We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A first timer.”
Review of The Marbella Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Humacao
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Marbella Club
Reviewed 6 March 2012

My stay at the Marbella was very good. I loved the seclusion of the area, beach, and pool. I kept saying, "where are all the people?" but really loved it that we had the beach basically to ourselves. The villa was very clean and spacious and the grounds were beautiful. We stayed in a 2 bedroom corner villa that was just gorgeous. The service was however lacking a bit as whenever we could find someone to ask a question they were not able to provide answers. We asked about suggestions for restaurants and received little help. You were kind of left to fend for yourselves which was good and bad. Overall I had a very nice time and would return as I was looking for a place that was nice, roomy, on the beach and relaxing and I got all of that.

Room Tip: Buildings 4 and 5 had the best beach access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 157Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themarbellaclub, Manager at The Marbella Club, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Dear Guest: It is our goal for our guest to have all the information needed in order to have a great experience at our property. Our office is located in MC114 and is open Monday thru Friday from 8am to 6pm. We can help you coordinate all sorts of trips and restaurant selections. My apologies that for some reason you did not get the information which you were entitled to. Wish to have you back soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2012

After all the spectacular reviews of this place, our family was incredibly disappointed. First off, we didn't get the room we asked for. At the last minute, Carmen switched us from an ocean view to a partial ocean view condo, overlooking THE PARKING LOT -- and then tried to charge us the same price for it!! Also, there is absolutely no beach to sit and walk on. The water is so high, you walk off the path and it's right there. We had to leave Marbella Club in order to have beach time. The beach club section of Marbella club has a nice pool with a lap lane and a water slide, which you only have access to on the weekdays. They did NOT tell us about this rule until we got here and figured it out ourselves. The other pools are tiny, take-a-dip only pools. Finally, the food was horrendous. We came here on vacation hoping for classy dining options but the place Carmen booked us on our first night was AWFUL. Terrible ambiance, slow service, and only mediocre food. For the price of this entire vacation, we'd say don't waste your money.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
29  Thank Egil76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themarbellaclub, Manager at The Marbella Club, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Dear Guest: At The Marbella Club we offer our guest the best experience at a villa stay with a top of the line service and this is always our goal. We try the upmost that if changes are going to be done they are announced ahead of time. Nature is something we cannot control and beaches will react to wheather. The Beach Club belongs to the Country Club not to Marbella and we have 2 beautifull pools. Overall we look forward in having a second chance in having you as a guest. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We went back to Marbella for the first time in several years over Thanksgiving and found it as blissful as ever. Our condo was spacious and well appointed. The pools are perfect, the beach is clean, and everyone is very helpful. The guys played several rounds of golf, and the kids frolicked in the amazing Beach Club Pool Playground (for a fee, but worth it). We will definitely be back again

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eleanor H G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I stayed at Marbella in a 1 bedroom villa for a couple of days. I regularly travel alot due to business; what I loved about the place its the quiet, beauty, facilities of phone, WiFi, being able to print documents at the office, cable, in house maid and their overall staff; I could even workout before doing my route. They were all very helpful and accomodating. Definitely I would stay in Marbella for work or family related traveling. Wonderful!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We rented unit 341 in the Andalucia building directly from the owner (via vrbo.com). I am an experienced vacation renter, and this is the best experience I've had. Evelyn and Ramon were professional, helpful, and courteous. We especially appreciated all the little things that made our stay more comfortable: a drying rack on the balcony, beach toys for our little boy, welcome snacks and beverages, plenty of towels and kitchenware, wifi, and a washer and dryer right in the unit.

The unit itself was clean, spacious, and very well-located. It was wonderful having such easy access to the beach and the beautiful swimming pools.

We enjoyed day trips into Humacao, Luquillo, and El Yunque. I recommend renting a car if you plan to leave the resort, which you should. Puerto Rico has a lot to offer! Palmas del Mar is its own contained universe, which is fine, but it was more fun to get out and explore. We had hoped to take a snorkeling trip to Vieques, but unfortunately the charter company couldn't get enough people to make a trip financially worthwhile. Bummer, but that's the downside of traveling in the off season. The upside is that we had so much privacy: the pools and beach were practically uninhabited, but it still all felt very safe.

When I told my 3-year-old we were leaving the next day, he was so sad. He said, "But I thought we were staying here!" He made us promise we'll be back some day.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank aprille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

Our stay at Marbella was sooooo relaxing! We like to mix early morning activity (walking and golf) with relaxation in PM (swimming, sleeping and reading) Marbella afforded us all at our fingertips. The Concierge helped us with the occaisonal outside trip. Location at water's edge was amazing. The owner of our condo provided all the amenities of home and more! We'll be back!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nyworker94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2010

First of all, the other reviewers generally have it right. It was busy Easter weekend but after that all of the locals from elsewhere in PR and other travelers cleared out, and we practically had the pool to ourselves. We booked a 2 BR 2.5 BA partial ocean view unit for a family of 4 and had plenty of space and privacy. This location is spectacular. If I had to it over again I would have chosen the partial ocean view again. It's a short walk to the beach and the view there is exactly what you would picture in your mind's eye if someone asked you to think a beautiful Caribbean vista.

So, what would we have changed? The dining options. This is not a hotel. There is no room service and no restaurant. We knew this ahead of time but our dining experiences ranged from fair to disastrous. Fortunately, the condo did have a kitchen and we learned the hard way that we would really need to make use of it whether we wanted to or not. Next door to the Marbella Club is the Beach Club and café, the food here was just ok and the service was a bloody nightmare. On our last day in PR a quick lunch at the Beach Club lasted over two hours. Every meal was a struggle except those we cooked for ourselves in the kitchen. Carmen, the property manager for the Marbella Club, thoughtfully left a list of restaurants and phone numbers. We needed more than this, as first time visitors we had no idea where anything was and we were always getting lost. The Marbella Club is part of the massive Palmas del Mar complex and you really can get anywhere you want to go by golf cart. Unfortunately the only map we had was the local pennysaver map which was sometimes misleading and other times useless. On our way out we passed a Subway (Which would have been good to know about instead of waiting forever for our server at the Beach Club!) So in summary, our one complaint is that the MC could do a better job catering to first time visitors.

The two exceptions to our bad dining experiences were Café de la Plaza and the Chez Daniel tapas restaurant, both were excellent. Café de la Plaza was a little difficult to find but worth the effort. We paid no more than we did for any other meal and it was the best steak churasco we had while in PR, we would also recommend the calamari. The tapas place (Chez Daniel) everyone raves about is worth the trip, it lives up to its billing as well.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kindlycritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Humacao hotels
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden at Palmas del Mar
1.1 mi away
Park Royal Puerto Rico at Club Cala
1 mi away
The Plaza Suites
The Plaza Suites
#2 of 4 in Humacao
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Villas at Palmas
The Villas at Palmas
#2 of 2 in Humacao
25 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Marbella Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marbella Club

Address: 100 Ocean Dr, Humacao 00791-7201, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Humacao
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Humacao
Price Range: £182 - £577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Marbella Club 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marbella Club is an exclusive beachfront boutique resort with beautifully appointed within Palmas del Mar, a resort community in the southeastern shores of Puerto Rico. At The Marbella Club you will find a relaxed atmosphere and a beautiful natural setting. Idyllic views of the Caribbean Sea and the sounds of the waves crashing on the shore complement its unique architecture to create a unique heaven. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Marbella Club Hotel Humacao
The Marbella Club Puerto Rico/Humacao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing