We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect and charming hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lares de Chacras

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Lares de Chacras
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect and charming hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2009

We loved this hotel!! The staff were so kind and helpful and the rooms are beautiful! My fiance proposed on our balcony and it couldn't have been more perfect or romantic. The hotel is in a great location. If you are going to Mendoza, you must stay in Chacras de Coria! It's a gorgeous little suburb and much better than the city. We used the hotel's bikes to ride around to a few of the many vineyards in the area and Julietta set up all of our tastings for us. It was really such a wonderful experience, we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AvidTraveler84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    132
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
126
410
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2009

This is definitely a nice compact private property, very nicely maintained with clean and comfortable rooms; ours was very large w/ balcony. Location is good, within walking distance of several nice restaurants and the town square where there is a street/flea market on the weekends with a few quality finds. Definitely has a B&B feel, but the restaurant service is personally tailored within a limited menu and excellent quality. The college-student staff are all enthusiastic and accomodating. Directly behind the property through a small grove of trees are several restaurants and night spots that can get a bit noisy on weekends; it's tolerable but a reminder that you're in a busy neighborhood. Our only disappointment was that there was no food/drink allowed in the rooms. We had to miss our relaxing private happy hour with wine and pupus on the balcony at sunset.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macotak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicestershire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2009

we were so pleasantly surprised by this hotel as our tour operator had billed it as a simple hotel and in our opinion it was undersold. the room was large and comfortable, we had a large balcony overlooking the garden. we had looked at the reviews of this hotel and yes there are barking dogs which are a little annoying. overall though, it cant be falted, its in a nice area with a pleasant local area of bars, shops and restaurnants. we ate at las negras which was great. its a 20 min taxi to mendoza but we were so glad we were at the lares de chacre. all the staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome. a little gem in our opinion

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miloleicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2009

This lodge-style, family owned hotel is a great find. The rooms were clean, spacious and nicely decorated. Bathrooms were HUGE. Balconies were also very nice, as was the pool and common areas. Internet is available for guest use.

A very ample continental breakfast was served and the staff were happy to accommodate dietary restrictions (wheat allergy).

The hotel itself is located in Chacras de Coria, outside of the city centre. We were pleasantly surprised at how nice Chacras de Coria was--it was filled with many good restaurants and little shops. (Try the Italian gelato shop across from the YPF gas station. Some of the best ice cream we had during our trip.)

The English speaking staff are very accommodating and helpful. They allowed us to check in early when we arrived in the morning and provided us with a 5:30 a.m. breakfast when we had an early morning flight to catch.

We did have difficulty with the A/C unit in the room, but the staff were very helpful and offered to transfer us into a different room.

Note: If visiting the region, I'd highly recommend you do a private wine tour through Tasting Mendoza. Bikes and Wines was also fun, although not for the faint of heart (20 km bike, dusty roads).

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2009

We absolutely LOVED Laras de Chacras! It was one of the prettiest, most chilled out, peaceful places I've ever stayed and we didn't want to leave.
Staying at Lares de Chacras was a treat for us after a 3 week trip to Chile and Argentina. We'd had a pretty busy holiday so far and this was our chance to relax, and relax we did! You couldn't help but relax here. The moment you step through the front door you know this is a place where you're going to have a wonderful stay. I've never encountered such wonderful, happy staff in my whole ife. They were an absolute joy and couldn't do enough for you.
We had a 'special' room which had a jacuzzi bath. The room itself was great, the balcony was huge - the largest of them all, the bed was super comfortable and the bathroom was very spacious. The only downsides to our room, was the airconditioning unit and the shower. We could never seem to get the aircon to work properly (probably us being dumb!) and the shower head was very limescaled and as such, the water sprayed out rather than ran out which didn't make for the best shower experience. A shame really and I hope they do something about that.
The pool was AMAZING. It was just the right temperature for cooling off as the sun get extremely hot in Mendoza. We loved the jacuzzi too. The sunbeds are very good quality with thick foam mattresses.. very comfortable. The gardens are lovely and very well maintained.
The food was delicious. Breakfast was a very well done continental - cereal, fresh fruit, fruit salad, bread, ham and cheese, croissants, jam, cream cheese and a lovely selection of fruit juice and teas. We ate way too much every morning but it was all so tasty we couldn't help ourselves. We ate homemade pizza here for lunch a few times and every time they were different from before and delicious.
Being a wine lodge, the wine selection here is great. We usually go for red but we had some very good white wines here. They do a wine tasting every evening at 7pm down in their wine cellar which is good. We only went once though.
We had some great food in the local area for dinner. Ask the hotel to book you a table at the fish restaurant - it's the one they reccommend and it's without a doubt the best (and hugest!) tuna steak I've ever eaten. Absolutely delicious. It's a fair walk from the hotel so I'd get a taxi there.
On our last day our flight wasn't until 7pm but there is a separate annex next to the pool that we used to stow our bags and shower etc. They were more than happy for us to do so.
Overall, definitely one of the best hotel experiences I've ever had - if not the best. I would reccommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Liked — Staff, ambience, pool, food, wine
  • Disliked — The shower in our room
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lau24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2009

Absolutely loved my stay at Lares de Chacras. The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating and the property was clean and well-maintained. They provide a complimentary wine tasting upon arrival. They had a nice, small backyard pool that reminded me of my parents' house growing up in Southern California. The inn is in a suburban part of Mendoza that has a few shops and cafes within walking distance. I think the best reason to stay here would be the EXCELLENT restaurant recommendations. Their staff was extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the fantastic restaurants in the region and even made the reservations for us. We had the best dinner experiences in Mendoza (We went to Cava de Cano and 1884).

I would absolutely return to Lares de Chacras if ever back in the Mendoza area!

  • Liked — Hospitality, Safe Neighborhood
  • Disliked — Lack of Alarm Clock, Small Safe, Little bit out of the way if you want city experience
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ocbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights just after Christmas. It was not as rural as I had imagined from the website, Chacras is in fact just a suburb of Mendoza - so you have the advantage of plenty of restaurants on your doorsetp, but it's not the place if you're looking for seclusion. The owners have obviously taken a lot of care in decorating and looking after the place, it really seems more like a home than a hotel. Our room was spacious and comfortable, although we were jealous of those who had balconies - not sure if those rooms were more expensive than ours. The garden was gorgeous, plenty of space to find a quiet corner in the sun or shade, and the pool was a good size and had a jacuzzi section too. Service was excellent, they rang around several restaurants for us when we were trying to find somewhere for new years eve, and all staff were very friendly and smiley. Breakfast was decent - standard continental buffet. we had one evening meal there too, which was pretty good although the menu is limited. On the whole, there was an air of luxury and pampering without actually having to pay 5 star prices or be in an anonymous chain hotel. Great wine list too!

  • Liked — Friendly service
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllieM72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chacras de Coria
0.7 mi away
Casa Glebinias
Casa Glebinias
#1 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
4.1 mi away
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
#2 of 4 in Lujan de Cuyo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.4 mi away
Posada El Encuentro
Posada El Encuentro
#4 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Mendoza
Park Hyatt Mendoza
#8 of 83 in Mendoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
9.4 mi away
Cavas Wine Lodge
Cavas Wine Lodge
#1 of 4 in Lujan de Cuyo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.4 mi away
Finca Adalgisa Wine Hotel, Vineyard & Winery
Finca Adalgisa Wine Hotel, Viney...
#3 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lares de Chacras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lares de Chacras

Property: Lares de Chacras
Address: Calle Larrea 1266 | Chacras de Coria, Chacras de Coria, Mendoza M5528CBL, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza > Chacras de Coria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Chacras de Coria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lares de Chacras 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lares de Chacras is a classic country style boutique hotel, located in Chacras de Coria, a small and picturesque village situated 15 km away from downtown Mendoza, where our guest can easily access to several restaurants and shops that cater to all tastes.Our "casona" is a space that combines comfort and simplicity in a natural and healthy environment. The hotel consists of 10 rooms, point that assures an intimate atmosphere for all our guests.The hotel boasts an innovative wine cellar which our guests can access in order to choose the best wine to pair a regional dinner in our restaurant. After a day touring the wine regions or The Andes, we invite you to enjoy our swimming pool with a hot tub or you can relax with a drink at our wine bar next to the play room with pool table.Our spacious and comfortable rooms will let you enjoy and feel at home. The rooms combines country style and the services the guests need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lares de Chacras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lares De Chacras Hotel Chacras De Coria
Lares De Chacras Chacras De Coria, Mendoza, Argentina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing