We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional cuisine ala Borinqua” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Platos Restaurant & Bar

Platos Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #5 of 174 Restaurants in Carolina
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Bar, Spanish, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: The true taste of Puertorican food! Come and enjoy a piece of Puerto Rico with our variety of dishes. Mofongos, Angus Beef, Seafood, Paellas, Pasta and much more. Your favorite drink awaits for you at our bar. Also you can try our house drinks, sangrias and more. By the glass or a bottle, you will find your favorite wine at Platos Restaurant in Isla Verde. Red, Sparkling, Rosé or White, we have it
Maine
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Traditional cuisine ala Borinqua”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Loved the food choices, the service. Sangria drink house specialities....expensive but delicious.
Music played whole time we ate, a little too loud. Fried cheese and guava was delicious.
Mofongo was excellent. Nice restaurant to experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank traveler54Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    493
    330
    134
    65
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great mofongo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

I went at the perfect time as they had live singers that night. I sat at the bar and got to watch some college football and had a bartender who was always engaged with me and my thoughts of the entrée I ordered. I ordered a skirt steak mofongo and it came out perfectly. The bartender even got some extra sauces so I could experience the different flavors.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank paul i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Recommended by the front desk clerk and was right across the street from the hotel, so we walked across the street and tried this place on our first night of vacation.
Our waitress was adorable! She patiently explained food on the menu as my husband and I are not familiar with Puerto Rican food.
I am so proud of my husband who ordered the mofongo and ate a substantial amount of it. He is not so experimental with food choices, so this is a really big deal for him! I had a nice chicken dish with rice, it was quite good. Be warned, the portions are huge, so sharing a meal is not out of the question. It is a little pricey, but for the amount of food, I think it is quite fair!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caguas, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exceptional!!! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

It is one of our favorite restaurants. They serve Puertorrican food with a gourmet twist. The yuca mofongo is outstanding, dishes are beautifully presented and the variety of sangrias are great and delicious.

Helpful?
Thank maryannpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Kisco, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Loved everything from the service to the food and the drinks were all awesome will come back. The food it's tasty and the sangrias are rhe best around go ahead and try different flavors of sangria you will not regret it.

Helpful?
Thank Nicolas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Platos Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Isla Verde, Carolina
 

Been to Platos Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing