We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ups and downs”
Review of The Marbella Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Humacao
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Marbella Club
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
“ups and downs”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We rented a condo from Marbella owners. They were not completely forthcoming about the details of our arrangements, with enough inaccuracies to warrant a less than satisfactory rating. For example, their listing included pictures and repeated references to the beach at Marbella. In fact, there is no beach here. Ocean encroachment appears to have occurred some time ago. We took pictures (attached), looking up and down the ‘beach’. A Beach Club adjoins the Marbella property. It has no beach either, and built long retaining wall to keep the ocean at bay. The listing also says ‘golf course view’. See the picture and judge for yourself. Listing does not say ‘cockroaches visit’. See the picture of Charlie, just before he died inside the condo.
The ‘Marbella Club’ is a gated community of five five-story condo buildings. It was virtually deserted during our stay. If you’re seeking quiet and solitude, this is a good place! Got a little busier on the weekends, when owners/families came in. There are two pools – the dragon and the dolphin. No one used the dragon pool; it gets no afternoon sun. Dolphin pool works as a cool-off pool but is too shallow and too segmented to serve as a swimming pool. The plastic pool chaises are very uncomfortable. You must bring your own towels to the pool during the week, but towels are available on the weekends – a perk for the owners that benefits tenants – i.e., us and other renters.
The grounds are nicely landscaped. Grounds’ staff work hard! Birds and lizards aplenty. Surf sounds and ocean views with Vieques in the distance. Nice!
There is a massive set of gates at the entrance to Marbella, electronically operated by guard staff, 24/7. In a car, they let you in and out. Pedestrians have their own locked gate, which also requires admission by the guards. We were here for 11 days. By day 2/3, we were familiar to the guards (and they were to us), and no longer required to show our faces to the camera, announce who we were, and where we were staying. Each of the guards were friendly and courteous. Toward the end of our stay, we were informed that the condo association president had ordered the guards to check all non-owners closely and to follow the strict procedures outlined above. Reportedly, the condo president told the guards that she was concerned that tenants (that is, us!) would try to sneak people into Marbella under a blanket in the back seat. Guards were apologetic about the treat-you-like-a-criminal procedures, but were threatened with termination if they didn’t comply. Since anyone can come onto the property from the ocean side, from the adjacent golf course, or squeezing through shrubbery, the whole process seems very silly – and personally offensive to us and other renters.
Marbella is prone to frequent blackouts – we had one on our last night. Fortunately, our specific building had a generator – which worked perfectly. Not all Marbella buildings appear to have one. If this is a concern for you, check before you go!
Palmas del Mar is a 3000 acre planned residential community. It was/is designed to be a haven for property owners, not for tourist/outsider use. Owners still take precedence here; visitors are mostly tolerated. Entry is through a gatehouse complex. Palmas is comprised of a few dozen gated communities. There are miles of paths/roadways to walk or drive – tho’ you can only enter the community you are staying in. There are a few restaurants on the property – some of them quite good. There is a marina – a self-contained operation. There is a distinctly deserted feel to Palmas overall. More typical resort-style, tourist-oriented facilities are 45-60 minutes away – in Fajardo, Luquillo, San Juan – and elsewhere on the island.
The golf courses, tennis club, fitness club and beach club on the Palmas property are all owned and operated by the Palmas Athletic Club. Only Palmas del Mar property owners can be members. Non-members can use these facilities if sponsored by a member. Expect to pay exorbitant prices - $60 an hour to play doubles at the tennis club; $15 per/person, per/day to swim in the beach club pools on the weekdays – the beach club has a members-only policy on the weekends. Golf is available to the public: $135 until 1pm; $100 thereafter.
In addition to the tennis club rates, we encountered blatant, active bigotry as non-members every time we played. Workmen sent to operate machinery on adjacent courts (twice!), assigned to an unplayable court, kicked off our assigned (and paid for) court because members wanted to use it, kicked off court before our time was up, etc.
Marbella reportedly has a concierge to help arrange activities, provide guidance and assistance, etc. He was nowhere to be found during our stay. We had no difficulty making our own arrangements for restaurants and activities. Guards at the gate were a good, helpful resource.
Our perspective regarding a stay here: check things out carefully before you book. As reviews suggest, Marbella/Palmas clearly works well for some, but not for all.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank TrueBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    7
    0
    3
    5
See reviews for
21
6
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed in a 3 bedroom condo. The rooms were not clean, especially the shower. There were cracks or missing tiles in many of the rooms. The lighting in the bedrooms was very poor. The kitchen was poorly equipped with no pans for baking. The beds were comfortable, but overall, this place was a huge disappointment.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank DMS1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Park Royal Club Cala is a nice place to stay. I was their with my family, we had the 3 bedroom 2 bath Condo, it was very spacious, We rented a car while we were their. Drivin in San Juan is an experience one will never forget, Most of the people their only speak very little English,but it was nver a problem. We decided one night to drive to Old Town, ( BE WARE) we came in contact with a group of Puerto Rican women who were so NASTY to us it left us thinkin we would never return to Puerto Rico ever again, but in all fairness, we decided not to let that one incident spoil are fun, I left the best part for last. the Secluded beach, it was a 3 min walk from are Condo, it was beautiful.

Room Tip: rooms close to the Main Office are closer to the Secluded Beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jill c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grove, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We had a great time. The resort was clean and safe and the security guards were great. They were very helpful to us. The beach was very nice we had a great time and we will be back. I hope soon!!! The two swimming pools were nice and clean and the hot tub was nice too. The villa we stayed in was really nice and the balcony overlook the ocean.And we will go back to the Marbella club. And I hope it is soon!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank okcthunder35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Our family of 10 has vacationed here the past 3 years and every year something occurs that makes me question our logic in returning to a resort that is NOT tourist friendly. Renting villas from sites such as Homeaway.com or VRBO (which we do) prohibit you from enjoying golf discounts that are given to renters who rent from Realtors. (Full greens fees run $135 vs. $85 as a guest). The Beach club can only be used weekdays and only if the landlord is a member of the Country Club.

If you go to Marbella in Jan, Feb, March the huge outdoor jacussi will not be heated Mon. through Friday. Wait until the weekend when a few of the voting owners will be at the resort and expect a hot tub. They said it costs too much to heat every day. Too bad they forgot the vacationers are left out in the cold..........especially in the "High season" . Jan, Feb, and March. So why do we go? Who knows.........It's cheap and easy to get to from the US, there's a Sam's Club and Costco to shop at for a family of ten and the weather's decent. Do wish the hot tub at Marbella was hot though.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank rochette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Rooms are absolutely gorgeous and modern. The ammenities offered are second to none. Loooking forward to my next stay and possible purchase!

Room Tip: The higher the rom, the bertter the view of the Ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramon l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

My husband and I went to Marbella Club on a Groupon offer -- otherwise we would not have ever known about this place. We stayed in a 2-bedroom, 2-1/2 bath condo looking over the Beach Club and on to the ocean. While we were not directly on the beach (which was fine), it was only a 5 minute walk through the complex. This place is very quiet, which we enjoyed. There are two large swimming pool areas and the kids and adults seemed to be enjoying them. We got our dining recommendations from Trip Advisor, but several of the restaurants were closed due to the economy. The best food we had was at the Tapas restaurant associated with Chez Daniel. Good food at good prices. The WiFi was great! The signal was strong and consistent. We did have some issues with cleanliness and getting towels. A little more attention to detail would be in order, but this was great value for us becaused we used Groupon.

Room Tip: As they are renting unsold condo units, I'm not sure how much you can ask for, but I would recom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrogDogGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themarbellaclub, Manager at The Marbella Club, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you for using the Groupon offer; and giving us the opportunity of having you as a guest. My apologies if you had issues with towels and cleanliness. We are a villa rental program with a hotel feel; towels are left for you fresh daily and the maid goes in daily and refreshes the villa. All our guest can come visit our office we are right on the property we appreciate all your pin points and we would love to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Humacao
13.4 mi away
Parador Palmas De Lucia
31.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden at Palmas del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Park Royal Puerto Rico at Club Cala
21.2 mi away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marbella Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marbella Club

Property: The Marbella Club
Address: 100 Ocean Dr, Humacao 00791-7201, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Humacao
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Humacao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Marbella Club 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marbella Club is an exclusive beachfront boutique resort with beautifully appointed within Palmas del Mar, a resort community in the southeastern shores of Puerto Rico. At The Marbella Club you will find a relaxed atmosphere and a beautiful natural setting. Idyllic views of the Caribbean Sea and the sounds of the waves crashing on the shore complement its unique architecture to create a unique heaven. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Marbella Club Hotel Humacao
The Marbella Club Puerto Rico/Humacao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing