We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet hotel in a quiet town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Casa De Los Patios Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Casa De Los Patios Hotel and Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sayula
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quiet hotel in a quiet town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

This is a lovingly restored large 19th century house that is now a first-rate hotel. I thought that there would be noise coming in from the restaurant at night but it was totally quiet after 9 pm and I slept like a rock. The restaurant is good, especially the tipiquitas, the panela cheese and the shrimp, even if a bit odd. If you order an appetizer and our your companion doesn't, you get your appetizer and his main course at the same time, then your main course comes eventually. And no red wine? (Stick with Victoria beer.) I didn't try the spa or the tiny pool; istead, I walked into the center of town for Sunday 6:30 pm mass. The town is safe and the main square is typically Mexican and full of life in the early evening. The best part was the 19th century key that you use to open your door. It does take practice !

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen Marcela G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Casa De Los Patios Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for your comments about our hotel , which still prevails an historic hotel part of the history and character of the same, an example is the iron keys that are unique in the region of mexico, we are sure that on your next visit may open the door with expertise .

About the comment of slow service we will solve the detail and we will have more red and white wine table.

Sayula thanks for your comments I hope in this home on your next visit to Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    25
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
35
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alamos
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

We run small group bird watching tours all over Mexico and also operate a small hotel in the state of Sonora Mexico. Over the years I have stayed in dozens if not hundreds of hotels in Mexico of all shapes and sizes and gotten various arrays of service and amenities along the way. Typically I have gotten what I expected at a price that was in line with what was advertised.

Rarely have I come along a hotel that has gone as far beyond my expectations as La Casa De Los Patios did on a recent stay, in a nutshell I was blown away!

First of all it is always a bit difficult to judge a property by what their website portrays, typically the great photos that you see were taken during a staged photo shoot and the place has never looked that good again! In the case of Casa De Los Patios the opposite is true! The photos do not give justice to the place! The common areas are beautiful and well maintained and the rooms are wonderfully appointed and the attention to detail is evident at every turn. The appointments and architecture are not over done (a curse in many Mexican hotels), and are quite classy and right in line with the beauty of the town of Sayula. It is a beautiful hotel!

Secondly the value for the money is excellent. For years I was staying at a fine place in Ciudad Guzman with my groups and paying only a bit less per night for far less hotel in the center of a busy and loud city. Once insid ethe Casa de los Patios it is hard to believe that you are really only a couple of blocks from the beautiful plaza and in the center of the city. The Casa de los Patios is indeed a big upgrade that is appreciated by my groups and myself.

The restaurant has a wonderful selection of local dishes that are excellently prepared by one of the friendliest Chef's I have ever met! Each night she would come out and check on our table and make sure that everything was tasting good and that we didn't need anything else, and the prices were very reasonable. They also have a good wine list with reasonable prices.

Everyone of the staff that we interacted with was genuinely attentive and obviously concerned with really helping us have a good time, and a pleasant stay. Even the night watchman who could have easily remained anonomous, was helpful with our bags during our early departure and went out of his way to be friendly and engaging. In fact he ended up being one of the highlights of our trip! I dosen't take much, but the effort is appreciated and it makes a big difference to have a staff that is concerned about the image of the hotel, the Casa De Los Portales has this in a big way!

I am already planning to be back with two groups in February and March and looking VERY forward to being there again.

I can not recomend the Cas de los Patios enough!

Room Tip: I stayed in "Cereza" it was a bit on the small side, but very cozy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen Marcela G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Casa De Los Patios Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
We know it has been a while but we are grateful for your kind comments and to know that we have a new upmarket quality service TESOROS DE MEXICO that offer an unique experience .

We Hope to see you soon in Sayula :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

I live in Sayula on and off during the year, and once in a while I like to stay at this hotel to relax for a weekend. The Spa is an absolute delight, the Spa staff is well experienced and the massages are enough to make you more than relax. I strongly recommend the Spa. The pool is well maintained, though a bit far from the rooms. The rooms are a bit small and can be a little tight, but they are well taken care of although the beds and pillows are average. The bathroom is also small, and the annoying bottles of soap and shampoo, there are no soap bars, are a bit annoying to me. The windows in the room let a lot of noise in from the outside (they are original windows not designed for keeping out noise). Mosquitoes are also a problem so bring some repellent or buy a 'raidolito electrico' at the local pharmacy, you will need it. The restaurant provides good food and service though the menu is limited.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank graycloudrios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

I have had the pleasure of traveling many places and this ranks very high amongst the best. I only got to spend one night there but it was beautiful! The entire place is a mash up of old colonial style with modern convenience. The staff was helpful and gracious. The massage was heavenly and the pool was beautiful. Its important to note the picture on travel advisor with the white building and the balconies, this isn't Casa de Los Patios. It was unique and ornate and rustic and modern all at once. I would definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: Ask for one on the inner courtyard, I wa at the end of the hall and heard nothing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TicaCourtney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
178 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

On our way to Guadalajara, we stopped at this hotel for lunch. Their magnificent dining room is surrounded by glass and ferns where we dined on taquitos (enchiladas stuffed with chicken, lettuce & cheese) and served with guacamole; Tatemado (pork shoulder baked over charcoal and marinated with a homemade sauce), served with beans and rice. This, accompanied with a large pitcher of jarras de agua frescas (a refreshing blend of tropical fruit juices mixed with mineral water). Service was excellent.

This is a lovely property constructed in the Mexican colonial style with 18 colonial style rooms encircling the central patio. This patio is surrounded by corridors and columns finished in pink cantera stone and accentuated by the high ceilings. There is also a beautiful spa with steam rooms and jacuzzi. Plus a spacious patio and pool with a lovely garden, children's games, meeting room and terrace for special events.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allspice502016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2010

We had the pleasure of staying at this hotel. While our room was not as large as we are used to, it was nicely furnished and a nice property. We had two meals at the restaurant, dinner and the complimentary breakfast in the morning. Both were good, as were the margaritas. While the service was not as attentive as normally found in decent Mexico restaurants, it was adequate. The Ojeda's are making their wonderful knives within an easy walk of the hotel. Buy some, you will never regret it.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HughInDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sayula
0.3 mi away
Gran Casa Sayula Hotel Galeria & Spa
14.6 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Real
Hotel Fuerte Real
#1 of 3 in Ciudad Guzman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hotel La Casona
Hotel La Casona
#3 of 5 in Tapalpa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Luna Sacra
Luna Sacra
#2 of 5 in Tapalpa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
15.2 mi away
Hotel Tlayolan
Hotel Tlayolan
#2 of 3 in Ciudad Guzman
3.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
13.8 mi away
Hotel Tapalpa Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa De Los Patios Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa De Los Patios Hotel and Spa

Property: La Casa De Los Patios Hotel and Spa
Address: Calle Vallarta # 89, Sayula 49300, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Sayula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sayula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Casa De Los Patios Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sayula, Jalisco, this property offers its guests free American-style breakfast, free cold snacks in the room and a spa on site. It is housed in an 18th century, colonial-style building. The rooms at La Casa de los Patios Hotel and Spa all offer flat-screen cable TV, a safe and a fan. The bathroom provides free toiletries, a hairdryer and has a shower. The rooms present colourful Mexican-themed beddings, wooden furniture and colonial decor. The restaurant at La Casa de los Patios serves Mexican cuisine. It also has an on-site bar. La Casa de los Patios also features a children's playground, meeting rooms, and outdoor swimming pool, and spa treatments. The town's Main Square is 1 km from the property, Guadalajara can be reached in 1 hour and 30 minutes by car, and Ajijic is 114 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your La Casa De Los Patios Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa De Los Patios Hotel Sayula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing