We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Puerto Rico cusine at it's best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe de la Plaza

Cafe de la Plaza
Ranked #9 of 61 Restaurants in Humacao
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$25
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Since our establishment in 1973, our sole mission is to deliver an exquisite culinary experience capable of becoming tradition. Our menu features family style Italian Cuisine w/ a Caribbean flair. Whether your idea of a special evening lies in an ideal family atmosphere, a local oasis, or a romantic setting, Cafe de la Plaza has it all. From fresh ingredients, a International wine list, and attentive service this family style Italian bistro will make you feel at home. So sit down, take in the Caribbean ambiance, and treat yourself to a unique culinary journey. See you soon!
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Puerto Rico cusine at it's best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

I visited Café de la Plaza in late May. I had an excellent meal after following all the suggestions of the owner and his very special staff. The Chicken with plantin flakes was a new one for me and unlike any Chicken I ever had. The menu was a total delight for our party and the service was outstanding. The friendly warm staff and the beautiful location made this a memorable come back to place. The prices were quite reasonable also making this a total success.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    42
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best dinner experience in Puerto Rico!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

On 5/22/2014, I had the pleasure of dining at Cafe de la Plaza in Palmas del Mar, Puerto Rico.

To start, the mojito was out of sight! I followed with an appetizer, the chorizo al vino, which was plentiful and excellent. The waitstaff was great, attentive and courteous. The owner cheerfully greeted us, a party of six. Our meals were timely served and desserts and after dinner drinks capped a wonderful meal. Our group was really impressed. I will be revisiting Cafe de la Plaza.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Coperon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cafe de la Plaza Sets the Bar High”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

It's our first night staying at Palmas del Mar and decided to try Cafe de la Plaza based on its excellent reviews. It was a bit challenging to find but that's most likely because we've never stayed at Palmas. We planned to arrive right when they opened due to feeding our little ones and showed up a bit early. They greeted us in right away which was very accommodating.

My husband and I had the mojitos which were excellent, and the kids had shirley temples with lots of cherries (they loved this). For starters we had chicken/potato soup and calamari which was a nice sized portion. For dinner my husband had the shrimp scampi and said it was one of the best he's had in a long time. I had the grouper in sesame mustard sauce and it was cooked perfectly. Very tasty!

Overall, the food was great and the service was excellent. The staff was very attentive and the food came out at a good pace. We'll definitely stop back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank itsabsolute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Palmas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

This was the best meal we had in Palmas, and we've been to all the restaurants. The service was prompt and the waitstaff were very friendly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
111 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Best shrimp ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

A beautiful setting in an old historical building very cozy. A nice little bar and very tasty sangria. We had grouper but the kids had shrimp and it was amazing. The service was great. Highly recommended

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank vacationlover061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe de la Plaza also viewed

Humacao, Puerto Rico
Humacao, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Cafe de la Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing