We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My winter home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Penita de Jaltemba
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casita de La Penita
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Can't say enough about this place, where to star, other than Iam returning for the eight year in February 1st till end of March or middle of April! Weather is awesome, even with cloudy days, people are freindly and so very heful. Once you make friends with locals they are your friends forever! Food is so good, come home pounds up! Beer is cheap! Ride from PV airport , easily arranged , and trustworthy! Lots of inter takin,ent once you find out where it all is, Line dancing is my special thing 2x a week with ladies on beach, and stain glass or mosaic class's are great, along with cooking class, or learning Spanish! And, o by the way lots of charity things to get involved with, so worth while and so much fun with fabulous people! Great market days, where people come from all over the area! Hate to say it, as I don't want it to become to crowded, but go there, you will never regret it, and it will become addictive! May see you there, at Juan's place on hill, makes the best hamburgers in the world, you have to share or take home for lunch! Carol

Room Tip: A place to enjoy and let your hair down!
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank beachgirlEsquimalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2013

Our first time at Casita for 2 weeks Feb-March 2013 was the best winter holiday escape from the frozen north! Bob & Linda Gibbs arranged for us to be met at PV airport after a late evening flight, which was very much appreciated. The apartments are very well equipped, the ceiling fans most welcome, and linen changes available when needed. The BBQ and juicer available to guests were well used. The bread truck comes 2x a week and has tasty items, The courtyard, pool and library are ideal when laziness strikes, and the beach is SO close. The location in a Mexican neighbourhood gives local flavour in many ways, and it's close to everything: restaurants, grocery stores, butcher & baker shops, ATMs, taxi stand, fish market, interesting walks. We enjoyed the friendliness of local residents, and felt very safe. Bob & Linda went the extra mile so many times with answers to questions, organizing taxi rides & tours, and treated us like extended family. Hope to return often!

Room Tip: Upstairs units have fabulous sunset & ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindeT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed at Casita de La Penita in late Jan,/early Feb. This was the third time we stayed at the Gibb's and as usual, we were made to feel completely at home upon your arrival. Linda and Bob are so hospitable, always ready to assist with any planning for activities, restaurant ideas, and including you with any of the community happenings.
What are some of the attributes of Casita?
1.The location is ideal, close to groceries, restaurants, the beach and the main square.

2. It is very SAFE, with a high wall surrounding the complex and the community is safe and friendly. There are lots of Canadians in this entire area.

3. You can easily cook your meals in your unit or on the BBQ and eat nearby the pool OR easily eat at one of the great restaurants nearby. Check with Linda for fresh made tamales (the pineapple tamales are great!), bread, fish and the best shrimp!

4. You can easliy walk to Rincon de Guayabitos and enjoy the beaches there, which are great for kids or onto Los Ayola (you may wish to take a taxi) to enjoy the beaches there. You can also walk to the beaches in the north where you may be the only ones on the beach! Walking across the main highway and up into the hillside also gives another glimpse of the true Mexico.

This is an excellent place for everyone, but especially families, people who are new to Mexico and also those who may be ageing as Bob and Linda will arrange transportation for you from the airport and also to many of the activites. It is also relatively easy to get a bus from the PV airport to La Penita, but you do need to take a taxi to the bus depot for buses that travel north (probably about 70 pesos). Staying in the upstairs units allows you a view of the ocean as you can see over the wall and also the huge embankment of sand. The pool and area provide a serene spot to just to relax for the day!
Remember to take in the market day...it is one of the largest in the area!.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Our family descended on Casita the week after Christmas. I say descended as there were about 19 of us staying in 3 of the "apartments"
Bob and Linda were great hosts, and were very willing to chat and offer suggestions on were to eat or go. We also felt that the other guests were just as friendly and helpful as well. As with the other posts I echo the sentiment that the location just can't be beat. La Casita is located right across the street from the beach. Most days we were the only ones on the beach and we didn't have a single person trying to sell us anything on the beach. La Penita is a smaller town and not a tourist destination however the restaurants were very good and we felt VERY safe. As well being that it's not a tourist destination we felt like we got more for our $. If you go you HAVE to go to the bakery at 1pm. Sweet bread baked fresh daily - and very cheap. Yes no air conditioning in the rooms.... a fan and an open window is about all your need as you get the ocean breeze. However the one complaint is that the beds were very hard.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACossette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed once again for 6 weeks. We just returned home Saturday.

Your hosts Bob and Linda Gibbs, make your stay very enjoyable. You cannot beat the location. The accommodations are suitable for everyone. We have noted that more families with small children are using La Casita de la Penita.

Although La Penita is not considered a tourist destination it is the perfect place to recharge the batteries. La Casita is literally across the street from the beach. Take a book, refreshment, put your feet up, catch some waves and maybe a nap...that is the name of the game at La Casita de la Penita.

You will fall asleep and wake up to the sound of the ocean. No the room don't have air conditioning but there has not been a need for it. The bungalows have everything you need to cook or not! You will find severals great restaurants, a variety of grocery stores that carry whatever you need.

You will find friendly people. It is a great place where we always feel safe.

Our only issue....we would like to stay much longer and we hope to fulfill this dream soon.

So what are you waiting for ? Go and check it out. IT IS SAFE, trust us.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Biche55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Our family of nine spent a wonderful week over Christmas at Casita de La Penita. Bob & Linda Gibbs are most gracious hosts - helping our family with recommendations for everything from where & when to dine, shop & arranging transportation for our adventures beyond La Penita. We loved the quaint villa located on the ocean - decorated in authentic Mexican style with high standards of cleanliness & comfort. Each of the units are equipped with kitchens providing opportunity to cook & eat at leisure. If you are looking for a quintessential Mexican experience we highly recommend Casita de la Penita!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Spent two months at Casita de la Penita and found it to be so convenient to everything! The owners are wonderful people who go out of their way to make sure your stay with them is enjoyable! It was extremely hot and humid during our stay so we did miss having Air conditioning but other than that the units are well equipped. We did hire their cleaning lady to clean our unit weekly and she did a great job, would recommend her to anyone! We love the area and really like the small town atmosphere and friendly people we have come to know!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GPAlberta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Penita de Jaltemba
1.6 mi away
Las Cabanas del Capitan
Las Cabanas del Capitan
#1 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
534 reviews
1.6 mi away
Las Casitas
Las Casitas
#13 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
22 reviews
2 mi away
Decameron Los Cocos
Decameron Los Cocos
#2 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
No photo provided
Luxury Hotel Inn
#7 of 8 in La Penita de Jaltemba
2 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Casita de La Penita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casita de La Penita

Address: Calle General Lazaro Cardenas # 36, La Penita de Jaltemba 63726, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > La Penita de Jaltemba
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in La Penita de Jaltemba
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casita de La Penita has 3 one bedroom suites, 2 two bedroom suites and 2 three bedroom suites. We are located in front of the beach in La Peñita de Jaltemba. All our apartments are totally equipped. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casita De La Penita Mexico/La Penita De Jaltemba, Nayarit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing