We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good, but better with planning”
Review of Gales de Maragogi

Gales de Maragogi
Ranked #2 of 32 things to do in Maragogi
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Really good, but better with planning”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The natural pools are the top tourist attraction here. There are daily boats to visit them, the price may be a bit high (as expected), bit still worth it and you can make a deal with the sales guy. There are three of them to visit: Galé Principal (largest and less well preserved due to long time exploration), Taocas (also big but better preserved) and Barra Grande (smaller). Check the tides table and choose a day when it will be on its lowest close to noon (be sure the day before had no rain), and leave 1-2 hours before the lowest tide. Don't expect to see hundreds of fish swimming around you, as you'll probably be around dozens (maybe close to a hundred during peak hours) of people making a fuss on waist-deep water. Swim to less crowded spots for better viewing.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,036
    940
    335
    63
    34
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Paradise Diving”
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Maragogi has the 3rd. biggest coral reef in the world (losing its place only to Australia and Mexico) and Gales are one of the beautiful natural swimming pools formed by it.
Many companies offer rides to it, so you have to look it up before making up your mind on which one you should choose.
You can always check it in your hotel's front desk and they will point you in the right direction. The ride usually stats at a restaurant, where the catamarans set sail to a 30 minutes journey to get you to the Gales. In my case, 2 different people suggested I should take it with Frutos do Mar restaurant, and that's what I did.
The catamaran ride is R$ 50,00. But if you choose to dive, then it's an additional R$ 80,00. Or you can simply rent a diving mask and snorkel for another R$ 10,00.
While at Gales, the ride lasts 1h30. The dive itself is very safe and it might last 30 minutes tops. You get your gear and simply float, while a guide will drag you through the way, pointing fishes, corals and taking pictures. I was a little disappointed at it, for I had just divided for the first time a week ago and we could swim on our own and see things for ourselves, so it was a bit frustrating being dragged all the way. I do understand that there are a lot of people diving there at the same time and it's a matter of safety and a way to control the "traffic" - but even so, I was bummed.
On the bright side, the visual is stunning. The water is so clear you have a wonderful visibility. You only drop 5 meters at best, but it is enough to see the most esquisite sea life and get really close to the fish, algae and corals.
After the dive, you still have lots of time on your hands to swim around on your own (or snorkel, which is really worth it) and see some more.
If you're at maragogi, this is a must, really.
It's so worth it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank BrunaCueto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ribeirao Preto, SP
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great!!!”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

This is the greatest attraction of Maragogi. Do not miss!!!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank vinigmartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maragogi, AL
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“The Second Largest Reef System in the World”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

The Costa de Corais, 140 km of tropical coral reefs has become a Federal Protection Area contolled by a special legislation that will insure its natural beauty forever. Maragogi/Japaratinga is the area that provides the best access to board a catamaran to visit the tropical pools on the reefs.

Helpful?
1 Thank BrazilBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Go with the fast boats!!!”
Reviewed 4 December 2011

There are pelnty of boats that go to the gales, we took the small (8 people) and fast boat, it gets there first (10 minutes max) and is fun... also the price was less then the big touristic boat.
We took our wet suites and snorkel equipment, a good choise (hiring is expensive), also bring a sweater for the way back, with wind it can get cold.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Pajoinviaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gales de Maragogi also viewed

 

Been to Gales de Maragogi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing