We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ignored at Armando's”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Armando's - CLOSED

Armando's
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating, Waitstaff
Description: http://bing.com/maps/default.aspx?v=2&pc=FACEBK&mid=8100&where1=4070+Ave.+Isla+Verde%2C+00979+Carolina%2C+Puerto+Rico&FORM=FBKPL0&name=ArmandoS+Mexican+Cuisine&mkt=en-US
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ignored at Armando's”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stopped here to eat on our last night in Puerto Rico, big mistake!!! Food was okay, but overpriced for the service. We were NOT greeted at the door, stood in the doorway for several minutes before someone beckoned us from midway across the room to sit. When waitress removed the extra plates from the table, there was actually food left from previous diners, yuck! The speed of service was typical for the area, being ignored and filthy table was not. We were charged full price for a tea re-fill, several minutes after it was requested and my water was never re-filled. it's hard to explain how we were treated, everywhere else from Ponce to Punta, we have enjoyed our meals and wait staff was pleasant and friendly. I had to go back in and ask the manager to have a car moved, which had blocked us in, and he questioned whether I had eaten at his restuarant! Of course, he had his back to our table or nose in the air when he passed by. FYI, there were less than 20 people in the place at the time!!! Go an extra mile and eat at Lupi's or one of the other great places!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robynpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Super!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

The food and taste are excellent. You must try the Pelangocha, maybe 4 can eat from the full size. You should try also the Pico de Gallo they can prepare it without Jalapeño if you ask. If you want something that is not in the Menu you can ask for it. The Service must improve a little bit .... But is an Overall Super Great!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“One more customer !! Not important!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

First no valet parking. 5 minutes trying to park. No welcome inside the restaurant , about 2 minutes waiting in entrance!!! Confunsion with drinks!!! Waitress and staff undertrained specially bar tender... During our dinner we observed that potencial patrons left do to no parking attendance... Hope you do something about it...
And this is Maria M. Noriega 787-969-2840

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Relajamteeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

While on a recent vacation to San Juan we asked someone at our hotel to suggest a place to eat as my 13 year old wanted Mexican food. It was a rainy and windy night so when we got to Armando's only a few tables were taken. We were greeted right away and service was great. The owner made some wonderful suggestions and our food was delicous! I would highly recommend!

This was one of the best meals we had on vacation and was the least expensive! Very reasonable prices.

They probably need to advertise more as our cab driver was not familiar with them.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MKPL4-15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san juan, puerto rico
Level Contributor
252 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food prepared by Armando”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

Armando is an excellent chef. But he has to get the front if the house in order!
You enter and most likely will be ignored, Then you are seated and will most likely be ignored. Then you will order and they will most likely not put the order in correctly.
But when you finally get the food it's worth it!
Armondo Needs to get the TV guy to put his place an order.
Go for the food, not the service. They are nice enough But just do not know what they're doing. Several people walked out while we were waiting to eat.
They do not know what they missed! This is not your ordinary Mexican food!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mariap1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Armando's also viewed

 
Isla Verde, Carolina
Isla Verde, Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing