We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Humacao
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barefoot Travelers Rooms
Ranked #1 of 3 Humacao B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Barefoot Travelers Rooms Beach Guest House

I would very highly recommend a stay at Barefoot Travelers. Keishya and Bob were easy going, warm, welcoming, gracious hosts who went out of their way to ensure that my trip was everything I wanted it to be. Both before and during my stay, Keishya took a generous amount of her time to provide me with a wealth of information about the island and about other places she thought I might enjoy visiting based on my specific interests. The guesthouse itself was charming, comfortable, and very clean. The colorful, spacious, shared kitchen and dining room were fully equipped with everything you might need to make preparing and enjoying food easy. The private bedroom was cozy, the bed was perfect, and it had both a fan and air conditioner. Also available to guests was a living room complete with a large TV in front of a very comfortable couch and a sweet hammock hanging in a small sun porch. Outside, the walled off patio was an oasis of relaxation complete with a lovely pool, lounge chairs, a table for outdoor dining, tasteful tropical landscaping, and the occasional visiting hummingbird. The Guest House, located in a safe, gated community, was a 60 second walk to a lovely, long stretch of beach, as well as to a nature preserve; and also an easy walk to several local restaurants. The rainforest and the San Juan Airport are both within easy driving distance. I personally found the Guest House to be an ideal place to rest and rejuvenate. But, if you are in the mood for adventure, Keishya and Bob also offer kayak rentals and kayaking tours to Monkey Island as well as hanggliding classes and tandem flights. I am looking forward to these activities for my next visit!!

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice and each one unique.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank solotraveler477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
There are newer reviews for Barefoot Travelers Rooms
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

The owners had great communication and answered our many questions--this was our first trip to PR, and we had many. We specifically stayed here because of the kitchen so we could make our own food and save money. There was plenty of room in the fridge and freezer to accommodate the supplies we picked up at Wal-Mart--a couple miles down the road. All the pots and pans as well as the plates and cups are supplied; just bring the food. (They even had spices that were left by others, but that may change as others use them. Note: There is no microwave.)
We stayed in the room with the bathroom and felt the size of the room was just right. There was only one other person staying when we were, so basically it was like renting a home for very little money. We stayed in San Juan for one night and we were so thankful we got away from there and were able to stay at a laid-back place like this!
If you have the chance, you should take the kayak tour to Monkey Island. If you are not a world-class snorkeler, you will enjoy the trip and maybe even see a barracuda! Bob is great. He is probably one of the most laid-back people in the world. :-)
The location was just right to take in the rain forest, Fajardo and other things on eastern side of the island.
We would stay here again if we go back to PR. But until then, we can remember fondly the friendly owners, the kayak trip, the clean pool, the gated community, the great room etc....

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed our visit to the Barefoot Travelers Rooms. The B & B is clean, bright, and located a short walk from the beach, as others have commented. Even though it's a B & B, not a hotel, Bob and Keishya, give you the privacy you want but are available when you need something. They provided really helpful insider tips about places to go and what to see during our stay. We weren't able to do the monkey island trip, which only provides a reason to return!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This guest house is wonderful! Very clean, bright and breezy. The pool was always a welcome retreat after long days. Bob is a patient and trustworthy kayaking guide. We took a wonderful trip to Monkey Island followed by snorkeling around a small sunken wreck. He knew all the key fish to look out for and where to find them.
The house has room for at least 6. There's a nice kitchen, A/C in all the bedrooms, cable TV and Wifi. I would definitely come back, and highly recommend this place to my friends. Keisha and Bob made us feel right at home.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Moira M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Such a fabulous place to stay. The house itself is very comfortable and clean. The beach is just a two minute walk away and beautiful, right next to the nature preserve. The pool in the back patio is also very refreshing. I absolutely loved the kayaking to Monkey Island and snorkeling around the ship wreck. We were able to see so many cool fish. And Keishya and Bob are the most kind and generous people with the biggest of hearts!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurenebradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We ( My husband and I and our 17 and 20 year old sons) recently returned from a 4 night stay at Bob and Keishya's guest house. We had a wonderful time and the guest house was exactly as the literature described it. We had all 3 bedrooms, so it was just our family downstairs. Please remember that it is a guest house and Bob and Keishya live upstairs, so they are around. That was great--they were extremely helpful and provided us with recommendations for places to eat and visit.

My 20 year old son was much more interested in the rain forests and waterfalls and fresh water swimming holes than the beach and they gave us directions to spectacular swimming holes that we would have never ventured to without local recommendations. Kayaking to monkey island was great and it was fun to see all the monkeys as well as some snorkeling.

I would recommend staying here to anyone as long as they weren't interested in total seclusion.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruth a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Our family of four returned recently from our 5 night stay at the Barefoot Travelers. This was our first trip to Puerto Rico, but thanks to Keishya and Bob, hopefully not our last!

We arrived with our two children ages 10 and 12 and occupied two of the bedrooms which are comfortably furnished. We received a very nice welcome and tour of the guest house which included our two bedrooms (they have a third room with an in suite bathroom). We were very impressed with the guest house and enjoyed all of it including the kitchen, the hammock, the pool (*really* nice) and just hanging out getting to know Keishya and Bob and another amazing couple from Canada who were absolutely wonderful.

The beach is right down the block and we had a great time boogie boarding there courtesy of Keishya and Bob. They have boogie boards you can borrow which we used there and at other beach locations.

Keishya was invaluable in offering recommendations of things to do and see and which tours to take and beaches to visit. All four of us had an amazing time with Bob and Keishya kayaking to Monkey Island and seeing hundreds of monkeys! They provide dry bags so we could bring our camera and got tons of pictures. It’s difficult to explain the feeling of snorkeling in crystal clear blue water and then coming up and seeing monkeys running around. Absolutely amazing and surreal. There was a really cool shipwreck right in the same area that we snorkeled around and Keishya and Bob really went out of their way to show us the different kinds of fish and helped the girls identify them.

Thanks to their recommendations we also went with Rocaliza Adventure Tours for an amazing day-long trip hiking through rainforest, rappelling down an 80 foot waterfall and ziplining. They also recommended a catamaran company to Culebra where we again snorkeled (can never get enough) and enjoyed world-wide rated Flamenco beach.

Anything we asked, Keiysha and Bob were incredibly informative, helpful and accommodating. We also enjoyed their dogs and it was incredible to see the hummingbird feeding her babies ☺ Highly recommend Barefoots and would DEFINITELY go back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Humacao
41.6 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
18.4 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
4.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden at Palmas del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort
16.9 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
5.2 mi away
Park Royal Puerto Rico at Club Cala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot Travelers Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Travelers Rooms

Address: Humacao | Punta Santiago, Humacao 00741, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Humacao
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Humacao
Price Range: £54 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to barefoot travelers rooms off the beaten track here on the southeastern coast of Puerto Rico. We welcome you to our guestrooms with private bath, use of full kitchen, large swimming pool all just 5 houses from a very gentle coastline of the Caribbean. We provide towels, linens, boogie boards, kayaks, guide assistance and a clean spacious guest home for your vacation enjoyment. We recycle here and welcome you to enjoy Puerto Rico off the beaten path. RULES OF ACCESS- Guests exclusively permitted on the property grounds, rooms and use of facilities. Guests may NOT bring in visitors outsiders without explicit permission of the proprietors. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barefoot Travelers Rooms Hotel Humacao
Barefoot Travelers Rooms Puerto Rico/Humacao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing