We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couple visiting from the U.S.”
Review of Posada Olivar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada Olivar
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couple visiting from the U.S.”
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

I don't even know here to start! My husband and I loved this place. The owner Jose Luis invited us and some of the other guest to his Christmas celebration - great food, wine and his family is the best! This was an event that I will remember for the rest of my life. Also, the rooms are spacious , there's wifi and breakfast included. Thanks so much Jose Luis for a great time!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KD00dle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
62
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

We definitely recommend this posada. Very big rooms, clean, awesome garden including swimming pool, and good breakfast. Owner José and his girlfriend Eugenia were very helpful and speak good English. They had some good recommendations for restaurants and wineries. We didn't get a check out time, so we could stay in our room till we left in the afternoon for catching our nightbus.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scheper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

After two weeks darting around the country Posada Olivar was just the break we needed. Jose greeted us as we walked up the driveway; he gave us a quick but valuable orientation to the posada and to activities in the area. As it was a holiday the next day he warned us that many places would be closed and suggested we join him at a local winery opening. Needless to say that was an experience I will never forget.

As for Posada Olivar - our room on the second floor was beautifully decorated. It was spacious, had high bamboo ceilings and windows with wonderful views. The entire was comfortable - the king size bed, the bedding, and a rare feat - pillows that were just right; they were not too poofy and not too flat. The land itself is a site that I could stare at for hours: rows of olive trees just behind the deep blue pool.

Jose was a tremendous host. As my wife and I are adventurers who aren't the best at planning Jose made a conscious and friendly effort to make sure our days were excellent. For example after returning from Sushi one evening Jose met us in the yard to see if we had anything planned for the next day. We told him we would like to go mountain biking but we had already reached to a few companies. Fast forward to next morning - our internet bookings had failed. Jose hopped on the phone and arranged for the worlds most fantastic guide to bring us two mountain bikes and then to take us out into the single track just west of town. My wife (relatively new to mountain biking) described it as "the best day of the trip". Thank you Jose :)

I cannot emphasize enough the fantastic dining that is a short walk away - sushi, steak, italian - numerous restaurants all right there. On our last evening we invited Jose and his dynamite girlfriend Eugenia out to dinner with us. They suggested Dantesco a delightful restaurant that was just around the corner. Eugenia and Jose had us laughing the whole night and the evening was a wonderful cap to our Argentina adventure. I am ever thankful that we chose Chacras and Posada Olivar for our last few days in this amazing country - Posada Olivar was everything we wanted!

Room Tip: There is one room on the second floor that is simply incredible - walk out balcony, extra twin bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hout Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The rooms are well appointed and very comfortable. Jose of the owner family is extremely accommodating and is a really good bloke (and used to play rugby). The slightly rural is setting perfect for visiting nearby vineyards and wineries (one is within easy walking distance, others cycling distance) and there are two excellent restaurants on Italia Road almost next door (best meals on our Argentinian trip).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobhoutbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Posada Olivar was a great selection.
Originally we intended to stay in Mendoza downtown, but I came across this posada on tripadvisor and we thought it might be a better place to position ourselves.
Good road signs and directions are not common in Argentina. Keep that in mind. Try and arrive before it's dark outside so you have an easier time reading the signs and house numbers.
The posada is located on a beautiful family owned olive grove just outside the main square of Chacras de Coria. You easily have many great restaurants within walking distance of the posada. That in itself is a great thing. No driving to find food...just walk.
The fact that it's south of Mendoza is a benefit as well. You're that much closer to all the bodegas (wineries) that are so close by. You save yourself a lot of time in the car by staying in this area. There are many good bodegas close by; Lagarde, Luigi Bosca to name a few. And you're about an hour's drive to Valle de Uco.
If we can return, we'll come back here for sure.
Jose, our host, was very knowledgeable about the area and the wineries. He's a former tour guide.
He's got a great thing happening here.

Room Tip: It's not a very big place. The rooms on the main floor are nice so you can't go wrong. The r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uberjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

We recently had an extremely relaxing 4 night stay in Posada Olivar. The guesthouse is located on beautiful gardens, along with attractive patio and pool areas. Jose Luis and all staff were so helpful and accommodatIng. The accommodation is very centrally located in Chacras de Coria, a 2 minute walk from the main street. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muireanndp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
155 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We recently stayed at Posada Olivar for the second time. We had a lovely and spacious suite. The posada is surrounded by an olive grove and gardens with a lovely pool. Close by are wonderful restaurants that are within walking distance. Jose his a wonderful host who is only too happy to make recommendations and reservations for you. He cannot do enough for you. All the reasons we visited a second time.

We stayed in a suite that had A/C. We do not think the other rooms have A/C but the evenings tend to be cool. There are no TV's or safes. The posada is very secure and if you keep Argentinean time you won't be back from dinner until midnight and will not require a TV. WiFi is available. Pat C Canada

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatC499248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chacras de Coria
0.8 mi away
Posada El Encuentro
Posada El Encuentro
#4 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lares de Chacras
Lares de Chacras
#3 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
1.5 mi away
Casa Glebinias
Casa Glebinias
#1 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel San Francisco
Hotel San Francisco
#7 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
4.9 mi away
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
#2 of 4 in Lujan de Cuyo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
1.2 mi away
Finca Adalgisa Wine Hotel, Vineyard & Winery
Finca Adalgisa Wine Hotel, Viney...
#2 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Olivar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Olivar

Property: Posada Olivar
Address: Calle Besares 978, Chacras de Coria, Mendoza M5528ATT, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza > Chacras de Coria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Chacras de Coria
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Posada Olivar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Olivar Chacras De Coria, Mendoza, Argentina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing