We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay and amazing first excursion of our trip.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Humacao
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barefoot Travelers Rooms
Ranked #1 of 3 Humacao B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Arriving prior to the start of the high season we enjoyed the guesthouse all to ourselves and had a wonderful home cooked meal followed by a refreshing swim in their awesome pool. Keishya and Bob were incredible hosts and accommodated our tight schedule. We were able to venture over to Monkey Island with Bob and got to enjoy viewing the monkeys, snorkeling, and kayaking around the entire island. We would recommend staying at their guest house if you are traveling solo, as a couple, or with a family and highly suggest embarking on the kayak tour. We had an amazing time and hope to be back! Thanks soo much Keishya and Bob!!!!

Thank Em-n-Arek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed 3 nights at the Guest House and would definitely recommend it to a group since they have several rooms and a full kitchen available. Not too expensive and saving by cooking things on your own (with the relatively large kitchen) would be a great way to make this extremely affordable (we ate out instead, preferring to try local cuisine). Quite a few small eateries not too far away, and a grocery store and more food within a 10 minute drive (though keep in mind Sundays in a predominately Catholic location will hamper shopping efforts). Keishya gave great recommendations for local food places - ask for directions to the nearby pastelillo place and try the Chapín (trunkfish) or several other local specialties! It felt like we rented a house to ourselves since no one else happened to be staying at the same time - though Bob and Keishya were available for us whenever we needed them, they were darn near invisible adding to the rented house feeling. Lovely large swimming pool in a fenced-in backyard to watch the stars at night. If you're an adventurous eater and it's in season, ask to try a piece of the noni fruit tree in the front yard! If I had more time and wanted to stay in the Humacao area I would have stayed longer. Hope to be able to go back again.

Took the optional tour to Monkey Island and had a great time. Do your research prior to the trip to fully enjoy the science behind the imported Monkeys and the continuing behavioral research done there - Keishya has several books available and can give great details. An enjoyable trip that wasn't too long or difficult. If you go to that beach after dark bring some bugspray - daytime is fine but nighttime will leave you crazy itchy from jumping sand biters!

Would have loved to also gone hang gliding, but alas the winds were not favorable. Definitely will shoot for it next time.

Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Wonderful experience, should give it. Try. Could not be any happier with service . I would highly recommend all to give it a try. Much better than other apps that are available.
Got a great price and prompt service

One could not ask for anything more from a business when it comes to travel

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank One888888884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We loved the hosts, Keishya and Bob, made us feel right at home. We were kind of overwhelmed with all the house rules, although understandable when your staying at a home where the owners are living upstairs with their pets. Some people who just want to relax, not worry about cleaning up after yourself (like a hotel), and don't love dogs, this probably isn't for you. We enjoyed our 4 night stay, even became friends with the other room rental person. We loved our kayak tour to Monkey Mountain with Bob, he is a great tour guide as well as a host. We would definitely stay here again, the rooms were very clean and nice, having access to the living area, kitchen, private pool etc was a nice change from staying in a Hotel. Thank you again Keishya and Bob! Loved the stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bogi4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Keisha and Bob were very helpful--we got stuck without a hotel room because of a big local event in another city. Humacao was the next city down the coast. I called at 8:30 p.m. on a Saturday evening, with a phone that died mid-conversation, and Keisha stayed with me very patiently and set us up.

The place itself is nice, clean, with a good pool. It is a little different, in that it is in a gated residential subdivision, and Keisha and Bob are both Americans. So, no local culture here. Basically, you are staying in their home. Access to kitchen.

Here's a real plug for them: the power went off in the middle of the night for a couple hours. NO big deal, though it did get hot in our room. Keisha called me, after we left the next day, said they were refunding $10 because of that, and promptly sent me a check for that amount. That's exceptional.

We were just spending the night, so we did not take advantage of the kayak tours or hanggliding. However, three ladies who were also staying there highly recommended the Monkey Island kayaking trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DiverJim56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Keiysha and Bob were great hosts and educators! They shared their fantastic home and knowledge of their slice of paradise! Hummingbirds (in their backyard!), pelicans, fish, lizards, iguanas, and monkeys were all part of our stay! I wish we could have stayed one more day so that we could hang glide (a wonderful excuse to go back!).
Their home was perfect (we had the downstairs), absolutely clean, had a totally stocked kitchen!, and a hammock in the living room placed by windows (outside trees and birds). Their pool is gorgeous as well.
We had a wonderful time - thanks to Keishya and Bob:)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank robin11218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

What an amazing trip! It was wonderful to have such a nice home base for our travels. Our party rented all three rooms, so it was like having our own house! The pools is clean, beautiful, and cool, the beach is lovely, the rooms are perfect! We were so happy! Make sure you check out all of the tours as well! Hang gliding was amazing, and the kayak trip to monkey island and the shipwreck was my favorite activity all week!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adialosdia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Humacao hotels
4.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden at Palmas del Mar
5.2 mi away
Park Royal Puerto Rico at Club Cala
5.1 mi away
The Plaza Suites
The Plaza Suites
#2 of 4 in Humacao
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Villas at Palmas
The Villas at Palmas
#2 of 2 in Humacao
25 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot Travelers Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Travelers Rooms

Address: Humacao | Punta Santiago, Humacao 00741, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Humacao
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Humacao
Price Range: £52 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to barefoot travelers rooms off the beaten track here on the southeastern coast of Puerto Rico. We welcome you to our guestrooms with private bath, use of full kitchen, large swimming pool all just 5 houses from a very gentle coastline of the Caribbean. We provide towels, linens, boogie boards, kayaks, guide assistance and a clean spacious guest home for your vacation enjoyment. We recycle here and welcome you to enjoy Puerto Rico off the beaten path. RULES OF ACCESS- Guests exclusively permitted on the property grounds, rooms and use of facilities. Guests may NOT bring in visitors outsiders without explicit permission of the proprietors. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barefoot Travelers Rooms Hotel Humacao
Barefoot Travelers Rooms Puerto Rico/Humacao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing