We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return to a favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chez daniel

Chez daniel
Ranked #2 of 63 Restaurants in Humacao
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Chez Daniel is located at the marina at Palmas del Mar Resort, which is near Humacao on the east coast of Puerto Rico.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
184 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Return to a favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Chez Daniel is one of the best restaurants in all Puerto Rico, not just Palmas Del Mar. The food is artfully displayed, well prepared with an interesting selection. There is an extensive wine list offering the perfect compliment to any menu choice.

We we had the escargot, crab creeps (which I believe is a new item--delicious), and pumpkin soup, followed by yellow fin tuna and a delightful Caribbean lobster that was so large, juicy and tasteful.

We always look forward to a visit to Chez Daniel and are never disappointed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Nineunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    33
    16
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mehh..”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

This place is nice, but I was a little disappointed. The place has snotty waitresses and waiters. It seems like they're doing you a favor by letting you eat there. My napkin had a bug on it. I know it's hard to keep a place bug free on the ocean, but then my wine glass had a dead bug on the rim. There was no apology or anything said. The waiter just inspected the bug and got another glass. They also dipped the wine glasses in a bucket of ice to chill before serving. Nice, but it left water all over the glass and in your wine. Then staff made us wait 20 minutes after we were done eating to bring us the bill or check on us, when we were literally the only ones in there. I had to get up and ask for it. I would not recommend this place. If you're going to act snotty and charge 5 star prices on the Palmas del Mar Marina, there better be a 5 star experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Tombrater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new orleans
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food at the tapas bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

I tried both the tapas bar and the xhez daniel while staying at palmas del mar. The food was excellent! First we tried the tapas place and everything we order was delicious. The tapas are big, enough for sharing. We tried the wings, tuna, friedmpalntain with crabmeat, arepas co. Puco de gallo, croquetas de bacalao, churrasco, lobster, and the bean dip and it was great! The fried calamari was not good except for the sauce it came with. The ham croquette were just ok. Service was really good as well. Even though our waiter was really busy because the place was packed we never felt ignore our neglected. The dessert were also really good. The next day we went ro chez daniel. It is more upscale but still dress code is casual. Very good service and good food as well. The escargot were really good. The tuna tartare was just ok. If you can only eat at one, I recommend the tapas bar better

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank prnola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the few good places to eat in palmas del mar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Beautiful setting, food always very good, very expensive, really costing too much for a whole family

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Location and Seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We were staying at Palmas Del Mar. Chez Daniel was a welcome change of pace from the other restaurants on Palmas. It is a bit more upscale dining atmosphere, but definitely not formal (men can still wear shorts & flip flops).

The location is great. Right on the water and they have plenty of outdoor seating right on the marina.

The service was so-so. I would compare it to the other service at Palmas restaurants - a bit slower than ideal, nice staff but not the friendliest you'll ever have.

The food was very delicious. We had the arugula and manchego salad and the caprese salad to start. Both were very good. I'd definitely recommend the caprese as it had a different balsamic type of dressing to help it stand out. For entree's we had the Wahoo special and the seared tuna. They were both excellent. I really can't pick which I liked more, but both were cooked very well and come with sides of potatoes and vegetables. For dessert the waiter highly recommended the profiteroles, so that's what we went with. I could have skipped that and saved the calories. The profiterole dessert was typical ice cream inside a puffed pastry.

Note - the tapas restaurant at Palmas is connected to Chez Daniel. This atmosphere is great as well and they definitely have a more casual lively atmosphere if that is what you're looking for. Tapas restaurant is right on the marina too with outdoor seating.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank eafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez daniel also viewed

Humacao, Puerto Rico
Palmas Del Mar, Humacao
 
Humacao, Puerto Rico
 
Humacao, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Chez daniel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing