We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like quiet camping like place”
Review of Camp Slogett

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Koke'e State Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camp Slogett
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We rent the cottage for 2 nights. The place is very nice, quiet - the opposite of Waikiki for sure! It depends what you are looking for. It is a good place to stay if you plan to go for hiking in Kokee State Park and Waimea Canyon. Staff was very friendly. Bad side of the cottage is that the sofa is not really best and I would agree that price is probably too expensive for such a basic cottage. Anyway, we liked it. Don't expect a 4 star hotel but more like a 4 star camping.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Steph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at Camp Slogget over Thanksgiving 2013. We stayed in the cottage, which was lovely. The Staff was very nice and accommodating. The cottage was clean and cozy. It is located in the beautiful Waimea Canyon and could not have been lovelier. Great value and I know it supports the YWCA Of Kauai. This organization works with battered and sexually assaulted women and many other programs to empower women. So anything that will support them I am all for.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Camp Sloget is in a very pretty location at about 4,000' in Koke'e State Park (bring sleeping bags!). The camping is in an open meadow and you can pick your spot around the perimeter of the meadow for your tent and have plenty of privacy. Lush vegetation abounds and we had a peaceful stay.

But that's about all I can say that is positive. The facilities themselves are run-down and not very clean. It's a shame, because there's obviously a lot of history at this old camp, but clearly the Y doesn't have the resources to maintain it. Bathrooms were in bad shape (dirty, no toilet paper) and the kitchen, although usable, really needed to be cleaned more often (there were lots of crumbs and, unsurprisingly, rodent droppings and there's not even garbage pick-up, so bring your own garbage bags). Signs asking people to clean-up after themselves only work to a degree. We didn't stay in the bunk house or cabins, but they didn't look much better.

Apart from having a hot shower, there's absolutely nothing to recommend Camp Sloget over staying just up the road at the state park campground, which looked equally peaceful, better maintained and cheaper.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MKirsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

This place is an absolute nightmare! First of all we arrived after being in beautiful lush Hawaii after a week.....we were a group of 20 sensitive, very in-tune beings....

As we all walked in, it was a mix of laughing and crying in fear,
The place is haunted, very bad energy- which we had to spend the whole night transmuting..... it looks scenes from horror movies/concentration camp......

EVERY INCH of this place is dirty, the beds, linens, cabinets, floor, paint peeling, holes in walls, floors...no up keep in 20 years????......actually the bathrooms were the only thing that was clean- haha!

I would never in a million years go there again, or take children.....and I haven't even mentioned the price....
AVOID at all costs..... camp anywhere else instead, if you so end up there out of desperation, take sage, crystals and heal the place, transmute the energy

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank elizaolsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We wanted to stay at the Waimea Canyon. Saw terrible reviews for the cabins at Kokee State Park, so I thought, this place is 3 times the price ($125) so it must be much nicer. WRONG. Bodily fluids on the "new" sheets which seeped through to the mattress cover, which has fresh blood spots all over it. Bed bugs galore. And not to mention the fact that is was August and none of the windows open, or the one that does doesn't have a screen and millions of flies and mosquitoes come in. Filth (inches deep) in ever corner and surface. Had to drive down the canyon (17 miles) to use a phone to contact the "caretaker" who never answered the phone or called back. This place is a rip off with lax management. The YWCA should be ashamed of itself. Corporate officials need to know about this.

Room Tip: Sleep in an outhouse if you want cleaner lodging.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cristina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2009

Camp Sloggett is a very rustic camp away from everything. You will really feel like you’re alone in the middle of a jungle. Actually you kinda are, with the exception of a few homes up the road. I would not recommend this place to those that; 1) hate bugs; 2) scared of the dark; 3) need lots of people around them to feel safe; 4) need room service; 5) need 5 o’clock Mai Tai's; or 6) hate the outdoors. However, if you love the outdoors, hiking, nature, and you want to experience something different away from the typical touristy things, then I would definitely recommend staying at camp sloggett. However, don’t plan your entire vacation here; I would recommend only a one or two night stay. F.Y.I, there is a neat communal fire hut to enjoy warm open-pit fires at night. If you have a big family with lots of kids visiting Kauai at the same time, this might be a cool/fun adventure for the kids.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank grehmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2008

We stayed at the Caretaker's Cabin for 2 nights at Camp Sloggett. We paid $120/night because it was a weekend rate. There's a living room/kichenette area with a pull out sofa bed. the mattress from the sofa bed is very limpy and soft. We had 2 people sleeping on it and they kept rolling to the center of the bed. There's no TV and no radio. In the bedroom, there's a King size bed and we had to put in the sheets and pillow cases ourselves. The sheets were probably washed but had very gross stains on them (imagine someone spilling chocolate syrup and tried to wash it off but couldn't and still left faint marks...and they're probably not chocoloate...). The King mattress itself also had what looked looked like urine stains. There's a stand-alone type fireplace in the living room, but do you really want to go gather the wood, use it, and have to clean it up yourself afterwards? They provided an electrical heater, but it only keeps one room warm. Since they said they would provide linens and blankets, I didn't bring any. But I wished I did because the blankets DO NOT SMELL GOOD. There's also a crack on the toilet seat, amongst many other things, the smoke detector is not installed according to code, found coachroaches...

We were the only ones staying there that weekend...hmmm I wonder why. There wasn't a single soul in entire camp. The place is very run down for the price we paid. We are also required to clean up everything, including sweep the floor and take the trash with us before we go (there's no dumpster onsite). This is the worst deal at $120/night.

I have photos too if you want to see them.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank frozensky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Camp Slogett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Slogett

Address: Kokee State Park, Koke'e State Park, Kauai, HI
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Koke'e State Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Koke'e State Park
Number of rooms: 51

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing