We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Restaurant”
Review of El Toston Criollo

El Toston Criollo
Ranked #33 of 183 Restaurants in Carolina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$25
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very good Restaurant”
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

great restaurant to try all the Typical Puerto Rican Dishes.... very clean, very well maintained...
the waitresses are accurate with the orders and also always willing to help and keep you full.
also the price is very affordable and you can enjoy lots of goodies fro the Puerto Rican cuisine at very good price.
came here with my co-workers and they love it.
definetly will go back for the coconut flan and chuleta can can!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Paulo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJ H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Toston Criollo, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
We are very excited to hear that you had a nice time in our restaurant. We hope to see you again very soon!! Thanks a lot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    24
    10
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kissimmee, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“delicioso!”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Que comida mas rica!! must stop here for mofongo and carne frita! Enjoyed every bite and a pina colada on the side! Que rico!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rebeca Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keasbey, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mariscos Mofongo”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

You cannot go wrong with the Mariscos Mofongo. The mofongo was made with three different starches from the island, and complimented with a guava sauce that was delicious. Raul the waiter was awesome. This is a great place by the Outlet Mall

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank del0430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina, Puerto Rico
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great, economic puertorrican food !”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We wanted to have some home food and entered to try it. One of the best mofongos I've had in a long time. I had it with steak and onions, tasty and tender. The rest had Mofongo stufed with churrasco and stuffed with seafood. Both told me it was good. We visited the restaurant in Canovanas but were told Carolina was was the same. It's not a five star rest. but is a good, nice and low budget "criollo" restaurant. They also have a bar.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MariaDZ33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Poor service, you're better off eating elsewhere”
Reviewed 7 February 2013 via mobile

For starters my girlfriend and i went to eat there for lunch and when we walked in no one came in to greet us we literally sat ourselves down. The place was not busy and there were 4 waiters just talking amongst themselves after aproximately 10 minutes the wait finally comes by and not once looks at us in the eyes. My girlfriend ordered a mofongo with fried pork, her meat was tastyless and was overcooked. I order as a appetizer some spicy chicken wings and the literally served me fried chicken wing with a cap of tabasco on the side, I couldn't believe it! By far, you're better off going elsewhere for what we paid wasn't worth it. Word of advice, if I was the manager, I would limit the use of cellphones, because, on one hour of being there I saw all the employees on their cellphones.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ImMars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJ H, Public Relations Manager at El Toston Criollo, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
We are sorry to hear that your visit to our restaurant was not very pleasant. How ever, we appreciate your observations. We will definitely take them in consideration in order to improve our services. The voice of our customers is important to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Toston Criollo also viewed

Carolina, Puerto Rico
Carolina, Puerto Rico
 
Carolina, Puerto Rico
Isla Verde, Carolina
 

Been to El Toston Criollo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing