We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded even our 5-star expectations.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Humacao
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barefoot Travelers Rooms
Ranked #1 of 3 Humacao B&B and Inns
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded even our 5-star expectations.”
Reviewed 14 December 2009

We booked a room at Barefoot Travelers with high expectations based on so many excellent reviews. My wife and I were surprised at how far Keishya and Bob went over and above to make our stay enjoyable. Their guesthouse was clean and comfortable with a beautiful pool. Their tips made if very easy to explore the local area and make the most of our stay. We had a great time kayaking to Monkey Island with Keishya's help and had fun learning cribbage from Bob over beers in the evening. Making us dinner and washing a load of laundry for us was way above and beyond! It was obvious to us that they simply love being around people and would do anything reasonable to make sure their guest have the best experience possible. Our time there was worth well more than double what we paid; far more fun than a hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MatthewBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    20
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
60
144
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire, USA
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2009

We recently spent five days at Barefoot Travelers Rooms on our second trip to Puerto Rico. Prior to arriving at BT, we had stayed at accommodations in three other locations: a large hotel on the beach at Isle Verde, a condo in Palmas del Mar and an oceanfront apartment in Isabella. Barefoot Travelers was by far the best part of our trip. We wished we could have stayed longer.

All of the accolades on this site about the owners Keishya and Bob are absolutely true. We are former innkeepers ourselves from New England, so we had much to share. As everyone says, they are such great hosts -- energetic, gracious, kind, and informative about what to see and do. The immaculate guest quarters are very convenient for making yourself at home, and there is a patio with a refreshing pool complete with a beautiful view of the moon at night. We fell in love, too, with their four dogs which Keishya rescued from the streets -- Panda, Sammy, Honey, and Opal.

There is much that sets Barefoot Traveler apart from other accommodations. For one, their winning combination of great hospitality and the chance to live in a lovely guest house in an authentically Puerto Rican area. They are in close proximity to a local barrio, the quaint sleepy town of Punta Santiage, Humacao, where we bought our groceries and ate local food. There were outdoor adventure opportunities at our fingertips -- kayaking, hiking, snorkeling and handgliding, and easy trips by car to interesting sites such as El Yunque, Playa Luquillo and Fajardo. The natural beauty of the area included a pristine beach a 3-minute walk away (we were the only ones there) where we understand leatherback turtles lay their eggs in season. We saw 3-foot iguanas and beautiful birds on nature trails in the Humacao Nature Reserve, a 3-minute walk from the guesthouse along their beach. And close by is the back side of El Yunque rain forest where the flora and fauna are magnificent. As if all that isn't enough, their rates are a bargain!

We can't recommend them highly enough to individuals seeking outdoor adventure, a small, personal guesthouse, an opportunity to view Puerto Rican life and to revel in the great natural beauty of the island, all at an affordable price. A last note, in daylight we didn't have any problem finding the guesthouse.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JammieGrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2009

The goal: to fly paragliders as much as possible. Secondary goal: have fun and relax.
Mission: Accomplished!
4 days of paragliding, and when the conditions weren't right for more flying, the weather was still great for hiking, kayaking, beaching, and just plain relaxing!
The house has a pool, and is just a couple of blocks from hiking and beaching.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlyinMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2009

I found this place while searching for an alternative location to stay. Making the reservation was a breeze and already an excellent experience. And the personal attention continued throughout my 4 day stay. Bob and Keishya make you feel at home immediately. And kayaking to the bio fluorescent bay was a very special experience. The guesthouse is situated within minutes walking of the ocean, where you can see the sunrise in the morning.
Whenever I have the chance I will return.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaserVision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twentynine Palms
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2009

Bob and Keishya treated us like family from the minute we arrived. My friend and I had been at a "spa" for the first half of our trip and both of us agree that we should have just gone straight to Barefoot Travelers. Their home was clean and comfortable giving us our best nights' sleep and the most relaxing time of our entire trip. Keishya gave awesome suggestions for what to do and where to eat. The bio bay was simply amazing. Next time - Monkey Island and hang gliding! My family and I will definitely return to the Barefoot Travelers when we visit PR from now on. Thank you Bob and Keishya for making this the best part of our vacation!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seawitch69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2009

We were planning our honeymoon on a budget and Barefoot Travellers fit right in to our plan. We stayed for 5 nights, and for all but 2 had the house to ourselves. We had the master suite w/ private attached bathroom (shower, no tub). A/C and fans worked to keep our room at the perfect temp. There was an excellent lending library as well! The owners, Keisha and Bob, provided all beachgoing provisions and helpful maps of trails through the nearby nature reserve, to El Yunque, and to Chez Daniel (perfect romantic meal). We went kayaking to Bio-bay near Fajardo rather than Vieques, and it was the better bet! This is a great little place, and we never would have found it w/o trip advisor!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Comicgrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2009

Although our family of four did not stay at the Barefoot Travelers Rooms, we did use their guiding services for a trip around Monkey Island (Cayo Santiago). We had an excellent time watching the monkeys with Bob and snorkeling around the sunken barge. There was a good variety of fish and even though it had just rained, the visibility was still good. We kayaked around the island - a bit wavy but our 12 year old was able to handle the single kayak with no problem. We were fortunate enough to see some sea turtles and more monkeys as we paddled around the island.

Keishya and Bob were very friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make our trip to Humacao enjoyable, provided ideas on other activities and even helped us arrange them.

We would highly recommend their guiding services, and although we were only in their house to make a phone call, it looked very nice. We really appreciated their efforts, especially since we weren't even staying with them. Should we go back, we would stay there for sure!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank footloosefamily10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Humacao
18.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
15.5 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
988 reviews
4.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden at Palmas del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
12.4 mi away
Parador MaunaCaribe
Parador MaunaCaribe
#1 of 1 in Maunabo
341 reviews
16.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot Travelers Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Travelers Rooms

Property: Barefoot Travelers Rooms
Address: Humacao | Punta Santiago, Humacao 00741, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Humacao
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Humacao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to barefoot travelers rooms off the beaten track here on the southeastern coast of Puerto Rico. We welcome you to our guestrooms with private bath, use of full kitchen, large swimming pool all just 5 houses from a very gentle coastline of the Caribbean. We provide towels, linens, boogie boards, kayaks, guide assistance and a clean spacious guest home for your vacation enjoyment. We recycle here and welcome you to enjoy Puerto Rico off the beaten path. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barefoot Travelers Rooms Hotel Humacao
Barefoot Travelers Rooms Puerto Rico/Humacao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing