could keep our room on the day of check out until 2 pm for free. Great service! They speak good English, which we appreciated very much, since our French is limited.

As for the smell some have mentioned on TA, yes, sometimes it's there, due to the area of brackish water at the back of the hotel. And some days it's worse than others, but most days it isn't there at all. But this is just the smell of nature, you can not do anything about it. It didn't bother us at all. Only one day of the 12 days of our stay we could smell it in our room.

And yes, the boys of the 'gendarmerie' stay at the hotel too. But these are very nice guys who always greated us with a friendly bonjour/bonsoir. You hardly notice they're there, except for their vehicles on the parking lot. They are just guests, like everyone else.

Free wifi always worked fast in the lobby, and sometimes it even worked on our balcony (probably because our room was close to the lobby). So no complaints there either.

The restaurant was the only downside to the hotel. The snackbar Le Flibustier is allright for fries, sandwiches and panini's, but the restaurant just wasn't good. We didn't like the food and they served the worst tasting white wine we've ever had. But there are plenty of nice restaurants, pizzerias as well as local restaurants, walking distance from the hotel. There's even a KFC if you don't mind the 15-20 min. it takes you to walk there. You can also eat a decent buffet at the casino for only € 18 pp including drinks. The casino is also where the nearest ATM is.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 322, on second floor. This is a room with poolview and we loved the fact that ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marganne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel Canella B, Responsable commercial at Canella Beach Hotel-Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014
Google Translation

Chère Marganne,
Toute mon équipe se joint à moi pour vous remercier de vos commentaires élogieux, en ce qui concerne notre établissement. Votre témoignage est important pour nous et surtout pour nos clients qui sont très sensibles aux avis publiés sur ce site. Il est heureux de constater que vous semblez avoir été totalement satisfaite de votre chambre, tout comme du restaurant, de la plage, de la piscine et de notre personnel d'accueil.
Nous espérons avoir le plaisir de vous recevoir à nouveau dans nos murs à l'occasion d'un prochain voyage en Guadeloupe.
Bien à vous, Sylvie Mouyal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

This hotel is awful. Dirty, poorly maintained, huge cockroach in our traveling companions' room, unmaintained beach (traveling companion stepped on a sea urchin right off the beach--no medical equipment at hotel), didn't clean our room, poor air conditioning. Can't even get kleenexes in your room. Lots of stagnant water behind hotel with Mosquitos. If you're American, they can be pretty uncaring especially Christie who was at the reception desk. If we hadn't already paid for three days, we would have left. Manager very unhelpful when we complained--said to write a letter and gave us a business card. We don't recommend this hotel for anyone.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CarlJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

My husband and I have been vacationing for two months on the island of Guadeloupe for the past 13 years always staying at Canella Beach Hotel. The hotel is accommodating, actractive, beautifully located, staffed with genuine warm and responsive people, close to transport, great restaurant, wonderful breakfast and managed by staff who make you feel at home. I would highly recommend this hotel and hope should you choose to vacation on this most beautiful and diverse island your vacation will bring you the happiness and comfort that we have experienced over these many years.

Room Tip: face the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I stayed at the Canella residence for about a month.
The receptionists were welcoming, helpful and friendly. Especially Livio who is a ray of sunshine.
Admittedly, the hotel first gave off a weird impression: it seemed a bit out of date, somber and very quiet. Having looked around at other neighboring hotels and sites of Guadeloupe, I came to realize that Canella was actually in a pretty good state.
The included breakfast was surprisingly good: croissants, pains au chocolat, scrabbled eggs, cereal, yoghurts, toast, nice traditional jams (coconut, passion fruit, etc).. the bacon and sausages were not to my liking (a bit fatty and greasy). The restaurant looks onto the sea.
I did not eat at the restaurant at lunch time nor dinner because of the high price of the food. However, a lot of clients dined there and told me they enjoyed their meals.
Having free access to the pool and a private beach was very nice. The pool sometimes was a bit unclean, and the jacuzzi next to it didn't work to its full potential. The beach are is nice, and in the afternoon they play music by the deck chairs, a little touch I particularly appreciates. The bar has a nice selection of cocktails (a bit expensive but you won't find a lower prices in touristic areas of Guadeloupe).
My room was good - nice double bed, plenty of space in the room, a large balcony with a kitchenette which was very practical. The bathroom was in good shape too.
The hotel really grew on me during my stay, at first I was a bit apprehensive as I expected a bit more from a 3*. But once I got used to things in Guadeloupe I enjoyed spending time at the hotel, on the beach, at the bar and in my room.
There is a market every Tuesday evening at the restaurant area which is really worth a visit. Especially the rum stand from which I bought 5 bottles!

Room Tip: Ask for a double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jellybean2238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

This November was our second stay in Hotel Canella Beach, our family (extended with two grandmothers) spent a ten days holiday in Guadeloupe staying in this hotel. We ordered via hotel internet page a double appartment and a single studio including breakfast.

Reading previous emotional reviews my purpose is to be objective about Canella Beach Hotel.

The hotel is in Gosier which is a centrally located holiday village in Guadeloupe. Position is excellent to explore the whole island. You definitely need a car, parking is free in front of the hotel, be prepared for traffic jams in/around the capital Point-a-Pitre in the evenings. The hotel is three star labelled. It has about 150 rooms in three consecutive buidlings enclosing an open swimming pool, surrounded by well-kept tropical plants and palmtrees, and located by the sea with its own sandy beach. Most rooms have some views, they are double/twin bed studios, some are duplex (for families up to 5-6 persons), all air-conditoned and have a terrace with a kitchenette to make your own food if you like. There is free wifi available.

You should take into consideration the local climate, i.e. that you are visiting an extreme humid (lot of rains) and warm place with a constant palmhouse feeling. This gives reasons for the open air dining area (birds and a lazy cat can be in and out, trying to get some food), the non-glassed windows of the rooms (lizards, gekkos or beetles can visit your room through the terrace door or window spalette), and that you find cane furniture and only tiled floor without carpets. There are mosquitos from the neighbouring mangrove and they are really biting. If you accept all these than you have no problem with the hotel, but if you do not, than you may feel really tortured.

Our rooms had nice view of the sea and of the hilly part of the island. Rooms were daily kept, towels changed, all clean and ok. Soap/shower gel re-supply was usually missing (be sure to bring your own). Room cleaning is a full day procedure, done one day 10 o’clock the other 15 o’clock. The room and the furniture is nothing fancy, but generally was in good status. There were several discrepancies: a lampbulb were not working, a picture hanger on the wall but no picture hanged, the fridge was old and rusty, not enough cutlery items, wifi was unreliable in the evening. These we considered minor problems.

Breakfast was plenty but not for a lucullus taste: crambled eggs with sausage and hams, and two choices of cheese and salami. We preferred early breakfast cca. 7 o’clock, because of doing excursions daytime.

Staff was really kind, mainly prepared for French speaking guests but with basic english we could communicate. The restaurant did not work (probably out of season time), and generally there was an airy atmosphere, no pressure of lot of guests. Special thanks to hotel management (Valérie & Edy), that the last day we could stay in one of our room till late afternoon to be able to go directly from the hotel to the evening plane back to Europe.

All-in-all, if you do not expect luxury you can just relax and enjoy very much staying in Canella Beach, once returning to Guadeloupe we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cathy_and_Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Well, where do we start. We do not recommend staying at this hotel. it is overated, understaffed and doesnt provide the essential amenities which should be the norm. for example, clean towels. We were constantly in debate with the reception area regarding, no towels in the room. Not enough kitchen utensils,the fridge is old and tattered and did not keep anything cold.
Well breakfast , the scrambled eggs looked like vomit, the hot food was never hot, the miniscule croissants were burnt, when they were available. When hotel was in full flow and full, breakfast would be over at 7.30 because they were unable to replenish the stocks. There were not enough staff available to check and refill the food.
Hey! What about a little variety. For the amount of money we paid for our months stay (never again) we had the same breakfast day after day after day.
The domestic staff were pleasant and did their job to the best of their ability but without towels sheets - what can they do?...No soap, no soap, no soap. No restocking of shampoo etc etc.
Renovating needed. They shouldnt not be allowed to give this hotel a 3 star because it definitely isnt. On the plus point the swimming was cleaned every day. But the jacuzzi didnt work. The restaurant decided that it would close from 16 August until some date in September., Hello......we are ladies on holiday - its dark, swampy.
Beach at hand -not bad and its private.
Location fine...but if you do not have a car very difficult to get about and eat. All the shops which were there to supply bread groceries, etc, have gone...so recommendation - find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gabriella45London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Le Gosier hotels
0.2 mi away
La Creole Beach Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Fleur d'Epee
Hotel Fleur d'Epee
#2 of 23 in Le Gosier
835 reviews
0.5 mi away
Auberge de la Vieille Tour
Auberge de la Vieille Tour
#4 of 23 in Le Gosier
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Cap Sud Caraibes
Cap Sud Caraibes
#11 of 23 in Le Gosier
53 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Maison Creole
La Maison Creole
#3 of 23 in Le Gosier
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Karibea Residence Le Prao
Karibea Residence Le Prao
#12 of 23 in Le Gosier
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canella Beach Hotel-Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canella Beach Hotel-Restaurant

Address: Pointe de La Verdure, Le Gosier 97190, Guadeloupe
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Guadeloupe > Grande-Terre Island > Le Gosier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Le Gosier
Price Range: £97 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Canella Beach Hotel-Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canella Beach Hotel is located in Gosier, at the tip of “Pointe de la Verdure”, on a white, sandy beach, surrounded by lush tropical gardens.Located 5 miles from the capital city of Pointe-a-Pitre and 8 miles from the airport POLE CARAIBES, Canella Beach Hotel-Restaurant will offer you a perfect change of scenery.It is within walking distance of hotels, restaurants, shops, a movie theatre and a casino.The architecture of “Creole” inspiration and the colourful tropical decor of the hotel will be a welcome and relaxing change of scenery. The Canella Beach offers all the amenities of a traditional 3 stars hotel while giving you the independence of an apartment hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Canella Beach Hotel-Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Residence Canella Beach Hotel Gosier
Residence Canella Beach Gosier
Canella Beach Hotel-Restaurant Guadeloupe/Le Gosier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing